Hey Rosetta! Seeds
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 28th 2011


23818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Here's my thing with this album it starts off wanting to be brilliant and then seriously losing steam as the band suffer from a serious case of identity crisis. Will keep listening though


really? for me the album gets stronger towards the end. the last 4 or so songs are jaw-droppingly awesome.

Douglas
November 30th 2011


9104 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

that^

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 2nd 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Tough to split this & 'Into Your Lungs...'. This is more consistent & refined, while 'IYL' had a little more filler, but it's highlights were a little more memorable.

On their 3rd LP 'Seeds', St. Johns sextet Hey Rosetta! continue to refine their brand of orchestral indie-rock, resulting in their most immediate, consistent & accessible release yet. As usual, heartfelt vocals, eloquent lyrics & impressive bass-lines are meticulously weaved into layered arrangements. But the Canadians seem more assured here, with the harder edge in their sound ultimately resulting in more variety than their unpredictable previous albums. While 'Seeds' may be front-loaded, it nicely balances joyous fun & contemplative maturity to produce an LP that should appeal to many. Recommended Tracks: Seeds, New Sum, Young Glass & Yer Spring.

Knott-
Emeritus
December 3rd 2011


10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I should listen to that album more

but this RULES

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 3rd 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Definitely Adam. Because it's longer, it has a little more filler & is less immediate & accessible.

Knott-
Emeritus
December 13th 2011


10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

oh my fucking god this album is insanely awesome

Douglas
December 13th 2011


9104 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

5'd

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
December 13th 2011


23818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yer Fall is like

amazing

my love, my love is dead. I buried it...

AtavanHalen
December 13th 2011


17927 Comments


don't know why ck likes this

it's amazing

Knott-
Emeritus
December 13th 2011


10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

lmao

you two

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
December 13th 2011


23818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

who's ck?

Knott-
Emeritus
December 13th 2011


10195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

daveyboy

he calls him champ kind

from anchorman

i have no idea why

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
December 13th 2011


23818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hahahahahaha that's actually amazing.

AtavanHalen
December 13th 2011


17927 Comments


early on/back in the day

used to read his reviews in the voice of champ kind

now I'm a disgraced former Tory MP and he's a responsible dad with 37 children and a bad back

Douglas
December 14th 2011


9104 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

lmao

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
December 23rd 2011


23818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ok this album is seriously amazing. It's pretty much the only thing I've listened to for the past three weeks that I've been in Uganda. "Welcome" is one of the best songs of 2011.

Douglas
December 23rd 2011


9104 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Welcome" is one of the best songs of 2011.


agreed

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
December 23rd 2011


23818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So forget where you've been, it'll never be that good again, and we must only look ahead. Soon you're thirty-three, and everything you tried to be is pulled apart by fear and greed. Let young hands build you up...

gives me goosebumps every time. I literally just got shivers typing that up haha.

Douglas
December 23rd 2011


9104 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

And carve your face in honest rock
With sunlight on your noble jaw


oh yes

NeutralThunder12
January 11th 2012


8742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

this certainly doesn't re-invent anything, but fuck, this is great.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy