August Burns Red Leveler
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ssssssss
June 21st 2011



683 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I agree with hotshot. I like them the way they are. Pangaea is def my fav song.

XplaugeX
June 21st 2011



185 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Good review, and I agree that they can only keep this sound for so long before it will get old. BUT... that being said, I'm not tired of it just yet and I love this album. 40 Nights has gotta be my new favorite song by these guys, in fact a lot of the songs on the last half of this album are really good.

sspedding
June 21st 2011



4751 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

40 Nights blows my mind.

djunior
June 21st 2011



703 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

just listened to it for the first time, and im not nearly as impressed as I was with Constellations. pretty bleak, but ill give it a couple more plays to make sure.

lol5

Digging: FKA twigs - LP1

sspedding
June 21st 2011



4751 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

it aint as good as Constellations, not by a long shot.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2011



17197 Comments


i never said they have to reinvent the wheel with every album, but putting out what is basically the same album 4 times in a row isn't helping them.

fromtheinside
June 21st 2011



17714 Comments


good God, thank you for this review. I cannot find much beyond Salt and Light to praise.

Digging: Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails

saucy
June 21st 2011



342 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well sorry if you can't make the connection that it's all a problem of stale ideas.

read this part again;
Except it may break very, very soon.

cvlts
June 21st 2011



8954 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

fti bringing some goddamn sense to this thread.

charlie15
June 21st 2011



132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I listen to a fair share of hardcore, metal core and post hardcore, with a few exceptions along those lines. Within the
metalcore genre, the band excel with each release, regardless of how similar preceding albums may be to this - it's still
excellent.

Great review, however, I don't agree with the rating. I can understand where you're coming from though.

mast3rshake16
June 21st 2011



109 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

For all you people who say you like them the way they are why not just listen to their old albums then? Because aside from the salsa interlude they have done almost everything before, and theyve done it BETTER in the past... Back burner, compusure, up against the ropes, speech impediment, barbarian, white washed, escape artist, indonesia etc etc are all better IMO than any song on this new album...

Im all for their sound but this release sounds lazy, they havent really improved to what I was hoping for... Not that I wont listen to this when I work out (im about to right now), but I wont be going to tell my friends that they have to listen to this

hotshotvegetarian
June 21st 2011



129 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I can understand the criticism to a degree, but I think every album should be judged on its own merit, not on previous releases or the oversaturation of the genre as a whole. If you've you heard a lot of metalcore, it makes sense to grow tired of the same formula being rehashed, but I don't think it makes more recent releases any worse than the older ones just because you are bored of it.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2011



17197 Comments


i wasnt talking to you saucy it was the dude above you.

TomAkaVeto
June 21st 2011



1596 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, at least they're consistent, but that is also becoming their problem. They're too consistent and there isn't as much here that stands out as what stood out on Constellations. Constellations had this little nuances that made me love it. This is extremely solid, but it doesn't have anything that grabs me in the ways Constellations did.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
June 21st 2011



7140 Comments


I can understand the criticism to a degree, but I think every album should be judged on its own merit

Shouldn't a band at least be judged against itself?

hotshotvegetarian
June 21st 2011



129 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I DO think a band should be a judged against itself on some level, but criticism should be for when bands get worse, not stay the same. Regarding the "it's basically the same as constellations, boooring" comments: I get more bored listening to the same album over and over than listening to two similar albums. I'm perfectly happy to get Constellations: part 2.

Just speaking my mind though, if you're tired of it no one can blame you (I wasn't enthused with the recent Arch Enemy or In Flames releases myself)

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 21st 2011



49788 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Their albums have too much filler.


Digging: Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) - You Will Eventually Be Forgotten

hotshotvegetarian
June 21st 2011



129 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

People giving this 1s is kind of absurd.

fromtheinside
June 21st 2011



17714 Comments


since when did people start accepting complacency as a step forward since its not necessairly leading backward?

hotshotvegetarian
June 21st 2011



129 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Complacency: I do not think it means what you think it means. And who says they can only step forwards or backwards, why can't they stand where they are?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy