Opeth Heritage
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
someguest
September 16th 2011


20572 Comments


I will say that Watershed is one of my favourites though. Perhaps my favourite.


I have to agree with this statement; the dynamics have much more variation on Watershed compared with the rest of their catalog. As far as this album's concerned, I'm not even moderately intrigued by it. The cover is cool though.

renteria
September 16th 2011


1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"doesn't differentiate itself from anything they've done in the past"

"every song relies on the same characteristic twists and turns that we've heard from Opeth a hundred times over since their debut, 1995's Orchid"

Two paragraphs full of shit

Horrible review

eternium
September 16th 2011


16338 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Actually just now listening to this. It's good, not as weird as I thought it'd be. Just sounds like a less interesting Opeth that tore out its death metal organs.

Jethro42
September 16th 2011


12440 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

death metal is dead? Long live prog

KILL
September 16th 2011


71795 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

review is not true

Jethro42
September 16th 2011


12440 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

album is, that's what matters

bnelso55
September 17th 2011


168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haven't listened to this yet, but... about a month ago... and 86 dollars later... I got the deluxe collector's edition box set on its way. SO... this will probably have to be a 4 or 5 for me. Good review... worries me somehow.

Digging: Earth - Primitive and Deadly

Piglet
September 17th 2011


4654 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

What the hell did I just read, this is their most unique album, perhaps disregarding Damnation. If it weren't for it's slightly lazy songwriting and incoherency, it would be lovely. Then again, the album is exactly what it was set out to be and it's not like it's even close to mediocre.
Watershed was a great album as well, it was better then Ghost Reveries imo.

HeyBrosef
September 17th 2011


296 Comments


need to listen to this again, but i liked it on the first listen.

Pharoh
September 17th 2011


3326 Comments


Hmm

Pebster49
September 17th 2011


2992 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Watershed is underated.

RangerTaffles
September 17th 2011


257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Proggy Progness

zuzek
September 17th 2011


750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not one of your better reviews.

GodL1ke
September 17th 2011


804 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

very nice review dude, i completely agree with you with the fact that by letting go of the death metal influences, opeth sounds just like any other 70s prog rock band (unless i misinterpreted). which is a shame really, because their combination of those said influences is what made them unique and now they just don't have that aura about them

LiquidVelvet
September 17th 2011


628 Comments


Good album, just nothing great. Just sounds like Opeth kinda....being a more boring version of Opeth. Essentially how I felt about Watershed. My heart will always live with MAYH, Still Life, Blackwater Park, and Damnation.

TheLodge
September 17th 2011


40 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah, Watershed was great but this blows.

YouGotLucky
September 17th 2011


946 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I was listening to this. and I was gonna say it blew but man o man the song 'I Feel the Dark' is awesome. ATROCIOUS title though.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
September 17th 2011


23828 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

really good review, and I agree.

Caleb, I never understood how Watershed was your favourite Opeth album, weirdo.

devouredbymetal
September 17th 2011


516 Comments


"The last time we saw Opeth, they were admittedly in a bit of a creative slump. Coming off of the high that was 2005's Ghost Reveries, their follow up, 2008's Watershed was more than lacking, it was a wee bit stagnant."

ghost reveries was an amazing album, and watershed was nothing less..not at all stagnant and imo much more on the creative side.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
September 17th 2011


21965 Comments


album is so boring

maybe I'm just not prog enough



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy