KEN mode Venerable
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hep Kat
March 18th 2011


15399 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

indie and gay are totes interchangeable. that's why i call all my hipster friends indie kids

Digging: Burning Kitchen - Many Wonder About the Meaning of Life

tkxxx7
March 19th 2011


6159 Comments


missing a "(" in the first paragraph . good review

Burn2Burn
March 20th 2011


2378 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Holy shit this is so much better than Mennonite.

Tyler
Emeritus
March 23rd 2011


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

just realized you said mennonite was their debut album

wtf dude it was their third meaning this is their fourth and not their sophomore album unless you wrote this review from the Lost island or something

Tyler
Emeritus
March 23rd 2011


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

also dude some of the phrasings in this review are really, really awkward.

(for those of you who are gay and still think breakdowns are still cool to talk about)

really, dude?

balcaen
March 25th 2011


3183 Comments


currently listening to this. digging it. definitely holds up against hyped up metalcore shit. more people need to listen to it.

though... i'm hesitant to label it metalcore. i refused to do that on my iTunes for genres. too much shame associated.

cvlts
March 25th 2011


8985 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^finally agree on something -_-

balcaen
March 25th 2011


3183 Comments


in time, we will live in harmony, geno.

Duderino
March 28th 2011


828 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'm not usually one to be bothered by arbitrary genre classifications, but the fact that this review repeatedly qualifies the album as being good "metalcore" (and the loaded connotations that come with the genre) bothers me. to me, it's not unlike falsely calling a band like the melvins "metalcore", simply because they incorporate elements of both metal and hardcore. i hardly see any similarities this band shares with supposed genre-mates like converge, botch etc... tell me to get over it

Tyler
Emeritus
March 28th 2011


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

yea the qualifiers are almost as irritating as the lack of research

Napes
March 29th 2011


4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My band just played with these guys a couple days ago. These guys (and girl) are completely ridiculous live. I'm still liking Mennonite a bit more but this will certainly grow on me and surpass it.

Duderino
March 29th 2011


828 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah there was a giant fucking snowstorm last time they were around. really unfortunate, they seem like they would be great live

Ponton
Emeritus
April 3rd 2011


5820 Comments


enjoying this, nice

Digging: Gates - Bloom and Breathe

sexpoi
April 7th 2011


599 Comments


Wizard: No problem, it's nice to see some old users still kickin around amongst the pile of new turds that are turning this site into a gay indie playground.

I've been on this site for about 10 months or so and i have noticed the influx of indie reviews and good metal reviews are fewer and farther between. that being said, good review man. I like burst a lot so i have to give this a listen since everyone seems to be comparing them

sexpoi
April 7th 2011


599 Comments


@Duderino- how about metallic hardcore?

puma35
April 10th 2011


972 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is so fucking thick and awesome, one of my favorites from this year easily

cvlts
April 10th 2011


8985 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

seein these dudes in June with deafheaven. fuck yes!

Wizard
April 17th 2011


19644 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i'm not usually one to be bothered by arbitrary genre classifications, but the fact that this review repeatedly qualifies the album as being good "metalcore" (and the loaded connotations that come with the genre) bothers me. to me, it's not unlike falsely calling a band like the melvins "metalcore", simply because they incorporate elements of both metal and hardcore. i hardly see any similarities this band shares with supposed genre-mates like converge, botch etc... tell me to get over it

I see where you're coming from but I can also tell you that the similarities are ever so present.

yea the qualifiers are almost as irritating as the lack of research

Please enlighten me as to what I lacked research in? Did I not stress enough that these guys are Canadian or something?

Digging: Ash Borer - Cold of Ages

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 19th 2011


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like it a lot. It totally reminds me of Unsane. As for the genre, I guess noise rock is the most
appropriate tag because of the heavy bass riffs throughout the album (and the general resemblance to
Unsane and Part Chimp).

Inveigh
June 28th 2011


25201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just got this

high expectations have been set

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy