Slipknot Slipknot
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
94_Hours
November 5th 2005


73 Comments


ok, this was a very good review. But I truly can't STAND this album in every way shape and form. Mick Thompson didnt seem to move anywhere higher than the open to 4th fret on the bottom string for the whole album!!! The lyrics are absolute tripe! But Joey Jordinson is really a good drummer IMO.This Message Edited On 11.05.05

Storm In A Teacup
November 5th 2005


13228 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh, Bass Begginer has over 50 reviews. :cheers:

Apathy
November 5th 2005


645 Comments


Oh, I cannot STAND the geetar tone on this. It's so...bad!

wikuk
November 6th 2005


1110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ok, this was a very good review. But I truly can't STAND this album in every way shape and form. Mick Thompson didnt seem to move anywhere higher than the open to 4th fret on the bottom string for the whole album!!! The lyrics are absolute tripe! But Joey Jordinson is really a good drummer IMO.


ok. nice comment, you just said your opinion without give false facts, but one thing is wrong. you said the lyrics aren't good, but try to makes such lyrics. they almost all have meanings, mostly about corey and his father, or the world being biased against them but their lyrics are very good

Zaine
November 6th 2005


199 Comments


imo if you take out everyone except joey, mick, and paul, take off those stupid masks, and get a good singer, they could be one incredible metal band but after MFKR (undoubtedly their best album), they started to focus on more commercial tunes and it just seemed like a big ingredient was missing. I am not saying that the main difference was Anders, because he cant sing either, im just saying that when they sang to be known instead of sang to be good and really innovative, then it just became generic nu-metal like that of KoRn and LP.This Message Edited On 11.06.05

wikuk
November 6th 2005


1110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

imo if you take out everyone except joey, mick, and paul, take off those stupid masks, and get a good singer, they could be one incredible metal band but after MFKR (undoubtedly their best album), they started to focus on more commercial tunes and it just seemed like a big ingredient was missing. I am not saying that the main difference was Anders, because he cant sing either, im just saying that when they sang to be known instead of sang to be good and really innovative, then it just became generic nu-metal like that of KoRn and LP.


if you take away the percussionists it would never be slipknot as they make most of the songs and are the most bizzy on stage, so without them it wouldn't be slipknot, just as with the otehrs

Shadows
Moderator
November 6th 2005


2530 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I wouldn't say they were ever generic. Once Corey took over for Anders the songwriting did become linear and less experimental, and ultimately boring. Despite how much I hate their stuff like this album, I think they've always been above other nu metal acts like Linkin Park and Korn. They did the crappy stuff for two albums, but now they seem to be thinking outside the box again on Vol.3, so I'm happy.

Zaine
November 6th 2005


199 Comments


if you take away the percussionists it would never be slipknot as they make most of the songs and are the most bizzy on stage, so without them it wouldn't be slipknot, just as with the otehrs


i dont know if you understood me but the people i mentioned are the ones who are good and deserve more credit, especially joey. really, there is some unbelievable musicians in this band, i just wish they did what they were capable of doing, rather than do what people would like them to do.

wikuk
November 6th 2005


1110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Once Corey took over for Anders the songwriting did become linear and less experimental, and ultimately boring


what do you think good lyrics are then if you even think anders makes better lyrics

JumpTheF**kUp
December 28th 2005


2716 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

someone compared Korn to LP >:0


Anyways - i havent heard this one in a long while. The only track i like is wait and bleed.

Good review but no information on half of the tracks...I dont even know what the hell to expect from half of their tracks. Or do they all sound the same? In all honesty this review does not help anyone unless they've already heard it and it brings back some kind of nostalgia. I just read and thought wtf? soz bassbeginner but u really need to put some more track info.


Motleyguy
December 28th 2005


118 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

not a bad review, I only have one qualm with your review is this:

amazing drummer Joey Jordison


which is a complete overestimation of his abilities, he is decent at best. Anyways other than that, good review.

EngagingDarkness
March 14th 2006


7 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Slipknot is god, nothing more to it people say they suck just because of the way they dress and "scream" but they are quite possibly one of the most talented bands around and no its not just Corey and Joey the band whould be nothing without all the "#'s" of the band. They are a very heavy percussion band. they are a very big led foot band and there lyrics dont base them self around the devil but more around self inflicted pain of one self or another (exept heretic anthem 555, 666 yada yada) i think slipnkot is classic only because soon they have only 2 more cd releases untill this band is broken if they were not under contract with RR records slipnkot whould of been broken up the moment the release of subliminal verses came out but they cant. sorry to those of you whom diddn't know yet but we'v got 2 more cds of glory untill this band is broken up. And dont argue with me i know im on F'in Road Runner records Street Team. -.-;

But yeah, JOEY IS GOD not the fastest drummer but god damn hes one of the best.This Message Edited On 03.14.06

steveo
March 21st 2006


8 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album.As good as IOWA i think.'Sic','Wait and Bleed','Eyeless' and'Liberate' are all unreal songsThis Message Edited On 03.21.06

XSebbyMcMuffinX
March 27th 2006


339 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Goddamnit, Joey uses drum triggers. I'm not sure if he uses them on this album but it messed up in a live vid I saw of "The Blister Exists", you can hear the double bass randomly double in the third verse of "The Virus of Life", and just watch the drum solo from Disasterpieces DVD; his feet aren't moving as fast as the audio claims. Now if you want some good drummers, check out Virgil Donati, Mike Portnoy, Terry Bozzio, Danny Carey, etc... and if you just want fast REAL double bass, I recommend Kevin Talley, Gene Hoglan, and many others.

Decent review. You need a track by track review though. As for the album itself: Like some of the biggest Nu-Metal bands (Korn's s/t being funk/goth/something else rock, Mudvayne's LD50 feeling more prog to me than anything else), they actually didn't start off fitting directly into the genre.

Masks have nothing to do with talent.
Neither does popularity.
Neither does your specific taste in music.

I'm not a maggot, I'm just sick of seeing people either ridiculously for or against bands like this. :/

TheInnerDarkness
March 29th 2006


20 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

F**k yeah, man! Slipknot: My all time favorite band! The Track 2 was awsome. Almost every song was f**kin' awsome. I headbang to 'em more that Korn and SOAD.

x19X31x
April 4th 2006


5 Comments


Fuck Slipknot. I'm emo...I listen to Fall Out Boy and Yellowcard! YEAHH! Fuck you.

x19X31x
April 4th 2006


5 Comments


Go listen to some backstreet boys....fags. Those boys have more balls than slipknot.

"Freshly Baked"
April 11th 2006


583 Comments


These songs are definately pummeling, they aren't a gimmick, like i though they were when they came out.

every slipknot song has that totally aggressive song that beats the s**t out of you, and sic is definately that song on this album

gibson_8904
April 12th 2006


7 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

If anybody has a problem with this album, you should have ass kicked

gibson_8904
April 12th 2006


7 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

x19X31x needs to die if he is serious. that asshole piece of shit



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy