Opeth Heritage
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 13th 2011


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I like some Thrice songs, but still I think they're totally overhyped on here. To the point it's not even funny.

Jethro42
September 13th 2011


12638 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I seriously hope that Opeth are gonna keep that prog trail in the future.

scissorlocked
September 13th 2011


3511 Comments


i don't think that it goes more proggier?

does it Jethro?

Digging: Low Roar - Low Roar

Jethro42
September 13th 2011


12638 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

''i don't think that it goes more proggier?

does it Jethro?''

Album has all the good ingredients. They're clearly influenced by some big names of prog such as Camel (the fav band of Arkfeldt), Anekdoten, and I can hear some inspiration from King Crimson(etc). I think that metalheads are for the major part offended 'cause album don't offer much to them. Prog rock needs space, air, pause, introspection, and we proggers can find it here.

Nagrarok
September 13th 2011


8316 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I love my classic prog but this was an underwhelming first listen, have to see where it goes.

Jethro42
September 13th 2011


12638 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Opeth took a big risk in turning the machine radically toward prog. They just can be better and better in it.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
September 13th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was fairly underwhelmed at first too, but give it some time and the superb musicianship and undeniably excellent vocal melodies should grow on you.

Nagrarok
September 13th 2011


8316 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Opeth took a big risk in turning the machine radically toward prog. They just can be better and better in it.


They've always been very much a prog band, of course, but this is radically different because it completely does away with the light vs. heavy trademark. As for Camel, their influence can directly be heard in Benighted - the acoustic melody is extremely similar to Never Let Go.

I was fairly underwhelmed at first too, but give it some time and the superb musicianship and undeniably excellent vocal melodies should grow on you.


I have no doubt, since sputnik's other old-school prog fans all seem to like it.

Jethro42
September 13th 2011


12638 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Jamming on Folklore atm. God...

Jethro42
September 13th 2011


12638 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

As for Camel, their influence can directly be heard in Benighted - the acoustic melody is extremely similar to Never Let Go.

Ayayayeeee....EXtremely is the word!

scissorlocked
September 13th 2011


3511 Comments


sputnik's greatest progsters communicate better!!

shit i need to dig some more old shit- let's start from the comparison.I'll listen to Camel's Never let go

Jethro42
September 13th 2011


12638 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Would be cool if Opeth would do a ''light vs heavy'' kind of tribute to Camel...

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 14th 2011


21609 Comments


This rules.

Digging: Foxes in Fiction - Ontario Gothic

MO
September 14th 2011


19078 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

definitely a grower

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
September 14th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Would be cool if Opeth would do a ''light vs heavy'' kind of tribute to Camel...


Lol. That could describe several of their albums already.

Inveigh
September 14th 2011


25201 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I might like this better than everything they've done since Blackwater Park

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae

Destructerator
September 14th 2011


853 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Old featured review was a 2.0, this review is a 4.5. Why do I even bother coming here?

Inveigh
September 14th 2011


25201 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah man if you can't understand the concept of multiple reviewers writing about the same album then there's no place for you here

Inveigh
September 14th 2011


25201 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

idk man I think the vocal melodies are some of the best Mikael's ever written and there's quite a lot of interesting stuff happening musically.

to be fair though this started at about a 3 and grew with repeated listens.

Ire
September 14th 2011


41828 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah man if you can't understand the concept of multiple reviewers writing about the same album then there's no place for you here


comment of the year



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy