YOB Atma
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 11th 2011



7346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Atma and The Unreal Never Lived are their best. I'm not a big fan of their previous album. I think the production's a bit off on this one. But yeah, as I said in the review, the band's very consistent.

Digging: Kimbra - The Golden Echo

Duderino
August 11th 2011



827 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

yeah, i mean i understand why they went for more raw sounding tones and production, but after a few listens i'm still not sure if i wouldn't prefer if it was mastered a tad more

DoubtGin
August 11th 2011



6748 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

so good

ZombicidalMan
August 11th 2011



1760 Comments


Forgot about this band, I'll have to give this a listen for sure. Nice review.

balcaen
August 11th 2011



3183 Comments


this 4.5 looks promising... but is it better than the illusion of motion?

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
August 12th 2011



5985 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Atma has elements from all previous Yob records, so in an way, it is not "better" than The Illusion of Motion.

Digging: Lisa Gerrard - Twilight Kingdom

ikarus
August 12th 2011



560 Comments


which one came first, this album, or the item in league of legends? you decide.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 12th 2011



7346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think sonically it's perhaps the closest thing to The Illusion Of Motion they've recorded. Still, the picks for their best album differ from one person to another so it's hard to say which one is objectively their peak.

Eskate87
August 12th 2011



959 Comments


just got this yesterday. really can't wait to hear it.

feav233
August 12th 2011



1411 Comments


didn't know they were releasing anything new

balcaen
August 12th 2011



3183 Comments


i want to hear this bad but i really need to get in touch with my dealer methinks
mmmmmmm

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
August 12th 2011



8779 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

good review, I didn't like this at all but whatever floats your boat! :]

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 12th 2011



7346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah. To each his own. A 2/5 seems too arsh though. I mean even if you're not digging it, it's way better than the majority of doom metal out there.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
August 12th 2011



8779 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

not to me, and I'm a huge doom metal fanatic. sorry bro, it's just how i feel about it. :]

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 12th 2011



7346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fair enough. I just can't get these riffz out of my head.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
August 12th 2011



5985 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I think sonically it's perhaps the closest thing to The Illusion Of Motion they've recorded.

I couldn't agree more.

Everything else though (riffs, melodies etc), has been recited from past Yob releases, which is not entirely a bad or a good thing, hence my 3.5/5.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2011



5985 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

most def

Jethro42
August 13th 2011



12390 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I use to take it all seriously when Greg gives some generous ratings. I currently try to get into Yob. I'll read your review this evening, bud.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2011



5985 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Jethro, you should seriously check out Catharsis from Yob, which is considerably influenced from the blues.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2011



7346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Tanks pal. After multiple listens I can safely say this is my favorite metal album of the year so far.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy