Trivium In Waves
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
FilthyBorgir
August 5th 2011



1334 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

^ yeah it's good.

TheSpirit
August 5th 2011



16671 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

he Crusade was mainstream thrashcore



Thrashcore? Do you even know what you're talking about? And Shogun didn't emphasize their thrash influences at all, what album were you listening to?

Digging: Sexdrome - Grown Younger

Yazz_Flute
August 5th 2011



18740 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Master of Puppets

Digging: Anekdoten - Vemod

Motiv3
August 5th 2011



8442 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

the crusade tried to be thrash....
Shogun isnt thrashy at all.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
August 5th 2011



6736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I know this is a slow response, but ill fix all them issues So this is worthy of a feature. Thanks for the votes guys, i just got to work a 12 hour trial shift before ill come close to a computer.

D41V30N
August 5th 2011



949 Comments


Okay, as a fan of Shogun, I thought I should give this album some more listen, but the more I listen to it, the more hate it. I don't get it. First, some Twilight and Vampire Diaries rips of my cool image of Vampires into some gay shit, and now bands like Trivium and B4MV and some other so-called metal bands are making metal look like gay shit. It isn't funny anymore.

Urinetrouble
August 5th 2011



5695 Comments


ack, relax.
Get busy with the facts.
No zodiacs or almanacs,
No maniacs in polyester slacks.
Just the facts.
Gonna kick some gluteus max.
It's a paralax, you dig?
You move around
The small gets big. It's a rig
It's action -- reaction
Random interaction.
So who's afraid
Of little abstraction
Can't get no satisfaction
From the facts?
You'd better run, homeboy
A fact's a fact
From Nome to Rome, boy.

What's the deal? Spin the wheel.
If the dice are hot -- take a shot.
Play your cards. Show us what you got --
What you're holding.
If the cards are cold
Don't go folding.
Lady Luck is golden;
She favors the bold. That's cold
Stop throwing stones --
The night has a thousand saxaphones.
So get out there and rock,
And roll the bones.

FilthyBorgir
August 5th 2011



1334 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

@TheSpirit The Crusade had thrash elements mixed in with core elements that's why I called it thrashcore. If you listen to a good majority of the songs you'll hear the thrash influences. Is it thrash? no. but it has it's influences that's visibly heard same with the metalcore sound too.

Like Motie3 said "the crusade tried to be thrash...." that probably sums up my words in a better terms.


Shogun is also the same way except it has a less thrash sound overall, but the thrash influences are there just listen to the very beginning of Insurrection for example.

ShadowRemains
August 5th 2011



19445 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

lol

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2011



17391 Comments


Change is a double edged sword. Will you be the one wielding that sword, or will you fall upon it?

Digging: Steve Moore - Zero-Point Field

Carnifex
August 5th 2011



1918 Comments


Whelp, listened to this again and it's definitely a boring record. It's not necessarily bad, but it isn't very memorable.

TheSpirit
August 5th 2011



16671 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0


@TheSpirit The Crusade had thrash elements mixed in with core elements that's why I called it thrashcore. If you listen to a good majority of the songs you'll hear the thrash influences. Is it thrash? no. but it has it's influences that's visibly heard same with the metalcore sound too.


lol dummy i wasn't contesting the fact that the crusade was their most thrash influenced, just that fact that thrashcore has actually nothing to do with thrash and or any core elements

Carnifex
August 5th 2011



1918 Comments


Yeah this sounds like a very bored Trivium, would've been a good record if it was shorter though imo. Just sounds like there's there quite a bit of filler here.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2011



17391 Comments


I'm still waiting to find out what kind of pseudointellectual dickspray they were going for with 'in waves'.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
August 6th 2011



6736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Review has been edited to be a better read, thanks for the critiques guys.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 6th 2011



8223 Comments


Over the years we have seen Trivium grow and explore new sounds. From the hit or miss sounds from The Crusade and the over “Metallicisation” of Heafy’s lyrics to the best received album effort Shogun listeners’ didn’t know what to expect.
1. Use a colon instead of a period after "explore new sounds". 2. it should be "of The Crusade", not "from The Crusade". 3. to the band's best received... 4. "album" is redundant 5. Add a comma after Shogun. 6. You should add some extra info after this sentence before going straight to the In Waves part, because the transition atm is very clunky.
Tracks like ‘Of All These Yesterdays’ and ‘Watch The World Burn’ highlight the creative choices the band uses throughout the album and makes for a better listen overall.
Which creative choices? Also, the "makes for a better listen" part reads awkwardly. In the next sentence, it's "album's", not "albums".
While Trivium have adopted a more radio friendly, pop influenced sound there is no denying that this isn’t a Trivium album.
Think you meant to say ...there is no denying that this is still very much a Trivium album.
By the group’s standards this is not pushing any boundaries.
Reads like a fragment and could be cut all together.
There are still the driving riff patterns, technical and fast guitar solos, the screamed and clean vocals. Not to mention the inclusion of newest member Nick Augusto who provides an intelligent percussive onslaught without going over the top.
This should be cojoined into one sentence so it reads like There are still the driving riff patterns, technical and fast guitar solos, a mix of screamed and clean vocals, and Nick Augusto, the newest member of the band, provides an intelligent percussive onslaught without going over the top, to wrap things up.
This backs up Corey Beaulieu who states in an interview that “We’re making sure every part in every song needs to be there and is super-catchy and doesn’t go over people’s heads." Certainly re-affirming that Trivium are not trying to do anything different on this release.
Turn this to delete because already in the next paragraph you're talking about how the band's sound has changed.
In Waves is a solid listen throughout and maintains the listeners’ attention with a few instrumental tracks that act as interludes for the album.
If you delete the two sentences that precede this one, start this one out with This makes In Waves a solid listen that manages to maintain...

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 6th 2011



8223 Comments


In Waves shows much of a radio metal album and whilst that is not such a bad thing it is bound to create a certain backlash from the metal community.
"In Waves shows many traits of a radio metal album" is what you meant to say, right?
The extended edition of this release presents listeners with a very familiar track ‘Slave New World’ and whilst this is very much a Sepultura classic the main difference can be found in the vocals being screamed throughout.
Too wordy, just say The extended edition of In Waves also features Trivium's aggressive rendition of Sepultura classic "Slave New World".
Trivium certainly don’t lift the tracks quality, but neither do they drop it
Reads awkwardly, try While the band does not enhance the quality of the song in any way, they don't muck it up either, leaving "Slave New World" as just a decent cover, nothing more, nothing less.
Also the track ‘Leaving This World Behind’ brings back features of the band’s past work ‘A View Of Burning Empires’ from the band’s debut full length release and gives new life to the instrumental track, which also maintains the attention of the listener.
This is so awkwardly written that I can't even suggest anything other than to reword this completely, because I can't understand jack what you're trying to say here.
They have not maintained the same level of quality found on Shogun but this should keep the die-hard fans happy and maybe attract a new fan base from the radio rock/pop metal community.
Replace "They" with "Trivium" and add a comma after "Shogun".
Simply put, while this album shows much solid quality it just has not improved from Trivium's last album Shogun.
Simply put, while In Waves is another solid outing from Trivium, it doesn't improve over the band's previous releases in any way.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
August 6th 2011



6736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think i just got my arse kicked over the internet.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 6th 2011



8223 Comments


At least this was a friendly ass-kicking so that you could actually get that feature of yours ;)

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
August 6th 2011



6736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Re-editing now lol. 51 reviews in, you think i wouldn't be missing things like band's.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy