The National Sad Songs for Dirty Lovers
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
August 13th 2011


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Shouldn't it be 'depressing' and 'confusing'?"

Could be either really, by using "depressing" you put the focus on the effect of the music on the listener, by using "depressed" you put the focus on the music itself and how it came into creation. I chose the latter as it tied into the first paragraph.

I also think about things too much.
-----
And yep, this album is a bit worse than the recent 3 but barely, in the end it's different.

Also, thanks for the feedback.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
August 13th 2011


6487 Comments


Could be either really, by using "depressing" you put the focus on the effect of the music on the listener, by using "depressed" you put the focus on the music itself and how it came into creation. I chose the latter as it tied into the first paragraph.


Ah, ok. I interpreted it as the record itself that was depressed, and I thought: "How can a record be depressed, it's a thing" :p

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
August 13th 2011


2714 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeh, I can see how it could be confusing. Should probably have made it a bit clearer.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
August 14th 2011


7311 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

If only you'd write a little more, then you would also be a Mr Contributor Irving

Lol Tyrael XD

Inveigh
March 2nd 2013


25025 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

underrated album

AdolfChrist
March 2nd 2013


1788 Comments


yeah, it gets overshadowed by the other 3 when this is around the same quality.

Inveigh
March 2nd 2013


25025 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's at least close. I do think the three after it eclipse it though

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 10th 2013


23909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh man I didn't know this had a great review, now I don't have to write one. good call Jonny! also, I see you have since bumped this to 5/5. attaboy. most underrated album ever omg seriously.

Digging: RATKING - So It Goes

DBlitz
May 10th 2013


1690 Comments


yea this has warmed up on me a lot just a while back. really good stuff. it's kind of awkward sounding and not as refined as something like high violet but it's on par with that for me. there's some dull tracks though, the first four tracks are the best by far. 'fashion coat' is really good too, and 'available' is pretty cool.

Artuma
May 11th 2013


14334 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

really, really overlooked but still can't reach the greatness of their following albums. Slipping Husband and Lucky You are fantastic songs

Digging: Fleurety - Min Tid Skal Komme

jefflebowski
August 24th 2013


8253 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

doooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo everything

she'll never dooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo


jefflebowski
August 24th 2013


8253 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

probably my 3rd fave national after alligator and twfm

Artuma
August 24th 2013


14334 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hv
alligator
boxer
twfm
this
s/t

jefflebowski
August 24th 2013


8253 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i respectfully disagree

s/t is obviously the worst though yeah

Artuma
August 24th 2013


14334 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

without a question yeah

i just happen to absolutely love hv, and that album is very much different than this

skeames1214
October 14th 2013


2713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This isn't as refined as their later stuff, but the highs on this album are up there with Alligator's, for me.

skeames1214
October 14th 2013


2713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

there's some really subtle acoustic fingerpicking in It Never Happened that kills me

ShadowRemains
October 14th 2013


21042 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

LIQUOR ME UUUUUUUUPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP

Digging: Execration (NOR) - Morbid Dimensions

TheNexus100
October 14th 2013


2542 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

saw dem play that live omfg

Digging: Nothing - Guilty of Everything

climactic
October 14th 2013


19366 Comments


need to see them live holy fuck how was it

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy