Dream Theater A Dramatic Turn of Events
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
pizzamachine
September 10th 2011


12572 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

that don’t end don’t end up utilizing the kind of song-killing

Found a booboo. Great review though.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
September 10th 2011


7321 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Mangini didn't write the drum parts, or any of the music, for that matter. Despite how well written it
is, a huge segment of the review is invalidated because of this (the criticisms of Mangini's
drumming). Sorry, but I can't pos it.


Would love to see you try and pos or neg this.

Tyrael
September 10th 2011


20974 Comments


Would love to see you try and pos or neg this.

pooned

Yazz_Flute
September 10th 2011


18875 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

The ballads were among my favorites. Beneath the Surface is gorgeous.

Digging: DIR EN GREY - Arche

Motiv3
September 10th 2011


8945 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Album is really solid, not as good as Black Clouds for me atm.

Xplisit
September 10th 2011


1646 Comments


a link to this review mysteriously popped up on my facebook wall [says it was posted by ME] with the caption "interesting comments on Mike Mangin" im FREAKING OUT

Yazz_Flute
September 10th 2011


18875 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

You got hacked by Mike Portnoy.

Xplisit
September 10th 2011


1646 Comments


i really did!

Riptide
September 10th 2011


52 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I personally love this album already. Good review, but I think that the ballads are actually entertaining and keep the album from getting stale. MM drumming is decent, not quite up to par with MP :/

4.5/5

TronaldDump
September 10th 2011


500 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

This album is better than Systematic Chaos and BC&SL.

Ikarus14
September 10th 2011


558 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Wasn't particuarly impressed with this album either. Oh well...

Underflow
September 10th 2011


2675 Comments


"Would love to see you try and pos or neg this."

I forgot that the staff are infallible. My humblest apologies.

ShinXetsu
September 10th 2011


605 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Nah, BC&SL is better than this album.

Emim
September 10th 2011


26675 Comments


MANGINA

Willie
Moderator
September 10th 2011


16149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

I find it laughable that someone reviewing an album fails to conduct even the most basic of research on the production of it prior to completing the review.

The reviewer claims that Mike Mangini is "bland" and does nothing exciting -- but fails to mention that all of the drums were written by John Petrucci on a drum machine prior to Mike Mangini even joining the band.

Pathetic.
I know who wrote the original drum parts for the album, but it doesn't matter. The drum parts are bland and unexciting, reagardless. I don't give a fuck who wrote them, he played them and they're weak. If he had a problem with them, then he should have spoke up, but he didn't and now he takes the blame. Plain and fucking simple. This isn't Sesame Street, I'm not here to make excuses for the band or spare someone's feelings -- I'm here to talk about the album.

Mangini didn't write the drum parts, or any of the music, for that matter. Despite how well written it
is, a huge segment of the review is invalidated because of this (the criticisms of Mangini's
drumming). Sorry, but I can't pos it.
No shit, you can't pos it. Also, your logic is flawed.

Well even if he didn't write the drum parts, it doesn't change the fact that they are bland and too quiet in the mix
This... finally someone with a bit of rational thought.

Nice catch to the two people that made it to the end of the review. As for the summary... whatever ;)

Digging: Mors Principium Est - Dawn Of The 5th Era

Parallels
September 10th 2011


6643 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off


I know who wrote the original drum parts for the album, but it doesn't matter. The drum parts are bland and unexciting, reagardless. I don't give a fuck who wrote them, he played them and they're weak. If he had a problem with them, then he should have spoke up, but he didn't and now he takes the blame. Plain and fucking simple. This isn't Sesame Street, I'm not here to make excuses for the band or spare someone's feelings -- I'm here to talk about the album.

Awesome words, my friend. Well done review as well. MINDPOS'D

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
September 10th 2011


22059 Comments


I hate that cover art

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

Parallels
September 10th 2011


6643 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

yeah it sucks, that dude makes me think of the FII cover

jrowa001
September 10th 2011


8750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is good. like it more than their last two albums

Jom
Staff Reviewer
September 10th 2011


2712 Comments


Plain and fucking simple. This isn't Sesame Street, I'm not here to make excuses for the band or spare someone's feelings -- I'm here to talk about the album.


onlyhere4Treybombs



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy