The Beatles Abbey Road
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
pulseczar
December 2nd 2005



2385 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

sgt peppers is nothing compared to Abbey Road.


And Ent, put You Never Give me Your Money in the recommended tracks section RIGHT NOW.

Seafroggys
December 3rd 2005



60 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

best album ever made....period

DownPaymentBlues78
February 10th 2006



278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album owns. Simple as that. Awesome review as well. Here Comes the Sun is one of my favorite Beatles songs.

The Nose
February 14th 2006



17 Comments


This is still one of the most unique albums in history, with a lot of it just being the Beatles taking bits of unfinished songs (:23, yep, that's a song alright) and sticking them together. I don't think any other band could do that and have each song flow so amazingly well into the next. On CD you don't really get the intended effect of "Her Majesty", because when this album originally came out on vinyl, the first time you heard it the last part of "The End" seemed to actually be the end of the album, then the huge crash at the beginning of "Her Majesty" appeared. That's why there's such a long gap in between the two songs.

Jimmy
February 21st 2006



717 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's amazing that the beatles were at each other throats and hated each other while recording this. A great final album from the greatest band of all time.

thunderzstruck
March 8th 2006



148 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think the second half is stonger in my opinion.

I LOOVE the way they transition She Came Into the Bathroom Window from Polythene Pam and I Want You (She's so Heavy) drags on for waaay too long, ugh


This Message Edited On 03.08.06This Message Edited On 03.08.06

Storm In A Teacup
March 24th 2006



12701 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

God this is awesome.

CharmlessMan
April 2nd 2006



169 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This album is the Beatles best by far, Harrison shone on this album. Something is one of the greatest songs ever recorded and Here Comes The Sun is just as good, It just goes to show that all of the Beatles (Even Ringo with octopus' garden) can write songs, not just Lennon-McCartney.

Bron-Yr-Aur
April 9th 2006



4405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I already had a pretty big beatles hard-on when I got this and was with the exception of a few tracks... was dissapointed. then out of nowhere BAM! Favourite album. The medley is superb, and "The End" is really cool. If you do not like Abbey Road, I probably will not like you. Sit booboo sit. good dog. And where the hell is abbey road blues on my copy?This Message Edited On 04.09.06This Message Edited On 04.21.06

customfrank
April 15th 2006



20 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

OK,
Here`s the beef. This album is the last hurrah with the group. Paul was a dick during the song selection process insisting that he get Maxwells Silver Dildo on this album instead of one of George's All Things Must Pass songs. Paul couldn't handle the fact that George was emerging as a better songwriter the he was. The now herione addicted John who pissed the other guys off by dragging Yoko into their business, was able to muster up a couple of down and dirty songs, I Want You & Come Together which were an opposite of the overproduced Paul and George Martin offerings. Harrison's songs, Something and Here Comes the Sun are the best whole songs on this CD. The medly of the rest is dominated by Lennon's Sun King & Polythene Pam. Pauls writings were consumed with dissing Yoko's presence.
George Martin did his best job producing this album which clearly pre-viewed where they all were headed as solo artists.
John as a cause fighting activist who's catalog is amazing.
Paul as a money making pop artist who's catalog is littered with nonsensical songs and a few good ones.
George as a spirtual artist who's catalog is awesome especially compared to Paul's.
Ringo as a happy ex Beatle jamming with friends and having fun.

Bron-Yr-Aur
April 15th 2006



4405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you really don't like Paul? Given he was rather tyrannical at times, but I believe that while George was better at playing an insrtument such as the guitar, paul was a better songwriter.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2006



16083 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I would be rather sad in the pants if Maxwell's Silver Hammer wasn't included on this album. For some strange reason, its the Beatles song I have the most fun listening to.

pulseczar
April 15th 2006



2385 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This album is perfect as it is, silly rabbits. But I used to hate Max's Hammer a lot.

Storm In A Teacup
April 15th 2006



12701 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I think he means he tried his best, but didn't actually do his best.

Bron-Yr-Aur
April 18th 2006



4405 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Favorite Tracks

1. The End
2. You Never Give Me Your Money
3. Tie between Sun King and I Want You (She's So Heavy)

DownPaymentBlues78
April 18th 2006



278 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can't even listen to I Want You (She's So Heavy). It's so ridiculously dragged out. For about 5 minutes too long.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2006



16083 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It should have been cut by about two minutes.
But for me, its
Maxwell's Silver Hammer
Mean Mr. Mustard/Polythene Pam/She Came In..
The End

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2006



15730 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album puts me to sleep. It's too relaxed.

Digging: Alvvays - Alvvays

Zesty Mordant
April 18th 2006



1196 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Golden Slumbers= best Beatles song ever.
And maybe its just me, but "The End" is way better when its sampled in "The Sounds of Science" by Beastie Boys

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 18th 2006



16083 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Everything is better when its sampled by the Beastie Boys, even Beatles material.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy