The Dear Hunter The Color Spectrum (Complete Collection)
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Philalethes
June 16th 2011



245 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"good review but i know i don't have the attention span for this album atm"

thats funny because Casey said recently on his website, that one of his motivations for making a 2+ hour collection of music was to show that people do have attention spans still now days. He thought that record companies try too hard to tailor releases to people without attention spans, and wanted to make something that would require people to sit down with their headphones, and zone out for a couple hours.

RCKilm
June 16th 2011



232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

depends on the genre but yeah.

never heard of these guys.

Philalethes
June 16th 2011



245 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Your second paragraph sounds very conflicted with the rest of the review. On the one hand you are trying to say how great this collection is, and at the same time try to argue how it seems fail to fully realize its conceptual goal.

I don't think the concept of this album was going much deeper than allowing for each color to represent a certain sentiment musically. The band was then able to show how many influences they have by composing music from different genres for each ep that reflect these sentiments. I think it is easy to hear these distinctions in style, from ep to ep. A yellow song sounds very different from a black song, as does each of the other ep's. The two that sound the closest in style are red and orange. I think that is a nice detail, considering how orange is a secondary color of red anyways.

RevengeSoldier
June 16th 2011



295 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This album is fucking incredible. Never cared much for The Dear Hunter before, but they have more than won me over on this one.

Tyrael
June 16th 2011



20825 Comments


It is difficult to find flaws damning enough to consider this anything other than one of 2011’s
best reviews on sputnik.

Pos.

G3N3R1C
June 16th 2011



1945 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So far i wouldn't disagree with a 4 or 4.5 for this. Certain EPs (White, and maybe Yellow) clearly are below the quality of some of the other EPs on here (Indigo, Violet, and Black), but at worst, none of them are below being just "good". And the positive aspects of this completely overshadow the few negative aspects.

I'm enjoying the hell out of this and will definitely be checking out their other stuff after i'm done letting this whole thing sink in.

Phideaux
June 16th 2011



1654 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"the way that “Red” illustrates passion through blistering riffs and the inclusion of Andy Hull (of Manchester Orchestra) on guest vocals;"

I didn't know Andy sang on this. Ha ha. I remember thinking "why does he sound so much like the guy from Manchester here"

Thanntos
June 16th 2011



318 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good god, 4.7/5 with 45 votes. Best new music, wru?

Digging: Prawn - Kingfisher

Phideaux
June 16th 2011



1654 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Second best new music.

Rashandarei
June 16th 2011



19 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Philalethes is right, the concept wasn't really to represent each color.

"This project may have a name for its inspiration, but that is all that it really is. ...the real concept here is raw creativity. I know there will be people who hear songs and say "well this definitely isn't 'yellow'," and the idea that this would spawn conversation is amazing, but at the end of the day, the concept here is just giving a name to inspiration."

http://www.tdhcolors.com/blog/article/finished-up-red

HBFS
June 16th 2011



1243 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

“Violet” in particular sees The Deer Hunter return to their element

Dear

Digging: Banks - Goddess

G3N3R1C
June 16th 2011



1945 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

have a feeling Blue is gonna be a huge grower for me. gettin some post-rocky vibes off that one.

DoubtGin
June 16th 2011



6749 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol rating

RosaParks
June 16th 2011



14839 Comments


Finally listening to this now. Being blown away. Black was amazing. Red rules hard. On the fourth song of red. This band is fucking amazing.

DoubtGin
June 16th 2011



6749 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like Black and Orange the most so far

cfbassist
June 16th 2011



330 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

very good review,i don't know if i agree with your statements about which EP's are the weakest, but that doesnt take away from your points at all.

this could be anywhere from a 3.5 to a 5 for me depending on well it sticks

RosaParks
June 16th 2011



14839 Comments


"A Sea Of Solid Earth" saved Orange from being dull. Best song so far.

DoubtGin
June 16th 2011



6749 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

last two EPs/colors aren't as good, but this is a quality collection overall

Phideaux
June 16th 2011



1654 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

nice feature, bro.

cvlts
June 16th 2011



8954 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah definitely tied for AOTY (or whatever).



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy