DIR EN GREY DUM SPIRO SPERO
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
April 30th 2012



50116 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I wish Uroboros had the production of this

Digging: Tiny Moving Parts - Pleasant Living

Acanthus
April 30th 2012



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Still need to check that one out, though to be fair I like how there isn't a standout track on this
(which was Sowing's complaint), but rather many standout moments WITHIN tracks.

Apparently UROBOROS had a standout track.

JizzInMyPants
May 1st 2012



2369 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Ya there are great moments in uroboros.

The thing bout Uroboros, is that there are many great "mystical" tracks (Red Soil, Vinushka, Toguro).

and then there are goofy avante garde tracks (Stuck Man, Bugaboo). Which I don't like.

But yeah Vinushka is like the best moments (minus indian chants) of this album and Uroboros rolled up in one 10 minute track..



DoubtGin
May 1st 2012



6749 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Uroboros is like twice as good as this

JizzInMyPants
May 2nd 2012



2369 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

this album is more consistent than Uroboros, wish they stop making those straight up core tracks (juriku, hage, decayed) and focus more of their DM thing (Amon)

if Dir En Grey release a whole album with an twisted-japanese-incantation-like atmosphere all the way through i would not hesistate to call them the best modern metal band.

I just think this band has waay too much potential.

Acanthus
May 2nd 2012



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I loved their earlier style, the harshness of this was a real shock coming from Gauze.

JizzInMyPants
May 2nd 2012



2369 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

ya gauze is pretty much their best pre WTD album to me. Even though it is textbook 90s Visual Kei.

Gauze, WTD, Urobors, and this album is the only Dir En Grey worth checking out to me.

Even though vulgar has Audience killer loop(Dir en grey gone commercial black metal) and Shokubeni (Dir en grey's version of forty six & 2)

Graveyard
May 2nd 2012



5706 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"I loved their earlier style, the harshness of this was a real shock coming from Gauze."

Never really liked their earlier stuff tbh, except maybe Vulgar. But I loved them ever since The Marrow of a Bone


Digging: Total Control - Typical System

BigPleb
May 27th 2012



36074 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Love this, but prefer Uroboros.

Digging: Arc Iris - Arc Iris

Acanthus
May 27th 2012



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I got into their earlier work first, held off on this for long time until I started to want to hear the heavier Dir en Grey.

FearThyEvil
May 27th 2012



12497 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Basically what I did too.

BigPleb
May 27th 2012



36074 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Vulgar is their best 'early' shit.

Acanthus
May 27th 2012



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I prefer Gauze, Kisou, and Withering To Death.

BigPleb
May 27th 2012



36074 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Outrageous.

Acanthus
May 27th 2012



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Those are the three that got me into the band, some really strong memories attached to them.

BigPleb
May 27th 2012



36074 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well justified.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2012



50116 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Best metal band around, don't care if they aren't kvlt

Acanthus
June 21st 2012



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ha not kvlt as in obscure, but damn the vocals can blow the majority of metal bands out've the water.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 21st 2012



50116 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

He is the best

Acanthus
June 21st 2012



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Would love to see them live, still need to get physical copies of their music.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy