Gil Scott-Heron and Jamie XX We're New Here
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2011


31620 Comments


So do it

Digging: Theo Parrish - American Intelligence

Liberi Fatali
Emeritus
April 2nd 2011


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh nice to see a review for this. Been digging it pretty hard last couple of days.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2011


31620 Comments


Yeah I've been blasting this a lot lately myself tbh

I always seem to find myself starting with 'NY Is Killing me' though, and then going back to 'I'm New Here'

Liberi Fatali
Emeritus
April 3rd 2011


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah both those songs are killer, think the album might end up having some of my favourite songs from 2011, not sure about favourite album though.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2011


31620 Comments


Still shocked that more people haven't latched onto this

Athom
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2011


17231 Comments


agreed. both this and the original were horribly overlooked on sputnik

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2011


31620 Comments


I can't say I'm the biggest fan of I'm New Here but it definitely wasn't without its charms. Where were the staff write-ups for these 2 albums?

Athom
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2011


17231 Comments


they got dibbsed by someone but never done : /

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2011


31620 Comments


Lazy sonsof......

I can somewhat see how the original was overlooked. Gil isn't the biggest name in the world (and admittedly that's mainly because of his own doing) but I'm surprised that having XX in the "band" name didn't send a site like Sputnik into a small frenzy

Athom
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2011


17231 Comments


I don't think the indie crowd here ever bit that hard on all their hype.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2011


31620 Comments


True, but I think there are a few fully devout members floating around

Oh well, what are you gonna do

Liberi Fatali
Emeritus
April 4th 2011


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just need to go and yell at the meds to feature this for a couple days and then write up a track of the day for NY is Killing Me.

Casablanca
April 4th 2011


262 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Came across 'NY is Killing Me', while looking for the original. Diggin this hard. Nice review dude!

Digging: Travis Scott - Days Before Rodeo

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 4th 2011


31620 Comments


Cheers man

Good luck with that Liberi, this thing's too old

Liberi Fatali
Emeritus
April 4th 2011


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Didn't say I was going to do that haha, just suggesting someone should.



Liberi Fatali
Emeritus
April 4th 2011


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Another thing going against it is dull cover art, how am I supposed to be pulled in by that.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 4th 2011


31620 Comments


You've never seen a pink bar of soap on a green floor before?

Calculate
April 4th 2011


1135 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i love the cover. it's amazing. no shit.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 4th 2011


31620 Comments


I like how this thread is essentially just being bumped by 3 Wellington boys

Minus The Flair
Emeritus
April 4th 2011


862 Comments


one of my favourites this year. running, my cloud, ny is killing me and i'll take care of you are all sick tracks.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy