Givers In Light
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Emeritus
July 12th 2011



14512 Comments


I'm the type that listens to music to mirror my mood. It almost never helps...

it's just hard to be like, well, i just got dumped and my boss said im on thin ice, time to listen to colbie caillat

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
July 13th 2011



23652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

woah maybe I should have gotten my shit together and seen these guys at Sasquatch

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 13th 2011



20825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Ahhh, is that when you turn to death metal SS.

Well, at least you'd head OF them Aids. So did anyone see them at Abonimable Snowman.

HBFS
July 13th 2011



1214 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Go out at night rules, last half is so awesome. Rest of the album is really good too, but hey, it's no Foreign Tapes haha

Knott-
Emeritus
July 13th 2011



10194 Comments


Is this your 2011 Parades

FelixCulpa
July 13th 2011



1236 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Listening to "Up Up Up" and it does sound pretty sweet, will delve further into this later.
"Is this your 2011 Parades" Thought the exact same thing.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 13th 2011



20825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Great to hear you liked it so much Rowdy. I really should have talked a bit about that song in the review. But it was sort of an all or nothing scenario.

FC, while the rest of the album is not too dissimilar to 'Up Up Up', it can be a little misleading as there is a fair bit of synth in that song, whereas most other tracks are much more organic.

And I guess this is indeed my 2011 Parades. It's my AOTY right now & hardly anyone had heard of the album here before this review... Having said that, as I stated last page, I do not feel this is as good an album as 'Foreign Tapes'. There are definitely many similarities though.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
July 13th 2011



4830 Comments


will check it out davey

Digging: Nmesh - Dream Sequins®

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 13th 2011



20825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Good to hear Sobhi. I'd usually say you wouldn't like this, but hey, you enjoyed Parades, so who knows.

djunior
July 13th 2011



615 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

:D glad to see this up here. im from the same town as these folks

Digging: together PANGEA - Badillac

DiceMan
July 13th 2011



7068 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

choo choo

klap
Staff Reviewer
July 13th 2011



10001 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

will get

SowingSeason
Emeritus
July 13th 2011



14512 Comments


up, up, up is so good, good, good

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 13th 2011



20825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Have you seen them live djunior?

All aboard DiceMan. The DaveyTrain only runs once a year.

You will like this Rudy. I'm certain of it.

The rest will also grow SS... Just give them the chance to. 'Up Up Up' is definitely the most immediate song on the album.

eggsvonsatan
July 14th 2011



1087 Comments


Louisiana is more than a "hotbed of cajun and zydeco" as you put it. Its also the birthplace of jazz, just to name on thing.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 14th 2011



20825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah, good point... I guess I was more referring to the influences apparent for this band. There's not that much jazz here... About the only thing though.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
July 14th 2011



4830 Comments


dug all the recommended listens i think. this is pretty good so far

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
July 14th 2011



20825 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yee-ha... Tbh, there's not a huge range between the best & worst track, it's more a matter of whether people think it's too much of the same. Except for the mainly slower 7 minute penultimate track which I was pretty neutral to, but many will feel is either the highlight or lowlight.

Bandido
July 14th 2011



815 Comments


I'm really liking this so far. Glad I saw this review.

Is Parades really that similar to this? I kinda got into that album, but never got it on my ipod, and them kind of forgot about it. Judging by your comments, if I like this, then I should relisten to Foreign Tapes?

HBFS
July 14th 2011



1214 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't think this is very similar to Foreign Tapes, but that's just me. And Foreign Tapes is better than this, so yeah relisten to it



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy