Bayside Killing Time
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 18th 2011


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Their rawest album is their debut 'Sirens & Condolences'. Maybe the dumbass meant "emo" because the lyrics on that album do verge on "slit-your-wrist" emo, but of the witty kind.

The video andcas has posted above is the single off of that album.

sniper
February 18th 2011


19079 Comments


k i'll check it out when i'm done listening to glassjaw again.

IRAI
February 18th 2011


1567 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

S&C! it's SO GOOD. and very bluntly violent.

you should listen to 'cold and blue and lifeless' by them. i wish they still played it live regularly, 'tis badass.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 18th 2011


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cold and Blue and Lifeless is so cool. Why they didn't include that on S&C is beyond me.

loveisamixtape
February 18th 2011


6274 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

this album is their best by far.

Deathcar
February 18th 2011


1534 Comments


Not as good as their S/T (which is their best imo) but still pretty solid, good slice of pop-punk to warm the cold March nights (in a bitter, sarcastic, sneering sort of way.)

ihopeuchoke
February 18th 2011


668 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Self titled is by far the best. Montauk is probably the best song they've ever released.

Steoandnoodles
February 18th 2011


2832 Comments


Wonderfully written review Davey. =)

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 18th 2011


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nah mixtape, if you want catchy & best, you can't look past their self-titled.

Well said Deathcar... Except for the bit about the "cold" March nights. It's really humid at night in March down under. ;-)

'Montauk' is so good & catchy, yet the self-titled is so deep, I only have it as the 3rd best track on it. On any other album, it would be #1, so I guess it will have to just blame it on bad luck and show more devotion & desire next time!

Ta noodles.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 18th 2011


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha. I was wondering who was gonna chime in with that. Didn't expect it so quickly though.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 18th 2011


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's a great & fitting closer for a strong album, but I don't see it as the best song on it.

IRAI
February 18th 2011


1567 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

they looked like strong hands bro

Knott-
Emeritus
February 19th 2011


10198 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

guardrail is the best closer

so angry

Slum
February 19th 2011


2579 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^ 123

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2011


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"guardrail is the best closer"

Agreed, although I must say that 'Killing Time' comes close.

NovaSilver
February 19th 2011


130 Comments


very excited about this - good review but as I think these comments show, how much each album appeals is hugely variable. (Personally TWW is best - though Masterpiece is their best song). Wish these guys provided the template for more pop-punk bands - why not keep all the catchiness and angst but also chuck in some great musicianship and witty lyrics.

I guess there's nothing here that's going to gain them real success? Probably 5 albums in is a bit late for a breakout album.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2011


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Very well said NovaSilver. Hugely variable & hugely personal.

And no, nothing on here will break them out. I think they may have lost that chance with the more experimental 'TWW'. If they'd gone in a more catchy way after the self-titled, they may have had a chance... Then again, if they had done that, would they still be as good a band now!?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2011


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed, but I'd never step in the way of such a great & hard-working band becoming a success. Plus, how do we know that they don't have dinner at McDonalds every night!?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2011


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They're not the only ones.

Oh well, let's just hope that a song on Bayside's next album is not called "Two All Beef Patties".

bungy
February 19th 2011


8843 Comments


scoring a base hit only makes sense in the same way you "score" when you come into possession of anything. When it says "Scoring a base hit" on Wikipedia, it is talking about what the score keeper does on the stat sheet, not what the players in the game do.

"Bayside deliver another base hit, but there is still no walk-off home run" reads much better for anyone who really likes baseball (nobody but me)

obviously it isn't a big deal I'm js haha good review



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy