Gentle Giant In a Glass House
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Nagrarok
April 27th 2011


8526 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha, I think maybe you should bump some of your ratings down, you're dishing out the high marks with ease. I'm surprised GG's debut has a lower average than most of their later albums.

Jethro42
April 27th 2011


14195 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Gentle Giant are among those bands I could never get sick of. I probably have changed my ratings 3 or 4 times each album already (yes yes, even if I know all their songs by heart since 3 decades).

I'm surprised GG's debut has a lower average than most of their later albums.


I couldn't disagree on that. For some reasons, it's the album I've personally listened to the least even if the first 3 tracks and Nothing at all are all great...Damn How did I give it a modest 3.5. Bumped! =P





Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2011


7479 Comments


I meant "hitting". Not "hidding". No one could have understood that Jethro LOL. My bad!

Jethro42
April 27th 2011


14195 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Godcha!

Gotcha!

greg84
Emeritus
April 27th 2011


7555 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha. Damn you for not including Octopus in your top3 GG albums. I absolutely love it.

Digging: SubRosa - For This We Fought the Battle of Ages

Jethro42
April 27th 2011


14195 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

haha Stay vigilant, Greg, it can change from a week to another. Actually, almost their whole discog is in my top 3 =P



Here's a pretty cool list about Gentle Giant (trust me, GG songs are so hard to rank);

http://www.sputnikmusic.com/list.php?memberid=280733&listid=30964

greg84
Emeritus
April 27th 2011


7555 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've seen this list before. Cool selection! It's a pity you didn't include the entire Octopus album though. ;)

Jethro42
April 27th 2011


14195 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I have to confess that both Octopus and In a Glass House are arguably the two albums I enjoy to listen to the most as a whole without ever skipping anything. Why do I have Acquiring the Taste at a 5 you may ask? Because there is no bad song indeed, but mostly because it has a deep sentimental value. I got into GG with that one, so yes.

greg84
Emeritus
April 27th 2011


7555 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Acquiring the Taste is actually starting to grow on me. Wreck, Plain Truth and Pantagruel's Nativity

are all amazing songs.

Jethro42
April 27th 2011


14195 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Hell yes!! Also;

THE ROOOM and street are known only to me AND A FEWWW

I won't tell NObodyyy



QuestionableScum
September 14th 2011


97 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The more I listen to this album, the more I love it. I love the integration of musical influences in GG. It is just so coherent and wonderful.

Jethro42
September 14th 2011


14195 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Timeless music right here. And what a helluva music! Complexity and beauty were their trademark. Glad to see another GG lover.

Jethro42
September 14th 2011


14195 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

RUNNING EVERYWHERE

SEEING CLEARLY WHEN I DARE

IS IT TODAY OR IS IT YOUR WAY

AND THE MOON MUST FALL

INSPIRATION WAITING FOR YOURRR CALL

FOR YOU TO GET A SILHOUETTTTTTT

Motiv3
April 27th 2012


8979 Comments


dunno what to make of this....definitely like it.

Jethro42
April 27th 2012


14195 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Like it or not, you definitely need time for it to sink in. And it will pay off.

undertakerpt
April 28th 2012


1503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

well blow me down, you spoke the truth, it WAS exactly a year ago you did this review. and its the same date as mine.... wierd

Jethro42
May 2nd 2012


14195 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Cheers Captain!

@undertakerpt, weird this is indeed!



Jethro42
May 2nd 2012


14195 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

ProgJect is a collaboration between Nagrarok and me. I'm writing and Nag is embellishing it all with his magic touch.

Motiv3
May 8th 2012


8979 Comments


Surprised you didn't know about ProgJect Captain. Currently jamming to this P/

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
June 20th 2012


25689 Comments


Album is so good.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy