DJ Shadow Endtroducing.....
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
demigod!
October 8th 2013



40970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it rules but i like mezzanine a fair bit more

StallionMang
October 8th 2013



4292 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'd say this >, although Mezzanine is still pretty damn amazing.

Digging: Crooked Sun - Demo

Emyay
October 9th 2013



4553 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i like this a lot more than mezzanine. it hasn't really clicked with me at all. i like a couple songs like teardrop and man next door but nothing else ever really stands out for me

jefflebowski
October 9th 2013



6842 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

i find that mezzanine never lives up to the ridiculously high standards of the first 4 tracks apart from maybe man next door

demigod!
October 9th 2013



40970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

mezzanine is nothing but bangers from front to back

i can't say the same about this, i think it gets a bit inconsistent towards the end

jefflebowski
October 9th 2013



6842 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

midnight in a perfect world is the best thing here though

StallionMang
October 9th 2013



4292 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Agreed, jeff. Some would disagree, but I find Mezzanine to be pretty front-loaded, which is its biggest shortcoming.

StallionMang
October 9th 2013



4292 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

On the other hand, this is incredibly consistent all the way through.

demigod!
October 9th 2013



40970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i actually prefer the 2nd half by a bit (im really fucking sick of teardrop mostly) but as i said it's godly consistent

StallionMang
October 9th 2013



4292 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's not that Mezzanine has any bad songs on it or anything, but the 4 best tracks are the 4 first tracks.

jefflebowski
October 9th 2013



6842 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

^this. c'mon, the second half is good but doesn't hold a candle to the godlike assemblage of sounds that is inertia creeps

climactic
October 9th 2013



17261 Comments


number song is so cool. that metallica sample is perfect

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
October 9th 2013



20221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i find that mezzanine never lives up to the ridiculously high standards of the first 4 tracks

agreed but it still rules

midnight in a perfect world is the best thing here though

I think I agree. it's definitely up there with Building Steam With a Grain of Salt and Stem



mezzanine is better than this i find. this is just too inconsistent and drags on at times. but when it hits the right note by fuck is it good

Digging: YG - My Krazy Life

jefflebowski
October 9th 2013



6842 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

funny, i've always thought of this as supremely consistent. the fact that it is has a really well unified aesthetic and mood helps with that as well as the fairly consistent sound palette, and as this is less song-based than mezzanine there's less variance in quality IMO

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
October 9th 2013



20221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you'd think, but some of the tracks here just hit that spot perfectly and other parts just bore me so much, especially the more drum driven parts, and it not being song based means it feels like it drags a lot

demigod!
October 9th 2013



40970 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ this. i find this album has a fair bit of filler, whereas mezzanine has absolutely none imo

the production can be kinda weird on this too, not as sexy and sleek as mezz

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
October 9th 2013



20221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah it doesn't really flow together all the time

climactic
October 9th 2013



17261 Comments


the production can be kinda weird on this too, not as sexy and sleek as mezz


well theyre completely different albums

jefflebowski
October 9th 2013



6842 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

i guess the fact i love listening to good sounding drums on their own (and they don't get any better sounding than this) mitigates that complaint a bit for me.

i actually prefer the production on this, it feels grittier and more down-to-earth, mezz is if anything too sonically perfect

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
October 9th 2013



20221 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

mezz is the best album ever for walking through the city at night to

at its best, the music here is incredibly atmospheric, almost alien and ethereal. sounds perfect. at its best



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy