The Dear Hunter The Color Spectrum (Complete Collection)
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Moderator
June 15th 2011


21282 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I can certainly understand rating it above a 4, I could see myself doing that in the future. Right now that's all I can give it though (which is still excellent, needless to say)

Oceanus
June 16th 2011


880 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Honestly, Klapper, there are bound to be at least some songs on here you'll enjoy. The Indigo EP sounds like someone had been listening to some radiohead or bjork, while the Green reminds me of Good Old War at times. The Red EP rocks pretty hard with Manchester Orchestra, and the White reminds me if Thrice's Air was a bit more uplifting and energetic.

Ire
June 16th 2011


41948 Comments


saw this band open for coheed. they were cool. i met the keyboardist and he was eating an ice cream cone talking about the amory wars story line.

wasn't that a nice story?

foreverendeared
June 16th 2011


14678 Comments


that was very lovely

Ire
June 16th 2011


41948 Comments


i bought a t shirt

psykonaut
June 16th 2011


3913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

neat

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
June 16th 2011


32190 Comments


Are the individual ep's getting separate releases/have they already been released? I ask because someones gotten pretty ambitious with The Dear Hunter's artist page here

Ire
June 16th 2011


41948 Comments


^lol

it says "coheed and cambria"

HBFS
June 16th 2011


1325 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like that they are there both as a whole and as separate ep's. As a compilation, this rules.

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 16th 2011


21282 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah I like that they are separate EPs too (although I don't care if that is represented on Sputnik with 9 different EPs)



I rarely have time to listen to 36 songs at once, so im sure i will end up going with a random EP a lot in the future, which will still rule partially because they all work on their own and partially because in the back of my mind i know there is more to it

MassiveAttack
June 16th 2011


2754 Comments


I did a review of this for their Color Spectrum album (not the extensive collection as reviewed here)., I must say it was very well done and like the concept suggests the instrumental aspects match the nature of the colors. It reminded me of the Thrice's Alchemy Indexes. A well written review Sowing : )

Staker
June 16th 2011


32 Comments


It does look kinda stupid on the artist page, but it is true that you can get them individually.

Waior
June 16th 2011


11601 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'll review the EPs individually sometime so I'd like the pages to stay around.





Deathcar
June 16th 2011


1534 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sounds like this is worth checking out.

SharkEthic
June 16th 2011


585 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

4.7 average? Let's not get carried away here.



After my first listen, it's a 3 - 3.5 at most. Good job on the review though, very well written.

RagingStorm
June 16th 2011


509 Comments


holy average rating

RagingStorm
June 16th 2011


509 Comments


also nice review, i'll probably get around to checking this out at some point

Philalethes
June 16th 2011


245 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"good review but i know i don't have the attention span for this album atm"



thats funny because Casey said recently on his website, that one of his motivations for making a 2+ hour collection of music was to show that people do have attention spans still now days. He thought that record companies try too hard to tailor releases to people without attention spans, and wanted to make something that would require people to sit down with their headphones, and zone out for a couple hours.

RCKilm
June 16th 2011


232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

depends on the genre but yeah.



never heard of these guys.

Philalethes
June 16th 2011


245 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Your second paragraph sounds very conflicted with the rest of the review. On the one hand you are trying to say how great this collection is, and at the same time try to argue how it seems fail to fully realize its conceptual goal.



I don't think the concept of this album was going much deeper than allowing for each color to represent a certain sentiment musically. The band was then able to show how many influences they have by composing music from different genres for each ep that reflect these sentiments. I think it is easy to hear these distinctions in style, from ep to ep. A yellow song sounds very different from a black song, as does each of the other ep's. The two that sound the closest in style are red and orange. I think that is a nice detail, considering how orange is a secondary color of red anyways.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy