Mumford and Sons Sigh No More
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Douglas
July 7th 2011



9097 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Ha. Ever since this mumford debacle started, I watched my 4.5 review go from 8/8 say its well written to 3/4. Indie fags.

Digging: James Vincent McMorrow - Post Tropical

duckpride82
July 7th 2011



213 Comments


Talk about fucking pretense.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2011



23806 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah this has worn off me a great deal and I can totally understand how this music would make some people cringe but it's not nearly bad enough to be grouped in with the worst albums ever made (from an objective standpoint), in my opinion, obviously. I agree with Masochist's big comment and actually kind of agreed with Knott's rebutal (PARADOX).

Like, I still enjoy their music but they are definite shallow douchebags now that they are famous. When I saw them live in 2010 they were humble and genuinely excited to be sharing their music with us. Their performance was heartfelt. But then I watched the stream of them play Coachella this year (in a headlining spot, sort of) and holy shit the fame has gotten to their head. The lead singer was clearly wasted, the banjo player was air-raping the crowd the entire time (it was disgusting), and the singing was pitchy. They also weren't very modest at all.

So, I can kind of agree that maybe this band is fake or plastic or whatever but I still don't think that the album Sigh No More is terrible by any stretch of the imagination.

tldr I know, I don't even know why I'm typing so much I think I'm just bored so I'm over-analyzing shit. oh well that's what sputnik is for.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2011



23806 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^ haha douglas that sucks. pretty sure I pos'd that bitch way back and I didn't retract mine. YOURE WELCOME.

how do you even retract a pos without negging? is their an un-pos button?

zxlkho
July 7th 2011



3461 Comments


I read and pos'd Douglas' review.

Douglas
July 7th 2011



9097 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Hah thanks guys, wasnt meant to be an a attention grabbing statement! I don't no, maybe people pos's and unpos'd or something.

Masochist
July 7th 2011



8012 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

...you can argue that this is a review of Mumford as a band but this is their debut album. It's the only thing of theirs that I'm aware of, so it is, essentially, and crucially, the sum total of their music to date. And I think that within those bounds, within the walls of this album - also the walls of the band, as I see it - they are as I just said to Ali, pseudo-folk, and what's wrong with that isn't that they're ruining the genre or blah blah, but that they're the embodiment of facade-driven music, the epitome of pretending to say lots and actually saying practically nothing.


All right, I can see that. The fact that this is all the music the band has put out to the public is reason enough to examine the motives of the entire band based on it (after all, that's the point of a debut release, isn't it?).

After re-reading the review a few times, though, there's still something about it that nags at me...something that I think is hidden in this line:

But here, much more, it is the fundamental misunderstanding of what those terms - folk, inspirational and meaningful - actually mean, or worse still, a deliberate re-defining of those terms as diversion tactics. What results is a checklist of devices which one would hesitate to call clich├ęd because of their relative absence from the world of pop songwriting, but which are just as empty.


...But I can't quite place it. I may be reading a complete dismissiveness of the folk-pop genre in that sentence that isn't really there. Or maybe I just wish there were more elaboration on that point...I don't know.

There is one thing, however, that this review (and its discussion) made me realize just now: without realizing it, I was actually very nervous when I first listened to Bon Iver's new album that it would be influenced by this album to follow in its footsteps--not in sound, but in compromising itself for its possible grander audience (because Bon Iver has been getting a lot of mainstream attention lately, from the lead singer being featured in a Kanye West song to the band performing on The Colbert Report)...and I was quite relieved when I heard that it wasn't.

For helping me come to that realization, and after re-reading the review again and again and it making more sense after that answer you gave...I'll pos.

Still can't agree to the rating, though.

Digging: He Is Legend - Heavy Fruit

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
July 7th 2011



31087 Comments


I mean I like this review and all, but at the same time...... ehhhh

Digging: Banks - Goddess

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2011



23806 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the epitome of pretending to say lots and actually saying practically nothing.


I don't get what you're saying here Knott, or I don't agree with it I guess. It's a really good break-up album, a lot of the lyrics really spoke to my relationship with my ex near the end and, at the time, I thought it's message was very powerful. I don't think you can accuse it of saying nothing, maybe you just don't see any value in it's message, which is fine, but I really think it's a stretch to say that this is the "epitome of music that says practically nothing". I dunno..

NeutralThunder12
July 7th 2011



8742 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

their ok.......its not a 1.......

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
July 7th 2011



23806 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

no, that's MY ok

BroFro
July 7th 2011



405 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Finally a negative review for this. Album is really bland, but it isn't terrible.

Digging: Jimmy Eat World - Clarity

Douglas
July 7th 2011



9097 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

tbh reading this review just made me angry

BroFro
July 7th 2011



405 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

And I agree one hundred percent with the last paragraph. That sums up my thoughts exactly on how I see this album affecting mainstream music now and in the future.

xcharlesx
July 7th 2011



192 Comments


the collective hivemind is forming!

KILL
July 7th 2011



71454 Comments


sweet review

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

Apollo
July 7th 2011



10290 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

haha Knott a 1? really?

Apollo
July 7th 2011



10290 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

gotta neg for the simple fact that you did not back up your points

Apollo
July 7th 2011



10290 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"We will bring folk to the mainstream. We will write lyrics that are meaningful. "

So because the band "brought folk to the mainstream" this makes this a bad album? You are such a fucking hipster idiot, seriously.

Slum
July 7th 2011



2579 Comments


fuck yes here it comes



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy