Rise Against Endgame
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
danielito19
March 14th 2011


6163 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this is pop-punk. older RA is melodic hardcore, which is probably why its listed as melodic hardcore

Digging: Self Defense Family - Indoor Wind Chimes b/w Cottaging

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 14th 2011


23911 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

older RA is defitinely melodic hardcore, but they do it album by album at rateyourmusic and the genres are usually spot on. you can vote genres up or down and whatever the most people say it is, it is.

Digging: RATKING - So It Goes

fr33convict
March 14th 2011


11697 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No matter which extreme you believe it to favor, 'Endgame' sees Rise Against as fiery, passionate and motivated as ever, when it comes to their wide-reaching social commentary.

Take out that last comma. Good review for a good album.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 14th 2011


23911 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh come on, the review is better than a 3

holy shit could you imagine if we could rate reviews? O_O
we'd have reviewer piecharts n shit, 15% Chan, 25% Davey, 20% Knott, ....

fr33convict
March 14th 2011


11697 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That would be fucking stupid.

But awesome.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2011


28702 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

megadeth's endgame is such a classic album

Digging: Jessie Ware - Tough Love

Ire
March 14th 2011


41805 Comments


so disappointed by this


their 2009 single was so win

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh boy, I knew I shouldn't have gone to sleep. Feedback-O-Rama.

Thanks SowingSeason. We may be in the minority, but I also feel it's a slight step down from 'Appeal To Reason'. Of course, our ratings are still much different.

Xeno, their discog is well worth your while.

Knott-, in losing you, you've officially lost me. But that probably won't make sense either.

Dogget, it is more down the 'ATR' path, if a little heavier.

See, I'll admit I go a little exclamation point happy. I should be "disgusted" in myself.

Thanks liveinflames. It's refreshing to hear that someone who did not like 'ATR' gave this a go & appreciated it.

But Zion, people quote people all the time. If it's used in making a point stronger, then I have little issue with it. Whether Against Me! should be credited/acknowledged is a whole other subject.

ttb, I sort of agree (& it's the main reason I've rated this a little lower), but my favorites are starting to really take shape after a few more listens.

As Cesar said, it probably needs more "moments".

tiesthatbind
March 14th 2011


7380 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'll repeat what I said in the 10 Years thread, this is gonna be another of those albums that makes me appreciate the band's back catalog more.

Digging: Poets of the Fall - Signs of Life

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That was all pretty well said YouFailedMe. I totally agree that RA got the balance just right on 'Sufferer' & tipped over the mainstream edge on the following 2 albums. Obviously, how far over the edge is up to the individual listener.

(Sort of) thanks CelestialDust. I stick by my reasoning for doing so.

Thanks Phideaux. I don't think I will be able to keep up this rate however.

Thanks as always Aids. The support is appreciated.

Daniel, I'm unsure you can blame it all on Blair, although I don't think he is helping the cause, that's for certain.

Thanks BassDemon.

Oh God, here comes the genre arguments. IMO, it's definitely not melodic hardcore, but I'd still call it punk rock. But who cares really.

Thanks fr33convict. Believe it or not, that comma was added at the very last moment. LOL.

ttb, that's not necessarily a bad thing.

danielito19
March 14th 2011


6163 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I listened to RPM, Siren and Sufferer today. This just doesn't measure up to anything they've put out.

tiesthatbind
March 14th 2011


7380 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Not a bad thing at all. Jamming to Revolutions Per Minute right now.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can see a rise in sales for their back catalog emanating from this album. LOL.

East Hastings
March 14th 2011


4392 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i think RPM was their best album, siren song had some of their best material, and sufferer was their most consistent

iGuter
March 14th 2011


353 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I felt this album brought their old sound in a brand new way. It's fun, energetic, and it never steams down too far. The track order is much better than Appeal to Reason (which personally I thought was too radio-friendly) and the pace doesn't drag.

Digging: Ariel Pink - Pom Pom

Bleekill
March 14th 2011


832 Comments


deth 2 false punk

Yuma310
March 14th 2011


1656 Comments


I honestly can't wait to get this album

Willie
Moderator
March 14th 2011


16054 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The sound of a band reinvigorated... "Survivor Guilt" is my new favorite Rise Against song.

So, there are three reviews all of them 4 or above and the average is barely over a three. Where is the disconnect?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Add iGuter to another one who thinks this album is better than 'ATR'. It's interesting the way people have differeing opinions on how far this album has headed back towards their semi-earlier stuff.

Ahhh Trey, I love it when you enjoy an album that I review. When it happens twice in a week, it's like Heaven on Earth. 'Survivor Guilt' does indeed rule. As for your final question, lets just say that I am expecting a few more reviews to come our way.

hardlyafan212
March 14th 2011


5 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review. I agree with the rating, except for 'recommended tracks' i disagree with Help is on the Way. While it may be a great song, I enjoy Make it Stop (September's Children) much more. Not as good as Sufferer and the Witness, but way better than Appeal to Reason.
Great Review, Keep up the good work!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy