Taking Back Sunday Taking Back Sunday
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Electric City
Staff Reviewer
June 22nd 2011



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I couldn't read your review because of all your grammatical errors.


aw cmonnnnnnnnnn

Digging: A Sunny Day In Glasgow - Sea When Absent

RosaParks
June 22nd 2011



14592 Comments


chan's opinions>downer's opinions

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
June 22nd 2011



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

if chan can somehow write a convincing 5 star review for this i will be stunned

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
June 22nd 2011



17920 Comments


why is everyone talking about me

and this review has good ideas but your execution is kinda heavy-handed, like you try to cram way too many words into one sentence. i know that's like your thing but you should try to write a review with spare prose sometime.

i also get the feeling sometimes that the writing is sort of forced, like you're writing what you're writing because you know that's what someone should write in that situation. it's how i feel about every robertsona review. it's like he's unconsciously emulating every other critic ever in one review. you are much more original than he is but still. like for example in your wu lyf review you had that part about bruce springsteen and i don't think you've truly ever delved into bruce springsteen's music. maybe you have i guess. it's possible i'm talking out my ass. like i said the review has good ideas and overall i enjoyed it so maybe that's all that matters.

RosaParks
June 22nd 2011



14592 Comments


chan! < 3

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
June 22nd 2011



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

that bruce springsteen thing was just a comment on something i'd noticed in a lot of titus andronicus/gaslight anthem reviews. ive never really listened to the boss myself.

and yeah the sentences here are super wordy, its just sort of the rhythm i got into (as it usually is)

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
June 22nd 2011



17920 Comments


right and that's the idea i got from the review but still it seemed weird coming from you and thus i realized you wrote it because it was the "right thing" to write in that sentence.

i have nothing bad to say about what you write per se but more just the general feeling i get from it. it's opinion obviously, so i'm not saying you're doing anything wrong and i hope you don't take it that way

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
June 22nd 2011



14982 Comments


channing freeman, player hater

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
June 22nd 2011



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

nah i get you. thats interesting chan, ill keep it in mind.

you heard the album yet?

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
June 22nd 2011



17920 Comments


no i was excited for it but now i can't really bring myself to care

so TAKE THAT FAGGOTS

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
June 22nd 2011



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

i shoulda guessed

astrel
June 22nd 2011



2614 Comments


There's no "I" team

WhiteTieBlackJacket
June 22nd 2011



784 Comments


I respectfully disagree with this review. It was written well but I just can't agree with some of your points. For instance, I don’t agree that TBS are just 30 year olds acting like perpetual high-schoolers. Some artists are capable of retaining a sense of reckless abandon youthfulness despite their age, and they do it without pandering to a young audience and without undermining that audience’s intelligence. It brings 30 Seconds to Mars to mind. There we have a band who thinks that commenting on war and politics and claiming to be of some high order “echelon,” and its so blatantly obvious that they are appealing to loser teenagers who want to cry and hold hands over today’s misfortune.

People are going to say this is gay but Taking Back Sunday are like Calvin Klein. Simple but classic. Definitely made by some aged artist but perfectly suited for the youth.

PistolPete
June 22nd 2011



3555 Comments


I'm glad you didn't bring up brand new here to compare, the band is so far beyond these guys by now it's not even worth it. Everybody I know can't bring these guys up without talking about brand new.

Digging: Nothing More - Nothing More

fromtheinside
June 22nd 2011



17647 Comments


and here I was thinking this would be a 5

Digging: Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails

theacademy
June 22nd 2011



28221 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

i also get the feeling sometimes that the writing is sort of forced, like you're writing what you're writing because you know that's what someone should write in that situation. it's how i feel about every robertsona review.



pfsh, win.

outline
June 22nd 2011



563 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Wow, "You Got Me" is putrid.

Also, El Paso is worth comparing to Brand New, but that's it. El Paso is like Brand New + Janes Addiction + Suck

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
June 22nd 2011



9033 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

What are you talking about? El Paso is one of the best songs on here.
I would like to see Chan's opinion on this subject because I feel one could go either way on this album.

outline
June 23rd 2011



563 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"What are you talking about? El Paso is one of the best songs on here."

It's too out of place and derivative of Daisy (don't pretend it isn't, there are guitar effects directly ripped from it), and the singing at the beginning is cringe-worthy.

Also, one of the best songs on here isn't saying that much at all.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2011



15727 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

i wish i had thrown in a jesse lacey sloppy seconds joke like id originally planned



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy