Thrice Major/Minor
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
XingKing
September 25th 2013


11828 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The weather is the exact opposite here. It's finally getting to a managable temperature where the days are 90 degrees and the nights don't have me sweating my balls off when I am naked and have two fans blowing on me. Heeellll yayuh.



What are you on holidays for?

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2013


35055 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damn don't forget how lucky you are. I'm on school holidays, as in the break between terms.

I listened to Dustin's song, pretty sweet but the lyrics were annoying as expected, not as good as It's Not Enough. I'm listening to your one now.

XingKing
September 25th 2013


11828 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ooooh so like summer vacation except not summer? How does the world even work outside of my front door, I don't know..

Well it IS a worship album, so we can probably expect most of the lyrics to be cheesy to some degree but I really enjoyed the music. Not as good as It's Not Enough, but that song was ungodly amounts of good

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2013


35055 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pretty much yeah, just a two-week break before I go back, at which point I'll be in my last year of school. Not sure how to feel about that...



Yeah I know it's a worship album but it's a shame because I think Dustin is a fantastic lyricist and his talents are wasted on preaching shit about God and Christianity that we've heard a million times before. But yeah, It's Not Enough is one of the best songs he's ever written.



Your song was really cool man, did you play/sing everything?

XingKing
September 25th 2013


11828 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

He said in an interview that it upsets him that worship music and christian bands are shitty and an embarrassment so this is his attempt at giving the "genre" some credibility. I respect that and whenever he decides to stop loving God, I will gladly put his penis in my butt.



Yeah, I play, record and mix it all myself. Did you miss out on my EP when I released it too? Where have you been all this time?!

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2013


35055 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I respect his opinions/beliefs and all that and if he could bring credibility to that little niche I would be impressed (and quite shocked to be honest) but I'd still much prefer he wrote the kind of lyrics he used to write; Christian-themed but not overtly Christian and discussing real issues with shitloads of imagery. But y'know.



I wasn't aware you made music until now actually, maybe we weren't bros at the time you released the EP? I'll listen to it now though.

XingKing
September 25th 2013


11828 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I agree that his more vague lyrics are much more powerful but he said the followup record won't be a Christian themed one so there is always that.



Be wary of listening to it on laptop speakers. It's recently come to my attention that some of the stereo widening effects I use on my tracks fuck up the recording on some single laptop speaker setups. I gotta fix that sometime. Use headphones!

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2013


35055 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm already 5 songs in on my laptop speakers so bit late for that hehe. It sounds fine though. Oh is that a Beatles reference in the first track? Yep insta-5d.

XingKing
September 25th 2013


11828 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

As long as it works on your speakers then it's all good. Something causes the tracks to fuck up and some of the guitar work will get shoved into the back and the vocals will be buried. Someone mentioned it once and then when my girlfriend was playing it on her laptop I was like "what the fuck is going on with my songs??" and found out that it happened on about four of the songs.



It most certainly is a Beatles reference!

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2013


35055 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well it all sounds balanced on my speakers so it's all good. I played it on your Bandcamp and I think you're a damn good lyricist dude keep that up

My favourite was probably Frequency because I don't usually enjoy the mathy/skramz genre that you're going for but I loved the post-rock influence

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2013


35055 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

On the downside though I was happy listening to the Arctic Monkeys and now you've put me in the mood for some m/ dammit

XingKing
September 25th 2013


11828 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You'll probably really dig this then

https://soundcloud.com/warrenofohms/thunder-can-be-frightening



Prior to Untitled I mostly wrote math rock/post rock but decided to make a more aggressive record. The followup will be more like Mad Prophet, so slightly less schizophrenic but still pretty chaotic

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2013


35055 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sweet, I'll listen. Mad Prophet was a pretty sweet track, there's nothing like a good old rant

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2013


35055 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah man nice vibes on that one. Do you only skram or do you do cleans as well?

XingKing
September 25th 2013


11828 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

True dat. Movies are my second passion behind music so I love using soundclips or references to other things. I've contemplated making this next EP consist entirely of titles referencing movies from the year 1976, but that sounds like a lot of work

XingKing
September 25th 2013


11828 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm doing the cleans as well but I am a pretty shitty singer, so I limit it to where I feel like the skramz wouldn't work and try to keep it within my range as best as possible.

tommygun
September 25th 2013


26250 Comments


sup fellas

XingKing
September 25th 2013


11828 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yo homie

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2013


35055 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I love movies too and yeah I picked up the references in the Untitled EP (Blade Runner, right). That would be a sweet EP but y'know, effort and stuff like that



Yeah that's fair enough maybe your cleans will get better the more you use them it seems to work for a lot of singers but idk much about vocal techniques or anything so I'm just talking out of my rear end here

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2013


35055 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Eyyy tommy what's crackin

Did you check Thrice yet?

No? ok



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy