Cult of Luna Cult of Luna
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Voivod
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2011



5611 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@ Crysis

i second that about Salvation.

Digging: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2011



8221 Comments


@Irving
I'm glad if I was able to help you =)

Digging: Metsatoll - Karjajuht

ShadowRemains
April 3rd 2011



19429 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you'll probably want to hear The Beyond as well Kyle, if you haven't

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2011



15988 Comments


I haven't heard that yet, I've only heard those two albums. Been on a dm kick and haven't been listening to much else lately but I think I'll break that with some post-metal.

Digging: Thergothon - Stream From The Heavens

ShadowRemains
April 3rd 2011



19429 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Been on a dm kick


i know :p

Zettel
April 3rd 2011



581 Comments


Re: re : Irving's criticism

First of all, I think what you're doing (not only in this thread and now, but on a daily basis) is really neat. Having a second set of eyes glance over your writing and having a second opinion from someone who is good at writing is always helpful, even for the more experienced writers, and when someone specifically points out your mistakes, it's really a great way to learn.

You had an immaculate comment up until here. I do not get the rest. Irving's true problem is that he is too noble for these boards. He should understand that the goal of the majority of the reviewers is just too write decent reviews, ones in which they "describe the sound well enough and there aren't any obvious grammar slips". That is all you need, and I agree with that.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2011



7011 Comments


=(?



Digging: Caleb McAlpine - All Things New

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2011



8221 Comments


and I tried pretty hard on this magnus
That's Relinquished's own comment from the first page and it proves your theory about being content with being only "decent" wrong. Besides, my point wasn't to argue Irving's direct criticism per se, but to give my opinion on why I think the review is written well enough. I mean, afterall, it is the man's first and he does a fine job describing the album. I'm sure if Relinquished would write more, he'd evolve just as Cult of Luna have ;).

TheSpirit
April 3rd 2011



16661 Comments


You had an immaculate comment up until here. I do not get the rest. Irving's true problem is that he is too noble for these boards. He should understand that the goal of the majority of the reviewers is just too write decent reviews, ones in which they "describe the sound well enough and there aren't any obvious grammar slips". That is all you need, and I agree with that.


Ehh, I think a lot of people enjoy the criticism. After all, who doesn't want to be better? Besides criticizing/discussing our peers work is one of the things that keeps this place interesting. It's always cool to see some people develop as writers.



Digging: Sexdrome - Grown Younger

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2011



8221 Comments


Exactly

cvlts
April 3rd 2011



8917 Comments


fuck, its just a first review. lay off.

sorry bro, just fucking woke up and no time to proof read and shit. excellent review though

Digging: Pedro the Lion - It's Hard To Find A Friend

Relinquished
April 3rd 2011



22350 Comments


tbh I wrote this in two hours with the album on repeat. I kinda half-assed this, semi-stream of consciousness writing, some parts don't make sense cuz of personal thoughts of the album/band pervading the review blah blah blah. I thought this album deserves a review and no one did it, so I did this for the hell of it. Seriously would've reviewed things before if I wanted but I'm not the writer type. Not that I'm discouraged, it's just I don't really care.

I really appreciate the criticisms though guys thanks. Irving, the unimportant sentences are my negative points of the album btw.

Psychopathologist
April 3rd 2011



1924 Comments


"and I tried pretty hard on this"

"tbh I wrote this in two hours with the album on repeat. I kinda half-assed this"

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2011



7011 Comments


Irving, the unimportant sentences are my negative points of the album btw.

Gotcha. For a first effort this was solid. I may have been a bit too overzealous in my desire to lend a second pair of editing eyeballs - my apologies. That being said, I do hope you keep writing though. I don't want to have to fight off flying pigs and rising blue moons each time Relinquished puts out a review ;)

Relinquished
April 3rd 2011



22350 Comments


yo fade is that you? stop giving me grief dude. only grief I need is the sludge kind.

The final sentence is an anti-climax as well, and feels kinda "meh".

Maybe it's personal preference, or maybe it's because I'm familiar with the band's work, but I liked it.

pretty much what I was going for. I guess I unconsciously wrote this for those familiar with the band.

Psychopathologist
April 3rd 2011



1924 Comments


not fade sorry

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2011



8221 Comments


I may have been a bit too overzealous in my desire to lend a second pair of editing eyeballs - my apologies.
For the record, what you said about the wording in this review I agreed with, and man you should never apologise when you were only trying to do good (which I think you did).

Ok, now I think we've had enough of that for today. Let the casual small talk begin.

Relinquished
April 3rd 2011



22350 Comments


I think it's fuckin awesome how half of "The Sacrifice" is just one big riff.

MO
April 3rd 2011



17356 Comments


Great review man, after checking out Salvation I've been meaning to hear this, cheers bud.

Digging: Soundtrack - Turok 2: Seeds of Evil OST

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2011



7011 Comments


Let the casual small talk begin.

I love MetallicOpeth's avatar. Bizarre username, but picture is ohsohot.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy