The Dear Hunter The Color Spectrum (Complete Collection)
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Oceanus
June 17th 2011


877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is pretty damn good, yeah. The only one that I have trouble getting into is Blue. It has some pretty great moments but most of those songs seem to drag until those moments arrive, especially in the melodies Casey chose. Maybe that one's a grower.

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
June 17th 2011


7026 Comments


On first listen I much prefer the second half of this collection (Blue to White) over the first half (Black to Green). That might just be because I prefer the genres they explore in the second half rather than the songwriting being stronger.

Digging: Perfume Genius - Too Bright

Waior
June 17th 2011


11452 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Casey's voice is incredibly versatile and his range and power is enormous but I do understand how he can be whiny. I've always liked his voice more in his lower register/softer tone and there's a LOT of that here in some of the colours. Especially in Blue and White, where he sounds incredible.

There's also the song 'Look Away' on Violet that is possibly one of his best performances yet. Very impressive. While 'We've Got a Score to Settle' really irritates me with his vocals because they're so grating (compare 'Life and Death' on Act III to 'Poison Woman').

I mean, there was never any question if he has talent - he's by far one of the most talented vocalists I've heard in modern music. His versatility, however, does lend him to unsavoury, acquired-taste kind of tone in some songs.

Fapper
June 17th 2011


649 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

^ Not to mention, he sounds just as good in live performances. I find it important that he can produce the same versatility in person as he can digitally. And he most definitely can.

Zo0lz
June 17th 2011


107 Comments


This record seems interesting...where can I find this?

G3N3R1C
June 17th 2011


1945 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

on the internet.

Oceanus
June 17th 2011


877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

His vocals have come such a long way. I'm impressed that he uses different vocal tones like he does on this album. Parts of Look Away sound downright jazzy. The harmonies this time around are much more thoughtful than The Dear Hunter's classic "gang vocals" approach, and it's awesome.

Comparing his voice now to Between the Heart and the Synapse just blows my mind--he's got so much more control and power behind it now.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
June 17th 2011


16150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

im wondering how long this 4.7 will hold

Digging: Alt-J - This Is All Yours

Winsomniac
June 17th 2011


7973 Comments


Agreed, Sowing.



We should start a betting pool.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
June 17th 2011


16150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

im betting it settles at a 4.2

Winsomniac
June 17th 2011


7973 Comments


I'll have to listen first.




Can't be betting my sputnik credibility on an album I haven't heard.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
June 17th 2011


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

listenin to this shit now

Oceanus
June 17th 2011


877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Actually, what I said about the Blue EP only really holds true for the first two songs.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
June 17th 2011


16150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

blue is one of my least favorite eps

so far it goes something like

yellow
violet
black
red
indigo
green
orange
white
blue

Oceanus
June 17th 2011


877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can't be bothered to rank them, at least not yet. What I will say is that I can't get enough of Indigo

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
June 17th 2011


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

andy hull's vocals on red are so great

Winsomniac
June 17th 2011


7973 Comments


Google has failed me for a working link of all of this.



Please help.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
June 17th 2011


16150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

itunes 35 bucks

Lakes.
June 17th 2011


27978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i ain't got no money

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
June 17th 2011


16150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

glad i could help



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy