Norma Jean O' God The Aftermath
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mort.
June 26th 2015


6962 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"this has more in common with botch than drowningman "



I swear you said you've never listened to drowningman a week or 2 ago

Digging: Twin Zero - Monolith

jesterhead92
June 27th 2015


586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Shaunluu is so good.

Artuma
June 27th 2015


20143 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@mort yeah, that was like two weeks ago

Digging: Today Is the Day - Sadness Will Prevail

Mort.
June 27th 2015


6962 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well you need to listen to busy signal at the suicide hotline pls

tresm87
June 27th 2015


2958 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@jesterhead you must have the reissue deluxe version?



Oh and yea this album fucking pulverized anything botch ever did no

Matter how influential they were to mathcore

Digging: The Devil Wears Prada - Space

Artuma
June 27th 2015


20143 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

tresm i could never understand what's going on in your head

jesterhead92
June 27th 2015


586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@trems yes I do, rewinding actually works in my car stereo as I found out today. Your statement about Botch kind of baffles me though, I definitely don't think this album "pulverizes" anything Botch has done.

tresm87
June 27th 2015


2958 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yea well it baffles me how botch is held in such high regard on here. Actually pisses me off lol.

Mort.
June 27th 2015


6962 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I feel the same with as i lay dying and killswitch tbh



But as u like dum dum metalcore i see how you wouldnt enjoy botch





jesterhead92
June 27th 2015


586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Trems, what does this album do for you that Botch doesn't? I mean I don't think Norma Jean outright rips them off but they are very similar.

suddykilljaywalkers
June 27th 2015


659 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

love dis album

tresm87
June 28th 2015


2958 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Dum dum metalcore. Right.



As far as the comparison between this and a botch album, there is almost no comparison imo. This album destroys it in every facet. Varied instrumentals full of way more precision. Vocals are 1000 times better though Cory is at his worst of his career, though still good. The botch vocalist is pitiful and their music is actually quite boring with some cool riffs at times. I do understand it was a 90s raw style and influential but it's meh. But hey that's just my "dum dum" opinion. Lol

jesterhead92
June 28th 2015


586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well I have to say that I completely disagree with your Botch analysis. We Are the Romans is a metalcore classic; David's vocals are raw as hell, the math-inspired instrumentals are stellar, loads of time changes are featured in every song without sacrificing any catchiness and perfect production from Matt Bayles (whom Norma Jean got to produce O' God, the Aftermath a few years later) makes every instrument stand out in the mix. I don't think there's any lack of variety as the songs often end in a different place than they began with the band exploring various moods and tempos within those songs. Not to mention the interlude track does a good job of breaking the album into two clear halves to make for easier listening.



I dunno how much you listened to it...but man, I would try again if I were you.



I love O' God, the Aftermath by the way, though that should be obvious. I actually head it before I knew who Botch was.





tresm87
June 28th 2015


2958 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've listened to that botch album supposed classic enough times to know I'm not into it in the slightest.

Artuma
June 28th 2015


20143 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

botch is pretty far from anything 'raw' tbh

Mort.
June 28th 2015


6962 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First album is raw production wise and thats it tbh

jesterhead92
June 28th 2015


586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Botch and Norma Jean are both great and that's all I care about

suddykilljaywalkers
June 28th 2015


659 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah i like them both a lot

jesterhead92
June 28th 2015


586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album and Redeemer are the best Norma Jean.

suddykilljaywalkers
June 28th 2015


659 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i like this and the newest one



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy