In Flames Sounds of a Playground Fading
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DiceMan
June 16th 2011



7068 Comments


what a dreadful album cover

opblaaskonijn
June 16th 2011



323 Comments


It's better than the music.

Some guitarparts were ok, but there's too much of the generic riffage, awful drums and aids-giving vocals.

liveinflames
June 16th 2011



9 Comments


Lol @ "this is not like the jester race it sux :/" guys. Hello, it's 2011, the band started changing direction about 10 years ago, wake up.

This is better than A Sense of Purpose, Soundtrack to your Escape and Reroute to Remain.

Wizard
June 16th 2011



19304 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Loved the review Willie. I think I grew out of In Flames a while back unfortunately. This just left a stale taste in my mouth.

Digging: Downer - Downer

liveinflames
June 16th 2011



9 Comments


well if you look at first page you can see people quoting lyrics from Moonshield, which was 16 damn years ago. If you give it a shot with an open mind and still don't like it, fine, it's your opinion, but crying about "those good ol' days" is just laughable. I love the old stuff but I accepted the fact that the band is never gonna be that old melodic death metal band long time ago. This album is no masterpiece but some songs ARE pretty good and enjoyable for me.

liveinflames
June 16th 2011



9 Comments


If you ask me there are some pretty good melodies in songs like Fear is the Weakness, A New Dawn, Where the Dead Ships Dwell, title song. Also some memorable choruses, which in their music today plays a big role. Vocals DO bring the overall quality down though.

Anyway, everyone's got their opinion.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
June 16th 2011



16299 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

There are good melodies here the problem is that they never take advantage of them (the only time they come close is "A New Dawn").

Digging: Ulver - Bergtatt

Yazz_Flute
June 16th 2011



18769 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm enjoying this way more than I expected.

Digging: The Smashing Pumpkins - Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness

Wizard
June 16th 2011



19304 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

well if you look at first page you can see people quoting lyrics from Moonshield, which was 16 damn years ago. If you give it a shot with an open mind and still don't like it, fine, it's your opinion, but crying about "those good ol' days" is just laughable.

Or you just move onto another band that sufficiently plays their old style.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
June 16th 2011



16299 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I think the best tracks are "The Attic" and "A New Dawn", the latter especially is far and away the best song here and probably the best IF song in years.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
June 16th 2011



16134 Comments


Trey, your summary really is this album in a nutshell. The music is surprisingly better than it has been in a while, but Anders' vocals are weaker than ever.

And damn, that American Apparel lace ad is tops.

Yazz_Flute
June 16th 2011



18769 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah seriously, A New Dawn is probably their best song since Only For the Weak. Too many filler tracks that do nothing for the album though, would have been better with 15 minutes shaved off.

Immortallix
June 16th 2011



52 Comments


Never listened to the band, but i think a band going on without its original members is like stealing someone else's baby.

Poet
June 16th 2011



5921 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So am I the only person who loves Liberation?

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 16th 2011



49967 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Bjorn and Anders are almost original members.

Digging: Armchairpolitician - Seven Segment Decoder

Snausages
June 16th 2011



17 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah, the guitarist for Whoracle left, and Bjorn took his place. Their newest guitarist originally wanted the position, but Bjorn was so eager to become a guitarist he just let him. He's already played with them on some tours, so he's most likely well-acquainted with them.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
June 16th 2011



49967 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Bjorn is a was a pretty good drummer.

Snausages
June 16th 2011



17 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, even though he didn't/doesn't have as much technical skill as Daniel, he was good enough.

Yazz_Flute
June 16th 2011



18769 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not sure how I feel about Liberation yet. My favorites are the title track, The Puzzle, Where the Dead Ships Dwell (even if the song name is awful) and A New Dawn. The Attic is really cool too actually.

KatieKnight
June 16th 2011



129 Comments


I'll have to look into this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy