Opeth Heritage
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
HedgeTrimmer
July 7th 2013


14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

average should be higher than it is

Artuma
July 7th 2013


12958 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a lot

Digging: Suffocate For Fuck Sake - Blazing Fires and Helicopters on the Fro

Artuma
July 7th 2013


12958 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

even Deliverance has 3.9

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2013


20652 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed, this should definitely have a higher average than Deliverance.

Digging: Townes Van Zandt - Townes Van Zandt

Keyblade
July 7th 2013


14832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

agreed

Digging: Strawberry Switchblade - Strawberry Switchblade

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2013


14319 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I just don't get how Damnation can be so loved and this so polarising.

Digging: We Will Fail - Verstörung

Keyblade
July 7th 2013


14832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Probably because when Damnation was coming out, it was already well publicized that they would be splitting their sound into 2 polar opposite albums. With this one, people were probably expecting another metal album, and were disappointed.

Artuma
July 7th 2013


12958 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"With this one, people were probably expecting another metal album, and were disappointed."

probably not but they might have expected it to be more similar to Damnation

ButteryBiscuitBass
July 7th 2013


10003 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

True. I'm glad this doesn't sound like damnation - that album didn't click with me.

Spag
July 7th 2013


1760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Damnation is one of the three Opeth's I own and it's still probably one of my least favorites. Weakness is actually one of my fav Opeth songs though.

Digging: Nagelfar - Srontgorrth

Underflow
July 7th 2013


2563 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

"I just don't get how Damnation can be so loved and this so polarising." A lot of people I've talked
to, and myself, don't like this because of sloppy songwriting and illogical transitions in the songs -
something Damnation avoided. Also, Mike over-sings here quite a bit.

ViperAces
July 7th 2013


12429 Comments


" sloppy songwriting and illogical transitions in the songs"
you just described opeth's discography

Underflow
July 7th 2013


2563 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

True, they've always had that problem to varying degrees, but it's put under a microscope here. Those issues are largely negligible on albums like Blackwater Park and Still Life.

Artuma
July 7th 2013


12958 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sloppy songwriting?









wut

Underflow
July 7th 2013


2563 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, Famine is a perfect example of that. It's a cut and paste mess of a track and really sums up the
album. There's definitely some great cuts here (i.e. Haxprocess and The Lines in My Hand), but it
feels so haphazard.

Artuma
July 7th 2013


12958 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

can't believe you just basically said The Devil's Orchard, I Feel the Dark and Folklore are copy/paste mess tracks, those three are amazing in terms of songwriting (and on every other level too). not that much of a fan of Famine either though

beefshoes
July 7th 2013


3871 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This grew on me a lot. I do like the style on Damnation more though.
At times, on this album it sounds like they tried to hard to write a Prog Rock record and sounds forced.

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

Spag
July 7th 2013


1760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also Haxprocess is probably the worst on here.

Artuma
July 7th 2013


12958 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Häxprocess is one of my least favorites on this too

Underflow
July 7th 2013


2563 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

I picked Famine because it is by far the worst offender. The Devil's Orchard starts out okay, but when it transitions into its latter third it just feels forced to me, as if it isn't supposed to be there. That's what much of the album is like. Might bump this to a 2.5 on further reflection, but I don't see it becoming anything more.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy