Sigur Ros Ágætis byrjun
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
MrxSelfxDestruct
December 13th 2011


495 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This may seem out of place given the time frame, but this had been the only album by Sigur Ros I
hadn't heard; it is now my favorite.

Thank you for inspiring me to listen to this. It is one of the most sweeping, and engaging pieces of
music I have ever heard. I thought the uplifting tone of Takk... wouldn't be matched, but the
optimistic of Ágætus Byrjun, it's vast soundscapes, somehow driven by consistent and beautiful
melodies have totally won me over.

One of the greatest albums I have ever heard, and I fear, that I will ever hear.

InAbsentia
December 13th 2011


3542 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yes. It is one of the most beautiful albums ever recorded.

tarkus
December 13th 2011


5560 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

only heard takk and ( )

balcaen
December 13th 2011


3183 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah i think this might be my all-time favorite. or at least up there among a top 3. and it's been out for a long-ass time and nothing has come close. uh

InAbsentia
December 13th 2011


3542 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@MrxSelfxDestruct: Check out Talk Talk's Laughing Stock if you want something that matches the beauty of this album.

@Tarkus: What the hell are you waiting for??

InAbsentia
December 13th 2011


3542 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Also, Godspeed.......

tarkus
December 13th 2011


5560 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

honestly idk i keep thinking about downloading it but i never get around to it

i wouldve bought it in the store without hearing it like i did with ( ) but they didnt have it

i guess ill dl now, also reminds me to dl laughing stock

InAbsentia
December 13th 2011


3542 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Just lie in bed and close your eyes. Let Sigur Ros take care of all your problems.

tarkus
December 13th 2011


5560 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

done that with ( ) before its awesome

InAbsentia
December 13th 2011


3542 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This one's better imo.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 13th 2011


50958 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

( ) and Takk are better

Digging: Friendzone - Collection 1

InAbsentia
December 13th 2011


3542 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I think you listened to the wrong Ágætis Byrjun, man.

tarkus
December 13th 2011


5560 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

listening now

got laughing stock and spirit of eden, the latter of which i almost picked up on a whim once

InAbsentia
December 13th 2011


3542 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Spirit of Eden is just as good.

Hope you enjoy this. I know you will, though.

tarkus
December 13th 2011


5560 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sounds good so far, does this album have a breathtaking moment like the explosion in untitled 8?

InAbsentia
December 13th 2011


3542 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's full of explosions. But I'm not going to tell you where they are ;)

If I'm not wrong the only song that doesn't climax in some way is Svefn-g-englar. That track kind of sets the mood of the album.

Rev
December 13th 2011


9441 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Best Sigur Ros

tarkus
December 13th 2011


5560 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just finished Svefn-g-englar, its pretty good stuff. And good the explosion in Untitled 8 and the parts leading up to it are my favorite Sigur Ros moments, good to see there are more

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 13th 2011


50958 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This one is the most boringest though

psykonaut
December 13th 2011


3913 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

perfect album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy