YOB Atma
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
scissorlocked
August 16th 2011



3509 Comments


yeah

a great read between the summer vacations

good job as always man, happy to see you featured!!

Digging: Leon Vynehall - Music For The Uninvited

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
August 16th 2011



6006 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

thanks homie!!

many thanks to all of you guys!!!



Πολλή ζέστη στη Θεσσαλονίκη φίλε....



Digging: Troldhaugen - Obzkure Anekdotez For Maniakal Massez

DoubtGin
August 16th 2011



6749 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeeeeeeeeea

Wizard
August 17th 2011



19335 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I want you as staff Voivod, you know how to not only describe an album well, but you have a great sense of what the band has been doing for their entire career. I will probably settle on a 3-3.5 for this, definitely not as good as The Great Cessation.

Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
August 17th 2011



6006 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Thanks for the encouragement man.



but you have a great sense of what the band has been doing for their entire career

I became a YOB fan from the very moment i first listened to them (The Illusion of Motion was my first YOB contact).

So i searched for everything they had issued.

Unfortunately, i don't do this with every band i listen to, partly because i have - as everybody does - certain tastes in metal (although i like things from all metal sub-genres) and mostly due to lack of time.

In addition, i don't follow so much the contemporary releases like i used to in the past, only those whose bands I'm fan of. This is because i tend to search (and review someday) a lot of old metal stuff as well, which i missed for not so obvious reasons (for example, everything that came out in metal between 1989-1996, a difficult and rather obscure period for metal).

In that light, although i guess i could see myself filling the contrib shoes someday, i'm realist enough so as to not really see myself as staff here, at least in the relatively near future.



definitely not as good as The Great Cessation

definitely.

Wizard
August 17th 2011



19335 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

If you need any rec's, please feel free to ask myself, Crysis, rasputin, Willie, etc. and we would be more than happy to help fill you in with that era of metal. And seriously, you have far better tastes than the faggy indie staff (excluding a few) around here ; ).

Heper
August 17th 2011



2 Comments


Their 2009 release was one of the best metal albums of that year. It is nice to learn that they have recorded a new one. Adding this to my shortlist.

Wizard
August 17th 2011



19335 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's not as good, trust us.

rasputin
August 18th 2011



14538 Comments


i never really enjoyed this baand

they just don't cut it when compared to other similar bands, who i find overall a lot better

they're not bad though

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
August 18th 2011



6006 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

@ rasputin

please cite a few bands that you find to be better than YOB.

kount
August 18th 2011



1279 Comments


pantera - vulgar display of power

rasputin
August 18th 2011



14538 Comments


sludge bands?

Grief
Noothgrush
Corrupted
Thou
Accept Death
Eibon
Ensorceler
Fistula
Pyramido
Meth Drinker
Aldebaran
Snowblood
Buried at Sea
Coffinworm
Fleshpress
Graves at Sea

to name a few

RagingNoob
August 20th 2011



134 Comments


Sounds like a sweet album. I found their last album a bit monochrome, both lyrically and instrumentally - I get the impression this one is a bit more varied?

You write with clarity and character. Great review.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
August 20th 2011



6006 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Thanks man.

Atma is indeed more varied, but not as original as The Great Cessation.

For me, at least.

BanjoPatrick
August 22nd 2011



6 Comments


That was an excellently written review; I feel like I already listened to one of the songs even though I've never heard of these guys before...description was THAT detailed.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
August 22nd 2011



7168 Comments


Hmm, when was the release date for this again?

Digging: Ty Segall - Manipulator

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
August 22nd 2011



6006 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

@ Irving

August the 16th, 2011.




Edit:

I'm really glad that the album is within the "popular albums" list, even for just split moments.

These guys really deserve more attention.

Wizard
August 22nd 2011



19335 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

rasputin, check out their older stuff, it will please.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 29th 2011



7361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The review rules! ...as does the album.

Digging: 68 - In Humor and Sadness

evilford
November 14th 2013



22362 Comments


dude in the front in the band pic looks like bradley cooper from hangover

Digging: Afflicted - Prodigal Sun



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy