Death Cab for Cutie Codes and Keys
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
luschlotz
July 16th 2011


993 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I liked this a lot, its a fun album, I dont skip tracks and I feel like hearing it again

Klichty
July 24th 2011


42 Comments


well written summary + i concur

AltPunkMetal
July 27th 2011


17 Comments


I really enjoyed this album, but it's no Transactlanticism.

Monheim
September 8th 2011


250 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

So does anyone else love Stay Young, Go Dancing as much as I do? I think it's my fav song off the album, sappiness and all.

toxin.
September 28th 2011


12615 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This is boring. I don't like the synth-y sound and it doesn't have that same draw of their older stuff

Knott-
Emeritus
September 28th 2011


10198 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Stay Young, Go Dancing is my favourite song on this record.

Lakes.
September 28th 2011


28400 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

you are a tourist and monday morning are best imo

Digging: Scott Walker and Sunn O))) - Soused

Eko
September 29th 2011


2119 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

stop dropping your rating lakes

Irving
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2011


7311 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Perhaps the cover art is more candid than symbolic: Death Cab have literally phoned in this entire album.

This line is amazing. That entire comment was worth ten pos votes.

toxin.
September 30th 2011


12615 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"Ben, please divorce your wife"
Yes, yes, yes! Please make Zooey Deschanel single again !

Lakes.
September 30th 2011


28400 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

As if you will ever get her

toxin.
September 30th 2011


12615 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Whatever man. That's not even relevant.

Lakes.
September 30th 2011


28400 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Just as long as it's not Ben Gibbard so he'll start making good music again, amirite?

toxin.
September 30th 2011


12615 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yep, pretty much.

patrickfannon
October 1st 2011


886 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

This album is just as bad as I thought it was when I let it alone two months ago; perhaps worse, as it is actually getting on my nerves now. I'm listening to "Doors Unlocked and Open" and the song is just so, I don't know, fucking annoying. Everything is so washed out and sappy. I've always loved the pop sensibilities of Death Cab, but this stuff is saccharine. Holden Caulfield would ralph his guts up at this goddamn phoniness.

Lakes.
October 1st 2011


28400 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

As much as I am in agreeance with you, you're also the guy who gave Here Comes the Indian a 1 so your opinion means nothing to me.

patrickfannon
October 1st 2011


886 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I don't get that record at all, nor do I care about your evaluation of my opinion.

toxin.
October 1st 2011


12615 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

My problem with this album is its lack of any redeeming value. Death Cab's never really been musically that interesting, so to speak, but there was always something endearing about Ben's lyricism and the complementary instrumentation that made them so good. That's all missing here.

patrickfannon
October 1st 2011


886 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I disagree about Death Cab never having been "musically that interesting," as I think Transatlantacism and Narrow Stairs are both fantastic, intricately arranged and nearly flawlessly executed indie rock albums. "Title and Registration" has one of the most unique, catchy guitar lines I've ever heard in a pop song, and "Long Division" really speaks to me melodically. I agree, in abundance, however, that this record is beyond mundane; all traces of intimacy, melancholy, and empathy are conspicuously absent. I really hope "You Can Do Better Than Me" was just a song title, not a prediction, and I sincerely hope Death Cab learn from this gaffe and come back stronger for it.

toxin.
October 1st 2011


12615 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah I knew that'd cause people to disagree but for me Death Cab's selling point to me has always been how easily it is to wrap yourself in his stories. Either way that's missing from this album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy