Giles Corey Giles Corey
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
patrickfannon
July 7th 2011



884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I just downloaded this record yesterday, and I'm very anxious to listen to it, but I want to be in the right mood and have the correct mindest before I do so. Should I wait to buy it and read the book, or just dive straight into the album? Is there something to be said for listening to the album cold and finiding a personal interpretation, or is it better to follow the thought process of the artist and learn from his intentions? I realize this is a fairly difficult, if not impossible, question to answer in any objective way; I'm just curious to hear some opinions.

FelixCulpa
July 7th 2011



1236 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I think personally you have thought about it a bit to much. I got the album first and loved it but I
know chan who have reviewed both book and cd said that the book compliments the abum and gives more
depth. My suggestion is the order the book+cd and start listening to the album whilst it's shipping.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
July 7th 2011



17913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the book doesn't make the album sound better but it will change the way you think about it as you listen. i don't think you should necessarily wait to listen until you have the book though.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
July 7th 2011



17913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

probably not i mean all it has to offer is pretty apparent on first listen or two

patrickfannon
July 8th 2011



884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks Felix and Chan. I'm going to give it a spin today, then snag the book and CD from Amazon sometime in the near future. If this record sounds half as cool as your review makes it out to be, I'm in for a really nice, depressing treat. I'll let you guys know what I think.

FelixCulpa
July 8th 2011



1236 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Umm you are probably not gonna find it on amazon any time soon. It's a limited release (I think 300 copies, physical at least) and there's only 34 copies left. http://enemieslist.net/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=24

coleba
July 8th 2011



788 Comments


Album is oppressive as hell.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
July 8th 2011



17913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ya if you want one you better snag it up quick

patrickfannon
July 8th 2011



884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well, how about that? Hahaha, thank you guys again. I just snatched up one of the last copies. This album is fucking scary. I love it.

jingledeath
July 8th 2011



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this refuses to get old, might have to bump the rating soon.

DBlitz
July 8th 2011



1685 Comments


agree w/ jingle

purchased this over a month ago now and still haven't received it =[

cute review chan

iarescientists
July 8th 2011



5863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this album is so depressing and i am so depressed

thank you based void

patrickfannon
July 8th 2011



884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Jesus Christ. This record is fucking phenomenal. It reminds me of a perfect synthesis of Neutral Milk Hotel and The Microphones/Mount Eerie.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
July 8th 2011



17913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cute review chan


fuck u

PaleCompanion
July 9th 2011



154 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Album's decent and enjoyable, nothing to write home about though.

toolpeth182
July 9th 2011



190 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the horn melody in "Buried Above Ground" at the 3-minute mark sounds incredibly familiar.. can someone help me with this, it's drivin me nuts haha

Grimlin
July 9th 2011



818 Comments


Album's decent and enjoyable, nothing to write home about though.
unless, of course, it's a suicide note

EyesWideShut
July 10th 2011



3028 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the only thing that could drag for me is "im goin to do it", but besides that its all gold. Haunting Presence and Buried Above are the perfect opener/closer.

FelixCulpa
July 10th 2011



1236 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Haha, quite mixed feelings you're having. Can I ask what songs it is you like?

ReadyForTheHouse
July 10th 2011



50 Comments


I heard 'Spectral Bride' a year or two ago and it's a really moving track. Looking forward to hearing the album. If they've any copies of the book/CD left I'll probably order it..





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy