tUnE-yArDs w h o k i l l
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
PuddlesPuddles
April 12th 2011



4668 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I knew the first song I listened to that got me into the album was going to be the best on there. Damnit

conradtao
Emeritus
April 12th 2011



2088 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My personal favorites are "My Country", "Bizness", "Doorstep", and "Killa".

And yes, this is very Lewis.

timbo8
April 12th 2011



618 Comments


Nice review! I've wanted to review BiRd-BrAiNs but have been too lazy/busy

conradtao
Emeritus
April 13th 2011



2088 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha, same. I've been meaning to review that record since December but never got around to it. It's pretty great, but then this came around and it's so much better...and it keeps getting better.

conradtao
Emeritus
April 13th 2011



2088 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I really want Adam, Kiran and Robin to see this review because I know they liked the record :3

lancebramsay
April 14th 2011



1585 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Review was spot on - pos

though I feel this album alienates the listener to a certain extent. This album's creativity earns my respect - it's use of sampling has an infectious aura - but at the same time I won't truly connect with it. Really just a great occasional listen that shows you a zany fun world but only allows you to peer in.

lancebramsay
April 14th 2011



1585 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I wanted to add that this an album that everyone should listen to at least once

conradtao
Emeritus
April 14th 2011



2088 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks, Beram. I think this does let the listener in...it just demands some very close listening.

AggravatedYeti
April 14th 2011



7684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah Lance I'd have to agree with Conrad.
not that I doubt you've given this album its due time but after a few more spins it might open up in different ways.

imo I find this to be one of the more personally cerebral records of '11 so far.

lancebramsay
April 14th 2011



1585 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I really dig certain parts of the album, especially Powa but other parts just scream skip to me. I don't think I can ever enjoy Riotriot...

conradtao
Emeritus
April 14th 2011



2088 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There's one moment in Riotriot where Garbus' voice completely lets loose and all the dissonance of the song resolves into this bright major chord, and it's so PERFECT.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2011



15693 Comments


ive seen the review conrad! i want to listen to the album more before I offer my thoughts on it, but bizness is soty thus far

Digging: Nmesh - Dream Sequins® [AMDISCS]

Kiran
Emeritus
April 14th 2011



5992 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

garbus' voice is absolutely awesome

conradtao
Emeritus
April 14th 2011



2088 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

God, yes, especially when it's at its most unhinged.

Kiran
Emeritus
April 14th 2011



5992 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

like at the end of 'powa' when she hits that insane falsetto

conradtao
Emeritus
April 14th 2011



2088 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Or when she sings the entirety of "Bizness" or hits that last "bang-bang-bang" in "Gangsta" or man there are those insane moments throughout the record

lancebramsay
April 15th 2011



1585 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

like at the end of 'powa' when she hits that insane falsetto
Love that. In fact I love
that song so much. Plus I'm fairly certain the track is about sex, which makes it even more awesome
for me. You know, because I'm a pervert. But seriously, I bet Merill Garbus is a freak ;)

cbmartinez
April 15th 2011



2525 Comments


listened to this today was a very very very impressed. i thought the first lp was good, pretty hit or miss. but this is everything I expect from a second album, better songwriting, better lyrics, more confidence. i think here voice is what makes it or breaks for it for a lot of people (me included) but she just sounds undeniably great on this. one of the strongest albums i've heard so far this year.

conradtao
Emeritus
April 16th 2011



2088 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fingers crossed that Sam won't lower his rating in two days ;D

conradtao
Emeritus
April 17th 2011



2088 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha, GOOD.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy