Fleet Foxes Helplessness Blues
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ponton
Emeritus
April 29th 2011



5790 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i think being 'calculated' is a strange way of putting it, im pretty sure most bands of this stature would have some sort of plan for their recording process.



That's true, but in relation to Fleet Foxes' debut, it was almost eerie how perfect-sounding it was. This isn't a complaint on my part at all, though, and if anything, the fact that, to me, it seems that they had a specific, calculated vision for that album and were able to bring it about perfectly shows their skill as a band unit.


demigod!
April 29th 2011



44148 Comments


the ending of "The Shrine/An Argument is so odd

Digging: Failure - Magnified

liledman
April 29th 2011



3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah its definitely a strength, the first thing i think of when somebody mentions the band is 'cathedral vocals'.

i probably like this as much or more than the debut. think this is a bit more solid.

DiceMan
April 29th 2011



7068 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Feels way too stale to be a 5.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
April 30th 2011



23806 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I still don't like this nearly as much as I liked their self-titled, maybe this just needs more time.

klap
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2011



10315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not too hard to be the best release of a band's career when they've only released two albums...

also, i like this review but it felt like i was reading an academic essay for most of it.

Digging: Literature - Chorus

Trippz
April 30th 2011



1 Comments


Don't like this

mast3rshake16
April 30th 2011



109 Comments


great album but really not a 5 :-/, all of the tracks are solid but there are only 1-2 i would go and tell people - who dont like folk/indie music - to listen to

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2011



7164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I haven't heard this album, but I can say categorically that this review really struggles to impose
itself or convey anything concisely. It takes too long (four paragraphs!) to get started, for
one. The backing concept of American folk canon is interesting, but the execution of the idea is
weak. The last two paragraphs are almost red-herring-like in their presentation; the last one, in
particular, has virtually nothing to do with everything else in the review.

Some sentences are a bit of a throwaway, too. Here: Helplessness Blues is, without a doubt, the
best release of the band's career.


That's not saying much when they only have one other album, right? (Sun Giant hardly counts
as a full release).

Also, the only line (as far as I can see) that argues why the album is good is this: it's the
classic sound of a band evolving into their prime, trying anything they want and making it work
every time. Despite the expansion into more myriad territories, nothing on Helplessness Blues is a
throwaway track; nothing lacks in quality.


One needs a bit more justification when dealing with a 5.0, don't you think? Also, all those aren't
really arguments - they're frankly just assertions.

I dunno Tyler - I've just read much better from you. I came away from this review feeling very
confused and with no idea how this is in any way better/different from the band's debut album. No
offense intended. Cheers.

Digging: Ty Segall - Manipulator

mast3rshake16
April 30th 2011



109 Comments


kinda agree with what irving said, you explain briefly their new "experimentation" with instruments but after 6-7 listens im not hearing anything that makes me go WOW, this has never been done before - or WOW this is the best (or close to) folk has ever sounded before



NigelH
April 30th 2011



1571 Comments


Great review. Maybe you didn't cover the album itself enough, but I dug the foray into the folk music's history, and felt that it contextualized the album nicely. Wasn't planning on checking this record out, but I think I've changed my mind.

conradtao
Emeritus
April 30th 2011



2090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well uh

huh

interesting

North0House2
April 30th 2011



5848 Comments


Is it really this good? Whoa. So, is this better than their first release? I found their debut to be refreshing, but somewhat repetitive after a period of time. I might pick this up then, I saw it at Best Buy, and I need some more good folk-esque stuff.

Digging: Amen Dunes - Love

conradtao
Emeritus
April 30th 2011



2090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hey uh

maybe, just maybe, tyler's opinion isn't incontrovertible fact and there's no real need to be going "whoa what this is good okay wow i must check this out"

fuck i'm cranky again

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2011



15881 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

yeah im with tao, i dont like it when people say whoah sowing gave this a 4.5 or a 5 im gonna go buy this

then they're like hey wtf i hated this, complete waste of money gonna give it a 3.5

Digging: Maybeshewill - Fair Youth

Spare
April 30th 2011



5271 Comments


sputnikmusic where everything is five outta five

liledman
April 30th 2011



3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

THIS ISNT A 5 HOW COULD YOU DO THIS TO ME

starry
April 30th 2011



552 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Some great songs but also some lesser ones, so not a consistency which makes it something I would listen to from start to end. A bit like the first album, well above average, some really great stuff but not a classic album. I would rate it maybe a 4.

Kiran
Emeritus
April 30th 2011



6001 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pecknold hinted that the band took less time rehearsing their vocals during the recording process, going for a more raw sound as opposed to the almost too perfect harmonies on their previous two releases. Sonically, that might not be apparent at first, but the end of the album, the a cappella section of "Grown Ocean", hints at that more organic process. While the harmonies are still essentially perfect, there is a sense of exploration in the ensemble sound, in its rubato, free-form nature.

i was saying this to a friend the other day and essentially boiled down to the fact that their debut LP struck me as, and forgive the terrible name, 'plastic-folk' in that it was just so clean and shiny but ultimately felt so disposable and so much more impersonal than my favourite folk artists. this album remedies that hugely in very subtle steps. exceeded my expectations in every way.

Tyrael
April 30th 2011



20824 Comments


What is with all these staffers/contribs giving random albums 5's this year? That said, great review Tyler.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy