Fleet Foxes Helplessness Blues
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Tyrael
May 1st 2011



20402 Comments


What is with all these staffers/contribs giving random albums 5's this year?

...What?

Observer: Mitochondrion - Parasignosis
Deviant: Swarms - Old Raves End
pianotuna: TV on the Radio - Nine Types of Light
mynameischan: Laura Stevenson and the Cans - Sit Resist
And now this...

You get my point don't you Gyro?

Digging: Lantlos - Melting Sun

Polymath
May 1st 2011



3836 Comments


Well I absolutely get your point

AggravatedYeti
May 1st 2011



7684 Comments


I don't know about stupid, dumb yetis.

=(


the plural is YETI god damn it!!!!!!!!


: )


SowingSeason
Emeritus
May 1st 2011



14512 Comments


I know the staff and contribs have given albums 5's, but what makes them random? only certain albums should be afforded a 5?

mvdu
May 1st 2011



595 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good review! Album doesn't QUITE match the debut - songs can be a bit disjointed, though maybe that's the point - to keep you on your feet with sudden changes. But really gorgeous stuff.

Ponton
Emeritus
May 1st 2011



5775 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the plural is YETI god damn it!!!!!!!!


Yetis.

I know the staff and contribs have given albums 5's, but what makes them random? only certain albums should be afforded a 5?


Indeed, this is how it has always been in years past - some staff and contributors like albums much more than the others, hence the 5s here and there, while others don't, hence the 1-4.5s from the rest. We all have varied, unique music tastes, so it really isn't that surprising that we have 5s for different albums from a variety of genres, whether the album is critically popular or not. With the exception of something like Animal Collective's Merriweather Post Pavilion, in which case half the staff and contributors will 5 an album, me as well, you're bound to see a number of 5s for these random albums every year, unless half or more of us are fired from outside the core indie section of writers.


Digging: Mimicking Birds - Mimicking Birds

PorkchopExpress
May 1st 2011



382 Comments


Great review. On a side note, and not that this is a surprise, but NME is a total joke. Their review for this is just atrocious. I didn't think it could get worse than their review for the new Pains of Being Pure At Heart (which boiled down to "They don't sing about sex enough"--seriously). What they left for this isn't even a review. It's almost like they're trying to destroy any shred of credibilty they have left, which is next to none.

Digging: Pure X - Angel

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
May 1st 2011



14884 Comments


assuming the (20) in the chronicles bob dylan quote refers to the page number, i think that goes outside the quote. great review--i really appreciate these types that tie together different art forms/styles of music. haven't listened to this yet.

Steoandnoodles
May 1st 2011



2832 Comments


NME's review of Helplessness Blues is pretty disgraceful. =/
To sum it up he mentioned the songs in one line then never mentioned the music again; he proceeded
to

1. Insult Robin Pecknold's personal life
2. Insult the fans of the band
3. State that anyone who plays the music will not have sex with a girl based on the lyrical content
(not whether it's good or not, just what they're about). Which is ironic considering he is
complaining about them not being 'folk' enough...implying that writing songs about sex is what all
folk musicians do. =P

The whole 'review' is a disgrace. This all because Robin Pecknold told an interviewer that NME's 2
hour long interviews get boiled down to three words.

McAlmonds
May 1st 2011



81 Comments


Can't love the sax solo enough. I love the whole The Shrine / An Argument song with the more rough voice. Great shizz.

Can't believe I have ordered the Fleet Foxes vinyl together with the new Beastie Boys and now that BB won't ship until late June, Fleet Foxes wont as well, since it only ships as soon as both are available. :< :< :

Ponton
Emeritus
May 1st 2011



5775 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fleet Foxes suck. They're the soy-latte band of Starbucks.

Edit: Okay, I read the whole of that review, and while snarky, it's not as bad as you guys are saying. He tore up the band pretty good, but did so with valid points that were not exactly as you summed, Steo. To be honest, I'm just sensing some over-zealous fan hate from a few here.

Gyromania
May 1st 2011



14653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Observer: Mitochondrion - Parasignosis
Deviant: Swarms - Old Raves End
pianotuna: TV on the Radio - Nine Types of Light
mynameischan: Laura Stevenson and the Cans - Sit Resist
And now this...

You get my point don't you Gyro?


Nope.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
May 1st 2011



15693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

people like music?!?! wtf

Digging: Nmesh - Dream Sequins® [AMDISCS]

Steoandnoodles
May 1st 2011



2832 Comments


Not at all. It's a music review, you don't expect the band to be insulted. =P
Not to mention; he had no points...there was none, which is why I disliked the review. Not because of
the score but the lack of reasoning behind it.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
May 1st 2011



17118 Comments


chan isnt on staff anymore and observer hadnt been staffed yet when he wrote that review. we have two 5's. quit your fucking bitching.

Digging: Sad Lovers and Giants - Feeding the Flame

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
May 1st 2011



6963 Comments


actually he was staff when he released that review

Digging: Perfume Genius - Learning

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
May 1st 2011



14884 Comments


oh SNAP

Athom
Staff Reviewer
May 1st 2011



17118 Comments


well fuck me. i dont read reviews on this site not written by robin/chan/downer/lewis/silveri/kiran
anyways so the fuck do i know.

Hep Kat
May 1st 2011



14022 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i dont read your reviews either

Digging: Fucked Up - Year of the Dragon

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
May 1st 2011



14884 Comments


so far im astonished people are calling this the antidote to their s/t's "boringness". this is a snooze



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy