Alkaline Trio
Hell Yes


4.0
excellent

Review

by Dan Smith USER (74 Reviews)
November 26th, 2005 | 20 replies


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist


This two-track E.P. was released shortly before "From Here To Infirmary," the album that helped the band take their first steps towards the worldwide recognition they now receive. If I'm not mistaken, the two songs on this E.P. were recorded early in the FHTI sessions, and appear on some special editions of the album as bonus tracks.

Anyway, on to the music.

"Hell Yes" is one of the first songs Matt Skiba wrote which addressed his fascination with Satanism (just look at the lyrics! - "Bless me dark father, I have sinned, I've done it before and I'll do it again"). His laid back yet dark lyrical style is present throughout, and the vocal melodies are fairly low pitched compared to their usual offerings, but incredibly catchy. The guitar starts off clean for the intro, and then the (relatively simple) drums and bass come in. There's something about this song that I really like, and I can't place what it is, but it is my opinion one of Alkaline Trio's best songs, especially the build up of "whispering sweet nothings" towards the end.

"Standard Break From Life" is sung by Dan and, although a great song, it seems a bit too happy, and Alkaline Trio are much better in their usual dark, bleak mood. Nevertheless, this is a really catchy song, the instrumental parts are marginally better than those in "Hell Yes" and the song as a whole is a bit of a grower after repeated listens.

Overall, this is a really good E.P. but probably not worth searching too hard for. I'd recommend finding the version of FHTI which contains these songs, as they are added at the end of the album in reverse order to what they appear on here, and "Hell Yes" is a much better closing song than "Crawl" ever was.

Final Rating ---> 4/5



Recent reviews by this author
Matthew Reynolds Come PouringNorth Lincoln Midwestern Blood
Mike Hale Lives Like MineStereotyperider Songs in the Keys of F and U
In the Red Volume 2Chris Wollard and the Ship Thieves Chris Wollard and the Ship Thieves
user ratings (46)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
spoon_of_grimbo
November 26th 2005


2241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

any feedback would be good... anyone?.....

Rudd13
November 26th 2005


952 Comments


Well, the actual review was well-written and it gets my vote but I look down upon E.P reviews. As theyre pretty difficult to find, and most of them consist of 2 or 3 songs at the minimum, you're better off just reviewing the whole album thses songs are on. Well, done though.

EDIT- I'm not the one that negged it, by the way. :smoke:This Message Edited On 11.26.05

Chilly-Bean-Bop
November 26th 2005


344 Comments


I've heard that "Hell Yes" is a great song.

And, you're doing a good job with all these Alkaline Trio reviews! I think that Alk3 is the best band ever. This Message Edited On 11.26.05

vitriolboy
November 26th 2005


82 Comments


I wouldnt go as far as best band ever , but i have to admitt they are rather good.
Nice review.
Oh, and i didnt neg it either.

Chilly-Bean-Bop
November 26th 2005


344 Comments


That's just my opinion. And I will always stand by what I said.

spoon_of_grimbo
November 27th 2005


2241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks guys, these are the best comments i've ever got from one of my reviews!!!

btw chillbee, i saw the trio live earlier this week and that's what made me wanna do all the reviews, cuz they were simply amazing live!

Chilly-Bean-Bop
November 27th 2005


344 Comments


*scoffs* Lucky! Where'd you see them?

spoon_of_grimbo
November 28th 2005


2241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

University Of East Anglia in Norwich, nice small venue, but the crowd seemed pretty unimpressed, i get the feeling that most were students who'd gone along for the hell of it without knowing of the Trio. Still it was a good night, and Mike Park's acoustic support set was also rly gud.

U rly gotta see them live if u get the chance, they're brilliant, and unlike a lot of bands, they have no problems with playing their older stuff (apart from Stupid Kid, apparently Matt hates playing it, which is surprising, since they played it when I saw them at Leeds Festival this year...). The only way it could have been any better would have been if they'd played Warbrain or Jaked On Green Beers (b-sides or something I think, but great songs).

Chilly-Bean-Bop
November 28th 2005


344 Comments


Yeah, I've seen em live, but that was in July, and of course, they were playing most of their stuff from Crimson. They only played 2 songs from FHTI, 1 or 2 from MICF, and hardly any from GM. I was pretty dissapointed at the setlist, but they were great.

faintly falling ashes
December 7th 2005


24 Comments


i saw the trio in june in milwaukee.. they played a long-a** set, involving everything from clavicle to smoke i do believe. it was THE BEST concert i have attended. i also saw them in september with MCR, which sucked because i don't like what MCR has become, and the fact the trio was a supporting band. the set was shorter, but still made for a highlight of my late summer/early fall! since matt had that vocal surgery, his voice is just incredible. but for some reason, i tend to like a lot of Dan's songs over Matt's. Crimson, although a phenomonal record, was sort of a weaker Dan album. Matt definately pulled the weight on that one.This Message Edited On 12.06.05

Chilly-Bean-Bop
December 9th 2005


344 Comments


Dan's voice is sexy.

Period.

since matt had that vocal surgery


When did that happen?This Message Edited On 12.09.05

faintly falling ashes
December 10th 2005


24 Comments


haha.. all i can say is sometime between good mourning and the recording of crimson. i dont know the exact date, sorry. i'm pretty sure it was a bit before he broke his arm skating though.

spoon_of_grimbo
December 10th 2005


2241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i never knew he had vocal surgery!!! either way, its done him good, cuz he can still blow away most other singers, and its not changed his voice like surgery sometimes can. i can't understand how his voice got that bad in the first place; with the exception of the last bit of "armageddon" and a coupla others, Trio songs are fairly easy on the vocal cords (i know, iv sung a few live before).

Chilly-Bean-Bop
December 10th 2005


344 Comments


Its from so much drinking and smoking that his voice got so terrible.

spoon_of_grimbo
December 10th 2005


2241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

course, how could i not have thought of that, considering some of his lyrics!? however, i thought his fucked up voice sounded great on good mourning, especially blue in the face, it really added emotion to it.

Chilly-Bean-Bop
December 10th 2005


344 Comments


Yeah. It definetely adds to the song. As for the other ones, mehh.

But, I did hear his voice on the Crimson Deluxe Edition, and its fantastic.

spoon_of_grimbo
July 13th 2006


2241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

speaking of crimson deluxe edition, i did a massive review of that, where i reviewed the album itself, in depth, track by track, with an overview, and then proceeded to write a few detailed paragraphs about the bonus disc of demos, how they were different from the final versions, the quality of the live acoustic tracks, and what i thought was missing. it was huge, and i got more than a few positive comments on it.

so how pissed off was i when it got deleted without warning (i hadn't backed it up, *stupid*), and then i recieved no reason as to why when i emailed a mod (can't remember which, think it was med57). if anyone reading this is a mod, or knows more about how the site works, could you please have the review in question reinstated, or at least email it to me so i can put it to use on another site/publication?

spoon_of_grimbo
September 30th 2006


2241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

looks like these two songs are gonna be on the new b-sides comp "remains" so anyone who can't find the vinyl or the UK version on FHTI with these two on it, will be able to experience the excellentness of it!!!

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2010


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I thought this was a stand-alone single more than an EP, but anyway… Both tracks are very good. They sort of were the first signs of the more accessible songs Alk3 would deliver down the track. The chorus of ‘Hell Yes’ – which is very good anyway – really suggests it is going to take off more than it does.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy