Arctic Monkeys Suck It and See
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
June 15th 2011


6487 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^ Kind of agree, though it's difficult to draw comparisons between the albums IMO

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

Fugue
June 16th 2011


7353 Comments


Love Is A Laserquest is quickly becoming my favorite track on here and I'm not really sure why...

NigelH
June 16th 2011


1571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's a great track....really subdued compared to the rest of the album but Turner's performance is masterful lyrically and vocally

Fugue
June 16th 2011


7353 Comments


Lyrically it's damn strong as well, my opinion of course but:

"And do you still feel younger than you thought you would by now, or darling have you started feeling old yet?"

"When I'm pipe and slippers and rocking chair singing dreadful songs about summer, well I've found a better method of pretending you were just some lover"

pretty ace.

culbert9
July 30th 2011


27 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like the album. I felt like they moved in a different direction but still pretty entertaining music

Pyosisified
July 30th 2011


2450 Comments


their last two albums are so bad

culbert9
July 30th 2011


27 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This one is much better then humbug

Pyosisified
July 30th 2011


2450 Comments


i will give you that

WhiteNoise
July 30th 2011


3215 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Humbug is tied as my favourite with their first :S

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
August 24th 2011


6487 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I WANNA ROCK 'N ROOOOOWLL!!

omnipanzer
August 24th 2011


21621 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Don't Sit Down 'Cause I've Moved Your Chair is so retarded I can't look at this album seriously. Is the writing for the rest of the songs this bad?

Digging: We Were Promised Jetpacks - Unravelling

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
August 24th 2011


6487 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It isn't meant to be taken seriously...
Alot of people who don't like this should try to grasb that this is just Turner and co having some fun.

That said: http://www.lyricsmode.com/lyrics/a/arctic_monkeys/suck_it_and_see.html

omnipanzer
August 24th 2011


21621 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

So they are being stupid on purpose? I have no issue with that but it might be a bad choice to release as a single... for those of us not in on the joke. It makes me not want to give them a chance.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
August 24th 2011


6487 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

They just did what they felt like...
I think they were a bit to serious on Humbug (their previous album) and just wanted to make some rocking tunes this time instead.

And let's be honest, probably 80% of the lyrics in rock are kinda stupid

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Following the divisive 'Humbug', the Arctic Monkeys' 4th LP 'Suck It and See' has them stepping back to the sound that initially made them critical darlings. Produced by James Ford, this is more immediate & refined than its predecessor, yet still contains Alex Turner's witty & compelling songwriting. It is musically accomplished & retains a partially experimental aspect, with Jamie Cook's guitar-work especially impressive. The LP lacks a surefire hit & is a touch one-paced, but is ultimately a cohesive grower with a number of superb melodies. Recommended Tracks: Don't Sit Down..., The Hellcat Spangled Shalalala, Library Pictures & Piledriver Waltz.

WhiteNoise
August 28th 2011


3215 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No way! Humbug was just such a sudden turn, and I still love it! haha

eonbluekarma
August 28th 2011


37 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hope to see them in October in Baltimore.

BigPleb
September 6th 2011


37130 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is an excellent album, lyrics are quirky and the music is catchy as ever. It does grown on you massively, awesome shit

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins on Io

jefflebowski
September 6th 2011


8253 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

*files lawsuit for copyright infringement*

WhiteNoise
September 6th 2011


3215 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I still reckon humbug is better than this, sure this is nice, but once Humbug grew on me it became addictive.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy