Banco Del Mutuo Soccorso Darwin!
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 9th 2011


21617 Comments


This is great sutff.

Digging: Foxes in Fiction - Ontario Gothic

Jethro42
September 9th 2011


12642 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That's great to hear, my friend. Banco' music really is better and better with each new listens. Try this one from their debut;
Intro + R.I.P. (Requiescant in Pace)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YX6gtJET8DA
annnd
Slogan (from ''Come in un Ultima Cena'')
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=av5VypUlAMI
to name only two.

scissorlocked
September 9th 2011


3511 Comments


review is great guys, never heard of the band- time for some digging!

also it would be interesting if Progject could do an in-depth analysis of the tons of prog contained in the new and anticipated Opeth album. Sure you guys can tell what bands Akerfeldt had in mind writing it.

prog on!!

Digging: Low Roar - Low Roar

Jethro42
September 9th 2011


12642 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks scissor, buddy. I sure can see you digging Banco. If you don't mind Italian lyrics of course. As for Opeth, I still have to listen to that album, but I'm not hurry. I've only heard The Devil's Orchard which is a good one, but I found that its main guitar riff is too reminiscent of the one at the end of Harlequin Forest - played faster, which was a turn off. Also, song starts almost like Yes' Heart of the Sunrise. Oh well...

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2011


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

The new Opeth album is a total rip-off. Plus, it bored the hell out of me. You won't like it, Jethro.

Tikicobra
September 9th 2011


574 Comments


Where do you even get this?

Jethro42
September 9th 2011


12642 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ok then Greg, I'll stay away from it, thanks for the info
@tiki, band is not obscure at all. Their label is Manticore, owned by Emerson Lake and Palmer. Premiata Forneria Marconi were under that label too. If you don't want to buy, dl it.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2011


16137 Comments


The new Opeth is brilliant. But it doesn't seem like we see eye-to-eye on prog since I found that Beardfish album really boring.

Jethro42
September 9th 2011


12642 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Eye-to-eye is generalizing. Sure we cannot have the exact same ear for prog. Mine is directly coming from the old school where I grew up. Talking about Beardfish is a tad misplaced. We can't compare oranges with apples. Anyway, Opeth (and Beardfish all the same) is not a band I put to my cd player anymore. Less and less frequent Id say.
EDIT; I know its an unorthodox behaviour, but I first had Beardfish at a 4.5, then at a 3.5, annnd I came back for 4.5. I have hard times to stay objective with them. Sometimes I tend to think they are a great band for lots of people but not that much for me and sometimes I'm in the right mood to jam on them. Ah well...

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2011


16137 Comments


I was mainly responding to Greg, but I still think you should give the album a chance.

Jethro42
September 9th 2011


12642 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

oops sorry, it's not my day it seems haha.. Sure I'm gonna give it a chance. I'm too curious by nature to not do it.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2011


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

It'd be interesting to know your point of you, of course. Just don't set your expectations too high. You've already aptly noticed that they don't have their own style on this record. They just recreate other band's ideas. The Devil's Orchard is still one of the best tracks.

Jethro42
September 9th 2011


12642 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

My expectations are not very high tbh. I've heard a lot of people complaining about its material so far. Also my ear is mega sensible to any rip-off, so lets the witch hunt begin.
jk

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2011


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Haha. Cool. Let's start the witch hunt. It seems the guys from Opeth took the whole concept of returning to the 1970s way too seriously.

Btw, Banco are great. As expected I dig the two tracks you've just posted.

TheNotrap
September 9th 2011


8133 Comments


Always found Opeth overrated....but I learned to enjoy Blackwater Park

Digging: Funebrarum - The Sleep of Morbid Dreams

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2011


16137 Comments


There's a lot of different influences going on in the album, but they didn't "rip off" anyone.

TheNotrap
September 9th 2011


8133 Comments


in your opinion it's better than Blackwater Park?

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2011


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

It's totally different. You can't even compare them. The new one is a throwback to 1970s-era prog rock.

TheNotrap
September 9th 2011


8133 Comments


hummm I'm always afraid of the retro stuff...Almost all efforts sound unauthentic...

Jethro42
September 9th 2011


12642 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thread kneedz moar Banco.

Btw, Banco are great. As expected I dig the two tracks you've just posted

Nice to hear that, Greg bro. You can't go wrong with their first three efforts. Cheers!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy