Evanescence Origin
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
June 17th 2011


7127 Comments


Good one mate. Been over these guys a long time. Great review.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
June 17th 2011


7320 Comments


Review is a bit too conversational. Too much use of the personal pronoun; so much so that it takes
away from the strength of the review and makes this feel like a mere blogpost. Aside from that review
is solid.

Acanthus
June 17th 2011


9545 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hmm any pointers on how to stay away from that Irving? I wanted the personal touch in the opening paragraph but I wasn't wanting it to carry through the entire review.

And thanks Ipod, I'm trying to have definite steps forward with each review.

Digging: MO - No Mythologies To Follow

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
June 17th 2011


7127 Comments


I'm happy to read each one. As for being too personal in the review. Its kinda going to have to carry throughout otherwise that initial paragraph will feel awkward.

Acanthus
June 17th 2011


9545 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

True, I've got some other albums I plan on reviewing so I'll see if I can't incorporate Irving's advice into those.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
June 18th 2011


7127 Comments


Yeah, he's kinda helpful that way.

CarterVance
June 19th 2011


37 Comments


Good review!

Acanthus
June 20th 2011


9545 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks CarterVance, I was surprised at how good this album was.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2011


7127 Comments


What's next on the writing block?

Asiatic667
June 20th 2011


4648 Comments


i think i'm going to listen to Fallen again for the first time in about five years

Acanthus
June 20th 2011


9545 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I actually am right there with you Asiatic, even if it's only for a day I or two.

Ipod I'm not sure yet, got to see how work goes and what sticks in my head a bit more.

renovatio786
August 15th 2011


31 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I see I'm not the only one with this opinion of Evanescence's pre-Fallen years. Lies would be their best heavy song hands down with Fields of Innocence being their best soft song hands down. The symphonic elements don't actually sound like an afterthought on Fields of Innocence and Lies is, and I can't believe I'm going to say this, freaking epic. Unlike Fallen, pretty much every song here is memorable in some way.

Acanthus
August 15th 2011


9545 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can agree with that, I was quite shocked when I first heard this; I could not figure out why this didn't receive more acclaim.

TomorrowIsTuesday
February 27th 2013


548 Comments


these guys are actually really good band when you think about it

Acanthus
February 27th 2013


9545 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I still enjoy them at the very least.

Toondude10
October 24th 2013


4435 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

So much nostalgia here. I remember hearing Lies somewhere before but I can't remember. Fallen will always be their best.

Digging: Periphery - Periphery II: This Time It's Personal

ChoccyPhilly
June 4th 2014


8189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Completely agree about the summary of this. Whilst they get a lot of slack, this is pretty damn good especially Eternal

Digging: Ben Frost - A U R O R A

Toondude10
June 4th 2014


4435 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I still like Fallen better but this is a close second.

ChoccyPhilly
June 4th 2014


8189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fallen is frustratingly inconsistent

Toondude10
June 4th 2014


4435 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I felt it was pretty consistent. Though not all of the tracks are keepers. My Last Breath...ugh.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy