Steve Hackett Spectral Mornings
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
June 16th 2011


20693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

http://www.twronline.net/images/issues/twr70_pics/twr70_old_boys_reunion_london_2004.jpg

The man on the far left in this picture is definitely the Peter Hicks I'm talking about.

Digging: Townes Van Zandt - Townes Van Zandt

Jethro42
June 16th 2011


12440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I will let you know when I next see him,

Yeah, please do. I guess the 1st question that will come to your mind is gonna be 'May I have your autograph, teacher?'' hahaha.

Jethro42
June 16th 2011


12440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

omg, it's officially THE Peter Hicks we were looking for!!!
ZANG
Call him Sir, no Peter anymore haha

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
June 16th 2011


20693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha yes I will.

Tyrael
June 17th 2011


20879 Comments


mind = blown
Have a well-deserved pos.

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 17th 2011


6114 Comments


excellently written, have a huge pos.

i don't own anything from Genesis and their projects.

Some day i should change that.

Digging: Disasterhate - Sacrifice To Eclipse

Jethro42
June 17th 2011


12440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks a bunch, Tyrael and Voivod. If I were you Voivod, I'd probably start with Nursery Cryme, the third one of the enclosed list. My fav songs show up as well.
http://www.sputnikmusic.com/list.php?memberid=280733&listid=68195

greg84
Staff Reviewer
July 8th 2011


7391 Comments


Ha. I missed that. Have an instant pos.

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

KILL
July 8th 2011


71795 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

rules!

Jethro42
July 9th 2011


12440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes it does! thank you guys. Here's the maestro performing his famous Firth of Fifth' solo recorded in 1996 with some of his fellow touring musicians -
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xW_7YyKawbw

KILL
February 6th 2012


71795 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

so hard so fucking HARD

Jethro42
February 6th 2012


12440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Essential P/

Nagrarok
February 6th 2012


8247 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That brilliant piece of guitar is both a Genesis highlight and a reminder of how sadly underused Hackett was during their classic years; how their sound could have profited. He was wise to continue progging on his own accord.

Jethro42
February 6th 2012


12440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^I couldn't have put it better. I'd only add that Tony Banks is involved for something in the Hackett under-used thing since both have never been friends. I think that Banks never got over former guitarist Anthony Phillips departure, back in the day.

Nagrarok
February 6th 2012


8247 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

When you put five highly skilled musicians in one band, a clash of the egos is inevitable. I can hardly claim to know the man, but Hackett doesn't seem like the most dominant character in the group to me. As marvellous as those keys can be, Banks taking too much of the forefront is exactly the point. I love Genesis, but with a little less keys, little more guitar, I think they could have been even better.

Jethro42
February 6th 2012


12440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You strike again mate, they sure could have been better. However the Banks keys being prominent is not as such a bad thing cos it's kinda their trademark and it categorically defines the classic symphonic progressive rock sound that they were meant for. What irritates me is the impression that Hackett have always tried hard to interplay and highlight Banks soaring keys, but on the other hand, I feel that Banks never seemed to care in reciprocating. So yes, like it or not, Hackett is a prominent figure when it comes to the songwriting. His actual solo career just amply proves it.

Nagrarok
February 7th 2012


8247 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

However the Banks keys being prominent is not as such a bad thing cos it's kinda their trademark and it categorically defines the classic symphonic progressive rock sound that they were meant for. What irritates me is the impression that Hackett have always tried hard to interplay and highlight Banks soaring keys, but on the other hand, I feel that Banks never seemed to care in reciprocating.


Of course, Genesis were one of the biggest keyboard-centered prog groups after all. I wouldn't actually like to hear Banks' playing less, but I would like to hear Hackett's more. Your knowledge on the band is proven once again, interplay between keys and guitar is exactly the thing that's perhaps 'missing' in their sound.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2012


20693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That brilliant piece of guitar is both a Genesis highlight and a reminder of how sadly underused Hackett was during their classic years; how their sound could have profited. He was wise to continue progging on his own accord.


Agreed. Hackett is probably my favourite prog guitarist and I would have liked his playing to have been a bit more prominent in Genesis' sound.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 8th 2012


20693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The guitar solo in Every Day is so damn good.

Jethro42
February 8th 2012


12440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The best in the west P/



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy