Swarms Old Raves End
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
April 22nd 2011


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I fixed mine now, but the other one isn't a troll. Just someone that seems to neg a lot.

Digging: Skrew - Universal Immolation

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 22nd 2011


31218 Comments


I know, but I still think you should be banned

Digging: LV and Joshua Idehen - Islands

Willie
Moderator
April 22nd 2011


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I can ban myself on the review site and still lift the ban too. How messed up is that ;)

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 22nd 2011


31218 Comments


Random

But seriously, go have a break. I'll look after the place

Deathcar
April 22nd 2011


1534 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Awesome review, pos. Nearly as good as the album ;).

This will probably be a 5 soon, i'm hoping we can get this the status on here that Untrue has (and this is better than Untrue tbh).

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 22nd 2011


31218 Comments


Lol at the troll 1's

Tyrael
April 22nd 2011


20883 Comments


I'm not a big electronica fan but this is amazing. Great review as usual Deviant.

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

Athom
Staff Reviewer
April 22nd 2011


17215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

found this kinda boring

Digging: Inigo Kennedy - Vaudeville

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 22nd 2011


31218 Comments


Goddamn it

Ponton
Emeritus
April 22nd 2011


5793 Comments


adam always tends to ruin things

ill try it dev

Athom
Staff Reviewer
April 22nd 2011


17215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

youngin's get off my lawn

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 22nd 2011


31218 Comments


Look who's talking

But yeah I don't actually care that this isn't your thing. I mean it sucks, but to each his own

afghanwhigger
April 22nd 2011


67 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

GREAT review Dev. Your first paragraph is perfect. Thanks for another artist I wouldn't have found on my own.

Ponton
Emeritus
April 22nd 2011


5793 Comments


sounding good dev. i am getting something burial-ish out of it.

Pyosisified
April 22nd 2011


2450 Comments





Liberi Fatali
Emeritus
April 22nd 2011


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

For me, your introduction is the spiritual successor to thebhoy’s recent blog posts titled “What’s the big idea?” I wholeheartedly understand your point and see it as a fairly persuasive point of view. I am usually not a fan of introductions in that style. But if anything justifies an introduction like that, then your high estimation of the album probably does.

The introduction goes on far too long though, and most annoying for me is the 65 word sentence smack bang in the middle of it. The review does start hitting its stride in the third paragraph, in which you quite succinctly capture what makes the album special; a feat that really needs to be accomplished if you claim it is worth a 5.

As for the album itself, it is quite beautiful throughout; though I am not sure it will steal 2011’s heart. Some of Burial’s stuff (I apologise for the comparison, but it is the easiest way to make my point) connects directly with the heart and really has its way with the listener. With this album however, I can see the beauty, but it isn’t connecting in the same way. I would also personally prefer if the vocal samples were brought out a bit more. Not that I would say the way they have worked the vocals detracts from the album overall

So er yeah, not a 5 for me but definitely up there for the year so far.

Liberi Fatali
Emeritus
April 22nd 2011


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Of and if there is a camp forming that says this is better than Untrue, I'm definitely going to have to set up an opposing camp.

cvlts
April 22nd 2011


8960 Comments


definitely not better than Untrue, but yeah, an pretty awesome album.

FourSquare20
April 22nd 2011


320 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't know, I've listened to this about 3 times and i find it to be easier to get all the way through than Untrue. Don't know about this being a 5, but it's still a great album.

Ikarus14
April 22nd 2011


538 Comments


Checking this album out at the moment. Not bad so far.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy