Death Cab for Cutie Codes and Keys
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
sniper
June 3rd 2011



19048 Comments


actually this review is simply really good.

Acanthus
June 3rd 2011



9537 Comments


Sweet review, I'm glad I steered clear of this however; they've always been a mood specific band for me.

toxin.
June 3rd 2011



12313 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Is there anything on this leaning towards guitar-based pop (think: I Will Follow You Into the Dark) or towards piano-based ballads (like What Sarah Said)?
I think that resonates most with me. Some of the songs with more synthesizers and less real instruments (i.e., piano and guitar) seem to kind of float by. Even though I still like listening to them, it's nothing that really makes me want to listen to it on hours on hours.

Sounds like I'd like "You Are a Tourist" but I don't know about the rest.

klap
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2011



10327 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"some boys," "you are a tourist," "underneath the sycamore," "monday morning," "portable television" are all good. i'm also partial to the title track

Digging: Literature - Chorus

toxin.
June 3rd 2011



12313 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Ugh, it seems as though You Are a Tourist fits that mold of synth driven indie pop. Sadness.
I mean, it is Death Cab's new direction, so it's what I should be expecting. I'm just not sure I want to listen to the rest.

klap
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2011



10327 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

you are a tourist has one of the most prominent guitar parts on the whole album so if youre not into that i dont hold too much hope for everything else

toxin.
June 3rd 2011



12313 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah, I figure based on that, it'll be something around a 3-3.5 for me. It still seems an enjoyable listen, but nothing I'm going to get too excited about.
(Btw awesome review)

someguest
June 4th 2011



20393 Comments


of course he's happy, he's boning zooey deschanel

Irving
Staff Reviewer
June 4th 2011



7175 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Has Adam Thomas started fucking a movie star yet?

Digging: Ty Segall - Manipulator

someguest
June 4th 2011



20393 Comments


nah rock hudson died decades ago

synysterdjs
June 4th 2011



101 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I liked this album for the most part on the first listen, but then I hated it on repeat listens (namely "Unobstructed Views"). I felt like giving up on it at one point, but overall, I'm starting to enjoy the album a 'bit'. Favourite tracks would have to be the title track, "St. Peter's Cathedral", "Some Boys" and "You Are a Tourist".

Still waiting on Transatlanticism 2.0...

jacobdaquioag
June 4th 2011



60 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you are a tourist has one of the catchiest riffs I have heard in a while

dPsychc
June 4th 2011



40 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This album just didn't grow on me.

Desolator
June 4th 2011



191 Comments


Sometimes I think all album reviews might just be extremely excessively long. If I wrote a review, it would be 3 or 4 words :P. Here's my review right now: Soothing, Plain, Non-progressive, Indie. The only song I ever loved by these guys was I will possess your heart.

Eko
June 4th 2011



2119 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I will possess your heart is such and overrated song

toxin.
June 4th 2011



12313 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

^agreed.
edit: actually I like Monday Morning best out of what I've heard.

Baumer
June 4th 2011



7 Comments


Great review. Album is bland. St. Peter's Cathedral however ranks in my top Death Cab songs. Damn good lyrics.

North0House2
June 4th 2011



5851 Comments


Eh, never liked them much. I liked some of the stuff on Plans though, it was refreshing.

Digging: Amen Dunes - Love

Eko
June 4th 2011



2119 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

youre in luck

Parallels
June 6th 2011



6641 Comments


TWISTING MY STOMACH INTO KNOTZZZZZ

couldnt have said it better for this album.
All the copies my store ordered are gathering dust on the shelf, no one even cares to pick em up.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy