Gentle Giant In a Glass House
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Nagrarok
April 27th 2011


8259 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha, I think maybe you should bump some of your ratings down, you're dishing out the high marks with ease. I'm surprised GG's debut has a lower average than most of their later albums.

Jethro42
April 27th 2011


12479 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Gentle Giant are among those bands I could never get sick of. I probably have changed my ratings 3 or 4 times each album already (yes yes, even if I know all their songs by heart since 3 decades).

I'm surprised GG's debut has a lower average than most of their later albums.

I couldn't disagree on that. For some reasons, it's the album I've personally listened to the least even if the first 3 tracks and Nothing at all are all great...Damn How did I give it a modest 3.5. Bumped! =P



Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2011


7311 Comments


I meant "hitting". Not "hidding". No one could have understood that Jethro LOL. My bad!

Jethro42
April 27th 2011


12479 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Godcha!
Gotcha!

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2011


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha. Damn you for not including Octopus in your top3 GG albums. I absolutely love it.

Digging: Dope Body - Lifer

Jethro42
April 27th 2011


12479 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

haha Stay vigilant, Greg, it can change from a week to another. Actually, almost their whole discog is in my top 3 =P

Here's a pretty cool list about Gentle Giant (trust me, GG songs are so hard to rank);
http://www.sputnikmusic.com/list.php?memberid=280733&listid=30964

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2011


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've seen this list before. Cool selection! It's a pity you didn't include the entire Octopus album though. ;)

Jethro42
April 27th 2011


12479 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I have to confess that both Octopus and In a Glass House are arguably the two albums I enjoy to listen to the most as a whole without ever skipping anything. Why do I have Acquiring the Taste at a 5 you may ask? Because there is no bad song indeed, but mostly because it has a deep sentimental value. I got into GG with that one, so yes.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2011


7421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Acquiring the Taste is actually starting to grow on me. Wreck, Plain Truth and Pantagruel's Nativity
are all amazing songs.

Jethro42
April 27th 2011


12479 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Hell yes!! Also;
THE ROOOM and street are known only to me AND A FEWWW
I won't tell NObodyyy


QuestionableScum
September 14th 2011


93 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The more I listen to this album, the more I love it. I love the integration of musical influences in GG. It is just so coherent and wonderful.

Jethro42
September 14th 2011


12479 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Timeless music right here. And what a helluva music! Complexity and beauty were their trademark. Glad to see another GG lover.

Jethro42
September 14th 2011


12479 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

RUNNING EVERYWHERE
SEEING CLEARLY WHEN I DARE
IS IT TODAY OR IS IT YOUR WAY
AND THE MOON MUST FALL
INSPIRATION WAITING FOR YOURRR CALL
FOR YOU TO GET A SILHOUETTTTTTT

Motiv3
April 27th 2012


8938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dunno what to make of this....definitely like it.

Jethro42
April 27th 2012


12479 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Like it or not, you definitely need time for it to sink in. And it will pay off.

undertakerpt
April 28th 2012


1351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

well blow me down, you spoke the truth, it WAS exactly a year ago you did this review. and its the same date as mine.... wierd

CaptainDooRight
May 2nd 2012


29937 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

album is sooo good

a reunion is an awesome short simple track and the opening track omg

Digging: Impetuous Ritual - Unholy Congregation of Hypocritical Ambivalence

Jethro42
May 2nd 2012


12479 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Cheers Captain!
@undertakerpt, weird this is indeed!


CaptainDooRight
May 2nd 2012


29937 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

r u the same person as project, a little confused

Jethro42
May 2nd 2012


12479 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

ProgJect is a collaboration between Nagrarok and me. I'm writing and Nag is embellishing it all with his magic touch.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy