The Rural Alberta Advantage Departing
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
EaglesBecomeVultures
July 21st 2012



5049 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'd like to see them live, would enjoy watching their drummer.

This was #2 on my 2011 list.

Digging: School of Language - Old Fears

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
July 21st 2012



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

maybe it's just cuz i fell in love with this first but

this > hometowns

every song on this is good to fucking amazing


agreed agreed agreed

love this band

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 10th 2012



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

just saw these guys live opening for Dan Mangan on the last show of an extensive Canadian tour. they were absolutely mind-blowing; I honestly didn't think indie-rock shows could contain that much energy.

I already thought this before, but the opinion is affirmed after seeing him live: this band's drummer is potentially the most underrated musician on planet earth. Serioulsy, that guy fucking shreds. My jaw was on the floor for most of their set.

I was late by one song so I might have missed them playing either of these, but the lack of Muscle Relaxants and Coldest Days from the set was a little upsetting, but what they did play was executed perfectly, so no real complaints.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 10th 2012



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ps I met all three of them and got them to sign my (newly acquired) copy of this album on vinyl. I told the drummer that he's the most underrated drummer alive and blushed haha. I told the vocalist/songwriter how much this album meant to me and pulled me free from very dark thoughts following my breakup and thanked him for his music's contribution to my life. He seemed genuinely touched. There is a third member too, a woman, but I didn't have anything specific to say to her. She's very very good-looking though, so I manned up and asked her if she wanted to go for a drink sometime hahahahaha there were dozens of people watching, terrible idea (i'm actually mildly impressed with myself for actually doing it though). She said they were leaving tomorrow and that she lives in Toronto. fuck her, probably a dyke anyway.

Spare
November 10th 2012



5223 Comments


There is a third member too, a woman, but I didn't have anything specific to say to her. She's very very good-looking though, so I manned up and asked her if she wanted to go for a drink sometime hahahahaha there were dozens of people watching, terrible idea (i'm actually mildly impressed with myself for actually doing it though). She said they were leaving tomorrow and that she lives in Toronto. fuck her, probably a dyke anyway.
errrrrrrrm

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 10th 2012



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

haha come on Spare i know you hate me but try to appreciate the story?

you do realize that this: "fuck her, probably a dyke anyway." is a joke, right? being so full of yourself that you think the only reason a woman would say no to you is that she's gay is FUNNY. but it's ok man we will be best friends soon i can feel it in my fingers

thanks potsy. happy/surprised to see that you like this album so much.

Spare
November 10th 2012



5223 Comments


erm was @ that whole part of the story not just the dyke bit

good band doe yeah

EaglesBecomeVultures
November 12th 2012



5049 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ps I met all three of them and got them to sign my (newly acquired) copy of this album on vinyl. I told the drummer that he's the most underrated drummer alive and blushed haha. I told the vocalist/songwriter how much this album meant to me and pulled me free from very dark thoughts following my breakup and thanked him for his music's contribution to my life. He seemed genuinely touched. There is a third member too, a woman, but I didn't have anything specific to say to her. She's very very good-looking though, so I manned up and asked her if she wanted to go for a drink sometime hahahahaha there were dozens of people watching, terrible idea (i'm actually mildly impressed with myself for actually doing it though). She said they were leaving tomorrow and that she lives in Toronto. fuck her, probably a dyke anyway.

Love this!

johnnyblaze
November 12th 2012



2570 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ya good job Aids dude. i tried hitting on the keyboardist in The Jezabels, but she was awkward and i found out later she's dating the guitar player.. so ya, we didn't work out in the end.

Digging: The Hold Steady - Teeth Dreams

Jash
November 12th 2012



4243 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Aids ftw

Digging: Wen - Signals

EaglesBecomeVultures
November 12th 2012



5049 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

And yeah Amy is foiiiiiiine

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2012



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"erm was @ that whole part of the story not just the dyke bit"

oh. i don't get it then, what's your issue with the story?

Spare
November 14th 2012



5223 Comments


drummer -> most underrated drummer alive
vocalist/songwriter -> sincere thanks for music's contribution to life
extraneous woman member -> hot, ask out for a drink

lol man idk just struck me as a bit erm

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2012



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

-I actually think that drummer is insanely overrated. Have you seen him play? he's way too good to be in an unknown indie-rock three piece.

-what? this album was hugely important for me, and I thought he should know that. He was thankful for the compliment. I'd like to think that if something I recorded meant the world to someone, they'd tell me if they have the chance. i don't get why you think that is ridiculous at all, unless you thought these guys suck or something and loving this album is stupid.

-yeah I noticed an attractive woman. I'm a single guy, so I asked her our for a drink. again, problem?

you just hate me Spare. one day you'll come around.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2012



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

underrated*

Spare
November 14th 2012



5223 Comments


i take no issue with the first two parts it was just funnily juxtaposed with the last part

Spare
November 14th 2012



5223 Comments


the drummer kills yeah

Spare
November 14th 2012



5223 Comments


tru, tru

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2012



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"i take no issue with the first two parts it was just funnily juxtaposed with the last part"

hahahaha k, gotcha.

it was a little insulting that it went:
-"you're one of the best musicians that i know of"
-"your lyrics mean the world to me and I love your songwriting"
-".......nice melodies, wanna touch my dick?"

Fleeba
November 27th 2012



36 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I saw them at the Sydenham Church in Kingston. What a great venue for that type of show. Anyway RAA's drummer was indeed rocking the kit pretty hard. The keyboardist seems so uncomfortable and awkward on stage but somehow makes it work.

Dan Mangan killed it too. What a show!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy