Dream Theater A Dramatic Turn of Events
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
static2dope
September 10th 2011


898 Comments


okay this review is really good but your summary is god awful

Lambda
September 10th 2011


2422 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Well even if he didn't write the drum parts, it doesn't change the fact that they are bland and too quiet in the mix

Underflow
September 10th 2011


2563 Comments


That's fine, but saying that his drumming is bland compared to portnoys is unfair, because portnoy actually wrote his drum parts. Mangini hasn't. We won't know how well he can actually play in this band until he has writing duties.

Lambda
September 10th 2011


2422 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I think that he should have written his own parts, or at least improved on Petrucci's beats.... I don't get why he would just rigidly stick to the drum machine parts. I mean, using those as a "base" is fine, but considering this album was so hyped (especially around his performance) you would think he'd be more eager to show off his stuff a little more.

rockandmetaljunkie
September 10th 2011


3302 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i never was i big fan of DT so i don't know when i will listen to this. Definetly i will dedicate some time at some point but i don't think i will find it interersting.

None of their forthcoming albums will ever surpass SFAM and IAW.

pizzamachine
September 10th 2011


12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

that don’t end don’t end up utilizing the kind of song-killing

Found a booboo. Great review though.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
September 10th 2011


7275 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Mangini didn't write the drum parts, or any of the music, for that matter. Despite how well written it
is, a huge segment of the review is invalidated because of this (the criticisms of Mangini's
drumming). Sorry, but I can't pos it.


Would love to see you try and pos or neg this.

Digging: U2 - Songs of Innocence

Tyrael
September 10th 2011


20876 Comments


Would love to see you try and pos or neg this.

pooned

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

Yazz_Flute
September 10th 2011


18783 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

The ballads were among my favorites. Beneath the Surface is gorgeous.

Digging: Battles - Mirrored

Motiv3
September 10th 2011


8932 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Album is really solid, not as good as Black Clouds for me atm.

Digging: Punch - They Don?t Have To Believe

Xplisit
September 10th 2011


1646 Comments


a link to this review mysteriously popped up on my facebook wall [says it was posted by ME] with the caption "interesting comments on Mike Mangin" im FREAKING OUT

Yazz_Flute
September 10th 2011


18783 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

You got hacked by Mike Portnoy.

Xplisit
September 10th 2011


1646 Comments


i really did!

Riptide
September 10th 2011


52 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I personally love this album already. Good review, but I think that the ballads are actually entertaining and keep the album from getting stale. MM drumming is decent, not quite up to par with MP :/

4.5/5

TronaldDump
September 10th 2011


479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

This album is better than Systematic Chaos and BC&SL.

Ikarus14
September 10th 2011


537 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Wasn't particuarly impressed with this album either. Oh well...

Underflow
September 10th 2011


2563 Comments


"Would love to see you try and pos or neg this."

I forgot that the staff are infallible. My humblest apologies.

ShinXetsu
September 10th 2011


605 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Nah, BC&SL is better than this album.

Emim
September 10th 2011


26621 Comments


MANGINA

Willie
Moderator
September 10th 2011


15972 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

I find it laughable that someone reviewing an album fails to conduct even the most basic of research on the production of it prior to completing the review.

The reviewer claims that Mike Mangini is "bland" and does nothing exciting -- but fails to mention that all of the drums were written by John Petrucci on a drum machine prior to Mike Mangini even joining the band.

Pathetic.
I know who wrote the original drum parts for the album, but it doesn't matter. The drum parts are bland and unexciting, reagardless. I don't give a fuck who wrote them, he played them and they're weak. If he had a problem with them, then he should have spoke up, but he didn't and now he takes the blame. Plain and fucking simple. This isn't Sesame Street, I'm not here to make excuses for the band or spare someone's feelings -- I'm here to talk about the album.

Mangini didn't write the drum parts, or any of the music, for that matter. Despite how well written it
is, a huge segment of the review is invalidated because of this (the criticisms of Mangini's
drumming). Sorry, but I can't pos it.
No shit, you can't pos it. Also, your logic is flawed.

Well even if he didn't write the drum parts, it doesn't change the fact that they are bland and too quiet in the mix
This... finally someone with a bit of rational thought.

Nice catch to the two people that made it to the end of the review. As for the summary... whatever ;)

Digging: Necropoli - I



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy