Dir En Grey Dum Spiro Spero
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JizzInMyPants
May 2nd 2012


2431 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

this album is more consistent than Uroboros, wish they stop making those straight up core tracks (juriku, hage, decayed) and focus more of their DM thing (Amon)



if Dir En Grey release a whole album with an twisted-japanese-incantation-like atmosphere all the way through i would not hesistate to call them the best modern metal band.



I just think this band has waay too much potential.

Acanthus
May 2nd 2012


9784 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I loved their earlier style, the harshness of this was a real shock coming from Gauze.

Digging: Mr Little Jeans - Pocketknife

JizzInMyPants
May 2nd 2012


2431 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

ya gauze is pretty much their best pre WTD album to me. Even though it is textbook 90s Visual Kei.



Gauze, WTD, Urobors, and this album is the only Dir En Grey worth checking out to me.



Even though vulgar has Audience killer loop(Dir en grey gone commercial black metal) and Shokubeni (Dir en grey's version of forty six & 2)

Graveyard
May 2nd 2012


6143 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"I loved their earlier style, the harshness of this was a real shock coming from Gauze."



Never really liked their earlier stuff tbh, except maybe Vulgar. But I loved them ever since The Marrow of a Bone



BigPleb
May 27th 2012


41658 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love this, but prefer Uroboros.

Acanthus
May 27th 2012


9784 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I got into their earlier work first, held off on this for long time until I started to want to hear the heavier Dir en Grey.

FearThyEvil
May 27th 2012


13372 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Basically what I did too.

BigPleb
May 27th 2012


41658 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Vulgar is their best 'early' shit.

Acanthus
May 27th 2012


9784 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I prefer Gauze, Kisou, and Withering To Death.

BigPleb
May 27th 2012


41658 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Outrageous.

Acanthus
May 27th 2012


9784 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Those are the three that got me into the band, some really strong memories attached to them.

BigPleb
May 27th 2012


41658 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well justified.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2012


51494 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Best metal band around, don't care if they aren't kvlt

Digging: Main Attrakionz - 808s & Dark Grapes III

Acanthus
June 21st 2012


9784 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ha not kvlt as in obscure, but damn the vocals can blow the majority of metal bands out've the water.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 21st 2012


51494 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

He is the best

Acanthus
June 21st 2012


9784 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Would love to see them live, still need to get physical copies of their music.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 21st 2012


51494 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

He keeps hurting his throat which is understandable



BigPleb
June 21st 2012


41658 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Doesn't he like mutilate himself on stage? Or is it all effects?

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 21st 2012


51494 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah he does, not serious stuff though

BigPleb
June 21st 2012


41658 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I saw one video where his mouth was just filled with blood, fucked up.



He is one of the best vocalists I have ever heard, though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy