Lo-Pan Salvador
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 29th 2011


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Their previous album Sasquanaut was way more fuzzy. On this one they took quite a different direction. This record was supposed to sound massive and be rather straightforward. They definitely succeeded.

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 29th 2011


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yes they did. I'm pretty overwhelmed by new releases atm but I'll check out Sasquanaut when things slow down or when I get on a huge stoner rock kick.

I don't know if you have already checked it out, but if not, give In Every Breath - Awakening a go. It's a really short EP from this year (20 minutes or so in length) but it's really good and I think you'd like it (style is alt. metal).

greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 29th 2011


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'll try to give this one a spin. This year has been surprisingly solid thus far. In fact I cannot
decide which is my favorite album. Probably this one or the new Beardfish release.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 29th 2011


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

To be honest I am yet to find a release that would blow me away this year, but I have been slacking badly as well haha. This is probably up there with as one of my favorites from this year, although too early to tell because like I said, only 1 spin in so far.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 29th 2011


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Slacking is one thing, but I found that many releases hyped so mercilessly on here are not really
worth listening to. Haha.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
March 29th 2011


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Bring some examples

greg84
Staff Reviewer
March 29th 2011


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hint: Look at the top 3 most popular albums right now.

BigHans
April 1st 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well this is just all kinds of awesome. Bleeding Out fucking slays.

Inveigh
April 2nd 2011


24963 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

only two songs in and yeah this rocks hard

(goes back for more whiskey)

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2011


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't wanna say "I told you so," but yeah I yold you so. I guess I like Seed and Struck Match the
most at this point.

BigHans
April 2nd 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Mods feature this so this band gets some rec. Manly as fuck, unlike most of the pussy indie bands that get featured.

random
April 2nd 2011


2262 Comments


I agree with Bighans. Sometimes, I think that Indie gets featured too often here.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2011


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Glad it got featured so that more people could check it out.

ButcheredChildren
April 2nd 2011


5591 Comments


Sadly I wasn't impressed by this album. The crystal clear production just isn't for me. I like my southern nice and gritty.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2011


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I didn't figure it might have been such a big problem for some. Well. Fair enough.

twlichty
April 2nd 2011


3407 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is sounding awesome so far

Irving
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2011


7275 Comments


Great review. The usage of inverted commas to highlight album titles kinda bugs me though - I much prefer italics, but that's really just a personal preference =)

Digging: U2 - Songs of Innocence

WatchItExplode
April 2nd 2011


3243 Comments


This sounds all kinds of awesome. Nice work Greg.

Jethro42
April 2nd 2011


12438 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I still have to check it out. What am I waiting for...
Congrats on your 2nd feature in a row, dude.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2011


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank U all.

@ Irving: I've always formated my reviews in the same way. So, I won't change it this time 'cause I
like to be consistent. =)

@ Jethro: Just pick it up. I have a feeling you will love it since you liked their previous one.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy