Rise Against Endgame
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
liveinflames
March 14th 2011


9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice review and very good album. To be honest I did not expect much from this because Appeal to Reason didn't really, uh, appeal to me. It sounded uninspired and boring except a couple of tracks.

But I can't stop listening to this. It's not as good as The Sufferer and the Witness or the Siren Song of the Counter Culture, but still very solid, catchy and heartfelt.

Zion
March 14th 2011


812 Comments


"When passionate lead vocalist Tim McIlrath belts out "Don't you remember when you were young and you wanted to set the world on fire?" on blistering opener 'Architects', the majority immediately believe it to be a shot at fellow punk legends Against Me!, because it is simply the most sensationilistic thing to assume."

Oh come on, he directly quotes AM! and says "Well I'm still young, and I still do." It's not sensationalist to get his point, it's obvious and at least somewhat clever on his part.

tiesthatbind
March 14th 2011


7374 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks ttb. Really thought you would like this album mate. Oh well.

I thought I would too, but the only tracks that stand out at all for me are A Gentleman's Coup and the title track. I'm surprised so many people are saying this is better than Appeal to Reason. That album had some clear standouts whereas almost all the songs blend together on this.

Digging: xSPONGEXCOREx - How Tough Are Yah?

Apollo
March 14th 2011


10302 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm not going to bother with this one


acad
March 14th 2011


151 Comments


lol there was no chance this review would have been anything higher than a 4 or lower than a 3.5

LG
March 14th 2011


3049 Comments


I was gonna pass on this album, but dammit Davis you got me interested.

Cesar
March 14th 2011


2732 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was a bit disappointed with this. I totally agree on the tracks sort of blending together, I feel the album needed more "moments", more creativity. It's still a great album, with a few amazing songs, mixed with good songs.

farglesnuff
March 14th 2011


241 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ya... they lost much of their pizazz...

Prince1993
March 14th 2011


541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks ttb. Really thought you would like this album mate. Oh well. I thought I would too, but the only tracks that stand out at all for me are A Gentleman's Coup and the title track. I'm surprised so many people are saying this is better than Appeal to Reason. That album had some clear standouts whereas almost all the songs blend together on this.
===
Perhaps this is having too much consistency of great songs.

Cesar
March 14th 2011


2732 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wait for Me receiving little love. I love it.

youfailedme87
March 14th 2011


15 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The problem with not wanting to compare Endgame and Appeal to reason to their previous work is that it was their previous albums that built them up and had become what their fans had come to expect to come from them. Sufferer showed that hardcore punk could see radio play but it seemed that they were not content with that they continued to drive closer to main stream and further away from their hardcore roots. The major problem with this is that the people that liked their first albums find the mainstream very uninspired or they just have a natural hatred for the mainstream. Rise Against show their hardcore roots in flashes through out this album but sadly i feel this album just comes out as a more radio friendly version of sufferer.

CelestialDust
March 14th 2011


3155 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Besides the first paragraph, excellent review. Connecting current events to album releases... sure, but not in that way.

Phideaux
March 14th 2011


1654 Comments


Could never really get into these guys. I'll probably still give it a listen. Keep up the good work, Davey. I'm enjoying your recent rate of reviewing.

East Hastings
March 14th 2011


4391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

for a rise against album i thought this was awful

Pessimist
March 14th 2011


191 Comments


This definitely isn't a 4 for me... Pretty disappointed with this album.

Phideaux
March 14th 2011


1654 Comments


You're just being a pessimist.


(sorry couldn't help it)

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 14th 2011


23818 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Thanks Scoot.

Where did they go? To Japan."

lol

"Sputnikmusic's staff is now comprised of one lonely Aussie it seems"

yup

anyway, great review Davey (correct rating haha), I knew I could count on you for a positive review of this. This is better than Appeal to Reason, without a doubt.

danielito19
March 14th 2011


5422 Comments


it *is* awful for a Rise Against album. I mean, part of it is the fact that RPM, Siren, and Sufferer were three of the best albums in the melodic hardcore genre, and they had high expectations, but you can't deny how badly they changed when they got Zach Blair.

BassDemon333
March 14th 2011


3377 Comments


Great review. As I'm still getting into Rise Against, I don't have this yet, but I got Siren Song and The Unraveling so far.

Digging: Mudvayne - L.D. 50

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 14th 2011


23818 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

RYM has the primary genre for this as "melodic hardcore." Is it just me, or is that ridiculously wrong?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy