PJ Harvey Let England Shake
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
AggravatedYeti
February 16th 2011


7685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ace review conrad. I've got this album lying around, I still need to give it a spin.
everything I've been hearing points towards greatness.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2011


7295 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

your Bieber review was fantastic!!!

I'm not sure if that's a compliment haha.

Digging: U2 - Songs of Innocence

Irving
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2011


7295 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A little better Conrad - but it's still a bit awkward; I think the following is the problem:

She seems more interested in exploring the feelings that arise in times of conflict and finding the intimacy in war's brute force and broad strokes; "The scent of Thyme carried on the wind / stings my face into remembering / cruel nature has won again," Harvey sings in a ghostly boy-soprano range, effectively paring an enormous (and unsuccessful) military operation down to a painfully personal narrative on the elegant "On Battleship Hill".

That's one enormous sentence, and you can hear its back creaking when you start quoting Harvey's lyrics. Par it down a little, perhaps. The rest seems sufficiently effective to me, so good on you mate =)

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2011


7338 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I only listened to this once, but I liked it. I'll be sure to give it a few more spins just to see whether the hype is justified.

conradtao
Emeritus
February 16th 2011


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks, Irving. I might try to rework it a little bit more.

Also, three negs and not a single explanation? D:

Irving
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2011


7295 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damn negs. (I pos-ed Conrad, I assure you.)


AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2011


7338 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The review isn't perfect but three negs is harsh

Irving
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2011


7295 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The review is probably the best I've read all day. It's not in the least bit neg-worthy. There are a few minor niggles, but Conrad's actually gone and edited them out - now that's diligence.

omnipanzer
February 16th 2011


21516 Comments


A few people must be griefing you Conrad.

conradtao
Emeritus
February 16th 2011


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Aww.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2011


15036 Comments


need this album

STOP SHOUTING!
February 16th 2011


631 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

negs don't mean nothin but bitches and hoes.

conradtao
Emeritus
February 16th 2011


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Did one last edit. It might have some typos since I did it on my phone, but I think it feels a tiny bit less clumsy.

thebhoy
Emeritus
February 16th 2011


4461 Comments


Oh good another protest album about war! In all seriousness Harvey is excellent, I shall check this out. Good reviewing Conrad

conradtao
Emeritus
February 16th 2011


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Many thanks, Keelan. And I'm absolutely certain you'll like this if you've been a Harvey fan in the past.

Defeater
February 16th 2011


5782 Comments


so in other words this bish is dum

got it

Drsmith4
February 16th 2011


1715 Comments


poz

conradtao
Emeritus
February 16th 2011


2090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

thanks dan

and ugh defeater you would say that

Phideaux
February 18th 2011


1654 Comments


Sounds pretty interesting. Is this streaming anywhere?

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
February 18th 2011


7338 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://3voor12.vpro.nl/speler/luisterpaal/43023771#luisterpaal.44452648

on there somewhere



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy