Within Temptation The Unforgiving
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
March 30th 2011


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I see what you mean...symphonic elements are definitely stripped and the overall songwriting is actually better compared to the last few. TBH I liked the orchestral/symphonic stuff on earlier albums(Enter) so based on the review I didn't expect to like this much, but it's better than I expected. Still not great and I'd definitely hesitate to call it their best.
I liked the orchestral/symphonic stuff on The Silent Force but it really dominated everything a little too much. I like Enter but wouldn't ever listen to it on my own.

^idiot
Trolls and Anti-Trolls ;) At least I didn't review the new Sum 41.

Digging: Skrew - Universal Immolation

pedro70512
March 30th 2011


2918 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This post deleted.

Digging: EPISTASIS - Light Through Dead Glass

G3N3R1C
March 30th 2011


1945 Comments


Part of me kinda wants to check this out. I've always had a soft spot for Evanescence, Lacuna Coil, and In This Moment. (Granted, the first 2 i've definitely kinda outgrown to some degree, and the most recent album from the 3rd was a grave disappointment.)

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
March 30th 2011


8825 Comments


Anti-Troll. I think it's worthy of a 4 and noticed that giving it the extra vote bumps it up a point. I'll bring it down soon enough lol.


uhh the overall vote is the general consensus, to bump your own rating just to bump a general consensus is really stupid

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

pedro70512
March 30th 2011


2918 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This post deleted.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
March 30th 2011


8825 Comments


just rate it honestly man :T

pedro70512
March 30th 2011


2918 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

alright, i get it. fair enough.

Willie
Moderator
March 31st 2011


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ha ha. Rating wars. If there weren't douche bags trying to troll rate everything they dislike there wouldn't be fanboys trying to do the opposite... Ok, they probably exist independent of each other, nevermind. Anyway, whatever video they release next will be for a good song. Looking forward to that one.

Dreamflight
April 1st 2011


1760 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

So trve. ^^

So far it sounds awsome, although I fear it wont age that well.

ItMotN and Sinead are instant favs, and Lost has a great aura. It's strange to listen to a WT album whose first song after the intro doesn't blast the speakers in the first second.

Ikarus14
April 5th 2011


538 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

All the songs sort of feel the same. But hey, still a well crafted album.

jet22
April 7th 2011


62 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've never been a fan of WT, always thought they sound too much like Evanescence to my taste...but some songs in this disc (specially "In the middle of the night" and "Iron") are really good indeed...it's not a superb record, but it's a very good one...

KhristTheLord
April 10th 2011


9 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This is their worst, most repetitive album.

peartnoy
April 11th 2011


1189 Comments


In The Middle of The Night is awesome!

MrDurandt1
April 17th 2011


1 Comments


Mr. Spencer, while you are very skilled in your writing skills, I would like to point out that expressing your opinion as a fact makes you sound like a douche and not a capable critic. You are obviously a heavy metal fan and trying to see the music from your point of view is fine but don't make it a fact and try to force it on people. It is only your opinion. There are many people who would consider "Mother Earth" or "The Silent Force" amazing albums. Different people have different tastes. This does not make them less knowledgeable or stupid. Any person with good writing skills can write a review that can influence the masses, the fact that you have the platform and the chance to have your voice heard does not mean you should abuse this privilege. In my humble opinion, your article while well written is full of crap!

Willie
Moderator
April 17th 2011


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I tried to find a point in that mass of words and couldn't do it. There isn't a single place in that review where an opinion was presented as fact. Why am I to care that some people see Mother Earth or The Silent Force as amazing albums? Let me explain something you might not understand. Introducing my opinion on the band's previous few albums sets up the context for the entire review. Now readers know that my perspective is coming from someone that saw Mother Earth as cheesy and The Silent Force as drown in keyboards. Now it's easier for a reader to know how to take in the rest of opinions because they see the angle they're coming from.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
April 17th 2011


8825 Comments


Mr. Spencer, while you are very skilled in your writing skills, I would like to point out that expressing your opinion as a fact makes you sound like a douche and not a capable critic.

well y'know, I'd rather read a stern review by someone who is confident in their opinion rather than a review slathered with "but that's just my opinion guys feel free to disagree". you have to have some confidence in your views to be a good reviewer, and Willie is a good reviewer. :T

WTfan4eva
April 17th 2011


13 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

@KhristTheLord: Repetitive? How is it repetitive? No song on this sounds alike.

Master616
April 23rd 2011


21 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is surprisingly good. Shot in the dark is very good indeed.

Dreamflight
April 23rd 2011


1760 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Still rocking my socks. Some amazing music here, and no weak tracks.

TheDriller
May 9th 2011


9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listening to this non stop all day. Iron has to be my favorite song

"Oh Damn, the war is coming!
Oh Damn, you feel you want it!
Oh Damn, just bring it on today!"

I just love how straightforward yet bombastic the sound and production is here. Definitely one of my favorite 2011 releases so far.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy