Gentle Giant In a Glass House
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Jethro42
June 29th 2013



12028 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, their shift in style (pop/progressive) to satisfy a more dominating position of commercial music proved to be fatal for the group. Mainstream music had never been made for Gentle Giant at all, and they should never have given up the progressive sound that worked best for them.

beefshoes
June 29th 2013



2108 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thankfully they only had a few albums like that compared a lot of other groups from the period who attempted Pop.

undertakerpt
July 1st 2013



1137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Check out the threefriendsband, a tribute Gentle Giant band which still have some of the orginal members of the band. I had the pleasure of watching them last year, and their live rendition of "His last voyage" was truly somthing else. Hopefully they'll be in your area(s) soon.

MrSirLordGentleman
August 8th 2013



2143 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

must check this band

Digging: Todd Terje - It's Album Time

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 23rd 2013



18575 Comments


^yes you must.

let's prog hard this monday guys

Digging: Somos - Temple of Plenty

Jethro42
September 23rd 2013



12028 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Here's a good place to start with GG.

MrSirLordGentleman
October 8th 2013



2143 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sorry... but it didn't worked for me

CaptainDooRight
October 9th 2013



26270 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

just dam

Digging: Deniro Farrar - The Patriarch II

manosg
October 9th 2013



4666 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Let it sink in...

Digging: Jan Akkerman - Tabernakel

Nagrarok
October 9th 2013



7946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Gentle Giant's best, though everything they did up to Free Hand is great.

Jethro42
October 9th 2013



12028 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Interview is worth a serious listen too.
Nice dig, Nag! King Crimson in my dear Montréal, yesss!!!

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
October 9th 2013



18167 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Might jam this in a minute, it's been a while since I last listened to some Gentle Giant.

Digging: Benoit Pioulard - Hymnal Remixes

Jethro42
October 9th 2013



12028 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Great idea!

Nagrarok
October 10th 2013



7946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice dig, Nag! King Crimson in my dear Montréal, yesss!!!


Yeah, I went through a good portion of KC's live albums recently and I particularly loved that one. The Great Deceiver is fantastic too, but the length of it can be overwhelming. Actually I was a little surprised you 'only' gave Absent Lovers a 4 Jethro ;)

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
October 10th 2013



18167 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Currently listening to KC's live album 'Live at the Zoom Club', one of the few live shows that were recorded when Jamie Muir was in the band. Pretty poor sound quality but the two lengthy 'Zoom' jams/improvs are incredible, some of the best improv I've heard from KC.

Jethro42
October 10th 2013



12028 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Actually I was a little surprised you 'only' gave Absent Lovers a 4 Jethro ;)

I didnt listen to the actual album. Never. I, atm, am listening to the entire show from you tube, and it's an instant 4.5. It makes me remember how solid that show was. *Shivers*


Nagrarok
October 10th 2013



7946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Currently listening to KC's live album 'Live at the Zoom Club', one of the few live shows that were recorded when Jamie Muir was in the band.


Hmm, I was under the impression that he left before the Larks' line-up managed to record any live performances. Guess he stuck around long enough for just a couple.

I, atm, am listening to the whole show from you tube, and it's an instant 4.5.


Nice!

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
October 10th 2013



18167 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hmm, I was under the impression that he left before the Larks' line-up managed to record any live performances. Guess he stuck around long enough for just a couple.


That show was played before they recorded the Larks' Tongues album. I think it might be the only show featuring Muir that was recorded in it's entirety.

Nagrarok
October 10th 2013



7946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ah, that makes sense then.

CaptainDooRight
October 10th 2013



26270 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Rules life



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy