Sufjan Stevens The Age of Adz
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Xenophanes
Emeritus
April 16th 2011



10584 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wish I could write a short review like this. I actually prefer them, and honestly, this was really well done, a joy to read, even though I was sick of reading reviews for this months ago.

Pos.

Digging: United Nations - The Next Four Years

Defeater
April 16th 2011



5782 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This bit is a little bit difficult to read. I think you mean "abstract" rather than "general" (as opposed to "concrete", yeah?) and the phrase "outside relationships" is confusing following "within" because "outside" seems at first a preposition rather than part of the noun phrase. "External relationships" might work better?


That all sounds good to me. I try and get the exact wording I'm looking for but it doesn't come out right all the time. I can't change impossible in the first line because it's a lyrical quote. And I've been taught that keeping a central theme is important, so I try to emphasize on it. Thanks for the criticism.

I wish I could write a short review like this. I actually prefer them, and honestly, this was really well done, a joy to read, even though I was sick of reading reviews for this months ago.


A lot of times I see a long review and skip it going right to the comments. And that comes to mind when I write; I can't get through it nobody else is going to read it either.

Knott-
Emeritus
April 16th 2011



10194 Comments


Yah I didn't mean the first line, I meant the second. Like I said, everything I wrote about the first paragraph was shit I would've done. By no means implies you should've done it, or even that it's good!

Minus The Flair
Emeritus
April 16th 2011



862 Comments


fantastic review right here.

Thane
April 16th 2011



2148 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love reviews that are shorter, but still get the point across just as well as a 7 paragraph long one. Good job man.

Ponton
Emeritus
April 16th 2011



5784 Comments


i wish i could be like you, and most the staff with this

Tyrael
April 16th 2011



20710 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I always forget how good of a reviewer you actually are. Well done.

iFghtffyrdmns
April 16th 2011



7047 Comments


fantastic review. one qualm though:

"and tempo changes that shift the reader into the journey through Steven’s mind"

did you mean to use the word 'reader' there? Maybe I'm just not following the metaphor or something but I thought 'listener' or 'audience' or something would be better in there. it's really your call though.

Defeater
April 16th 2011



5782 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol nice catch. thanks everybody.

kingjulian
April 18th 2011



1297 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Most of this is so boring, but some of it is beyond brilliant. Frustrating.

Defeater
April 18th 2011



5782 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

There's three duds: I Walked, Now That I'm Older, and Bad Communication. The rest is great.


kingjulian
April 18th 2011



1297 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think there's four brilliant tracks. The first three and Vesuveus. Age of Adz (the song) is especially amazing.

Defeater
April 18th 2011



5782 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Impossible Soul" is my favorite, followed by "Get Real Get Right", then "Futile Devices".

Gyromania
April 18th 2011



15164 Comments


Vesuvius, oh be kind / it hasn't occurred, no it hasn't been said.

qwer7yfreak
April 18th 2011



486 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like Impossible Soul just because it's so overblown

Tyrael
April 18th 2011



20710 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I hear ya

someguest
October 21st 2012



20220 Comments


I'm not fucking around.

Digging: Modest Mouse - The Lonesome Crowded West

someguest
September 12th 2013



20220 Comments


better than the Lakes review agreed

cinaedus
September 12th 2013



26296 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

bleh, i was 14 when i wrote that.

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

someguest
September 12th 2013



20220 Comments


i wish i could be like you, and most the staff with this


and THAT was two years ago

I should be a GOD here



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy