Dream Theater A Dramatic Turn of Events
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Motiv3
September 10th 2011


8960 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Album is really solid, not as good as Black Clouds for me atm.

Xplisit
September 10th 2011


1646 Comments


a link to this review mysteriously popped up on my facebook wall [says it was posted by ME] with the caption "interesting comments on Mike Mangin" im FREAKING OUT

Yazz_Flute
September 10th 2011


18933 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

You got hacked by Mike Portnoy.

Xplisit
September 10th 2011


1646 Comments


i really did!

Riptide
September 10th 2011


52 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I personally love this album already. Good review, but I think that the ballads are actually entertaining and keep the album from getting stale. MM drumming is decent, not quite up to par with MP :/



4.5/5

TronaldDump
September 10th 2011


503 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

This album is better than Systematic Chaos and BC&SL.

Ikarus14
September 10th 2011


691 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Wasn't particuarly impressed with this album either. Oh well...

Underflow
September 10th 2011


3528 Comments


"Would love to see you try and pos or neg this."

I forgot that the staff are infallible. My humblest apologies.

Digging: Ulver - ATGCLVLSSCAP

ShinXetsu
September 10th 2011


605 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Nah, BC&SL is better than this album.

Emim
September 10th 2011


26739 Comments


MANGINA

Willie
Moderator
September 10th 2011


16437 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

I find it laughable that someone reviewing an album fails to conduct even the most basic of research on the production of it prior to completing the review.



The reviewer claims that Mike Mangini is "bland" and does nothing exciting -- but fails to mention that all of the drums were written by John Petrucci on a drum machine prior to Mike Mangini even joining the band.



Pathetic.
I know who wrote the original drum parts for the album, but it doesn't matter. The drum parts are bland and unexciting, reagardless. I don't give a fuck who wrote them, he played them and they're weak. If he had a problem with them, then he should have spoke up, but he didn't and now he takes the blame. Plain and fucking simple. This isn't Sesame Street, I'm not here to make excuses for the band or spare someone's feelings -- I'm here to talk about the album.



Mangini didn't write the drum parts, or any of the music, for that matter. Despite how well written it

is, a huge segment of the review is invalidated because of this (the criticisms of Mangini's

drumming). Sorry, but I can't pos it.
No shit, you can't pos it. Also, your logic is flawed.



Well even if he didn't write the drum parts, it doesn't change the fact that they are bland and too quiet in the mix
This... finally someone with a bit of rational thought.



Nice catch to the two people that made it to the end of the review. As for the summary... whatever ;)

Digging: Obscura - Akrķasis

Parallels
September 10th 2011


8278 Comments



I know who wrote the original drum parts for the album, but it doesn't matter. The drum parts are bland and unexciting, reagardless. I don't give a fuck who wrote them, he played them and they're weak. If he had a problem with them, then he should have spoke up, but he didn't and now he takes the blame. Plain and fucking simple. This isn't Sesame Street, I'm not here to make excuses for the band or spare someone's feelings -- I'm here to talk about the album.

Awesome words, my friend. Well done review as well. MINDPOS'D

Digging: Father John Misty - I Love You, Honeybear

anarchistfish
September 10th 2011


23643 Comments


I hate that cover art

Digging: The Black Queen - Fever Daydream

Parallels
September 10th 2011


8278 Comments


yeah it sucks, that dude makes me think of the FII cover

jrowa001
September 10th 2011


8752 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is good. like it more than their last two albums

Jom
Staff Reviewer
September 10th 2011


2857 Comments


Plain and fucking simple. This isn't Sesame Street, I'm not here to make excuses for the band or spare someone's feelings -- I'm here to talk about the album.


onlyhere4Treybombs

Underflow
September 10th 2011


3528 Comments


I don't get how it doesn't matter that he didn't write the drum parts. That seems pretty important.

Willie
Moderator
September 10th 2011


16437 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

It doesn't matter because he still played them and they were bland (also the lack of power is at least 75% his fault. The rest

could be blamed on production). Also, I just re-read that section (which is half of a single paragraph, not the monstrous

majority that some are making it out to be), and I never said he wrote the material that he played only that it was boring and

that Portnoy would have done better.

Underflow
September 10th 2011


3528 Comments


My apologies, I misread your post. I thought that your first reply was towards me. But, anyway, how
is the fact that he did not write the drum parts irrelevant to his performance on the album?

Jom
Staff Reviewer
September 10th 2011


2857 Comments


I think one of his primary criticisms is that Mangini could have embellished further on what Petrucci wrote with a drum machine, but that it sounds like, to the reviewer, that Mangini didn't (either by choice or because Petrucci/the band said no); thus, he/the band, for better [or for worse, in the reviewer's opinion] didn't do so in ways that are reminiscent of past albums. That's a reasonable critique.

In Mangini's defense, sort of, he had some really tough circumstances to navigate. He's coming into a band that's heralded by the metal community even more so than they were in the '90s/early 2000s, replacing Portnoy, who's known as a pretty nice guy, and having to play parts that were already written for him by Petrucci.

Mangini could have said, "I see what you did here, but what about if I did [this]?" and played a fill or pattern over what was already written by the other members. If he was able to have some autonomy in this process, then it's very reasonable for the reviewer to levy criticism against him. However, it wouldn't be a personal attack on the fella, but more a critique of Petrucci's fallibility in trying to write drum parts in comparison to what Portnoy may have done.

Also, if Mangini wasn't allowed to express his own creativity on the record, then that's Petrucci being kind of a dick (even though I kinda doubt he would be dickish, since he's also known as a pretty nice bloke).



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy