Times of Grace The Hymn of a Broken Man
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
omgraptors
January 15th 2011



813 Comments


Come on guys, this is miles ahead of KSE's last album.

Powerban
January 15th 2011



2380 Comments


which isn't saying much.

kakemonster
January 15th 2011



2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Disagree with this review, probably one of the most melodic metalcore albums I`ve heard in a long time. As for sounding monotonous as a whole, that is flaw pretty much every metalcore album is guilty of. But I actually think this album has more variety than most metalcore albums, visible in songs like in the in the arms of mercy & the forgotton one. New layers/vocal harmonies are also added to each verse & chorus throughout the songs, which adds variety and helps counterbalance the length. My only complaint is the the lyrical themes are somwhat repetative, and they use the word "grace" too many times...

Powerban
January 15th 2011



2380 Comments


the songs are perfectly fine. it's just everyone feeling the need to have to try to sell them to the people who aren't caring as much.

if you don't like cauliflower, someone trying to force it upon you that cauliflower is good, never works. instead just enjoy your cauliflower by expressing within justifiable reasons and stop feeling the need to always defend your cauliflower when someone doesn't like it.

there also might be some people that probably love dipping their conceptual cauliflower in cheese and sour cream and eating it. trying to sell your cauliflower to them just won't work when you're only selling the standard stuff.

Captain North
January 15th 2011



6784 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This isn't even good standard metalcore. AOJB was good standard metalcore.

Inveigh
January 15th 2011



24863 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i think that cauliflower argument is ok, but slightly flawed. I like some metalcore in this vein, but this just brings nothing new to the table. just sounds like the adult contemporary version of AOJB to me.

i'm not in the mood for stuff like this very often anymore, but if I was, I'd just listen to Daylight Dies, AOJB, The Oncoming Storm, Fall of Ideals or something instead. because this album is just rehashing ideas that have been on hundreds (possibly thousands at this point) of albums before.

Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

BassDemon333
January 15th 2011



3358 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I find Daylight Dies to be really boring apart from a few songs, End of Heartache is where its at as far as Killswitch goes with Howard as a vocalist. The self-titled was horrid too. This just appealed to me more than some I guess.

Inveigh
January 15th 2011



24863 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

man, I prefer ADD to TEoH. I actually like some of the songs on their last one too.

VJ90
January 15th 2011



128 Comments


I wanted to believe that this wouldn't be a watered-down version of Killswitch Engage.

I can no longer believe.

cirq
January 15th 2011



9263 Comments


ehhhh

ianjulian
January 15th 2011



625 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The Hymn of a Broken Man

Digging: Trioscapes - Digital Dream Sequence

omgraptors
January 16th 2011



813 Comments


Adam D is a great talented musician, but I'm afraid he can't write whole albums on his own.He has created some really cool landmark metalcore sounds but the composition of his songs compared Daylight is way weaker. Vocal-wise it is a whole nother story. I just focus on them and thats why a like the album so much.

Strong vocal performances on recycled Daylight Dies - this sums up the album pretty much.


mightymax
January 16th 2011



26 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Check out Trivium review of this album on Roadrunner's website. I found it more relevant and at least the guy knows what he's talking about.

Motiv3
January 16th 2011



8921 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

mightymax
January 16th 2011



8 Comments

Report this Post

Album Rating: 4

Check out Trivium review of this album on Roadrunner's website. I found it more relevant and at least the guy knows what he's talking about.


*Translation*: 'wah wah wah *cries* i dont agree with this reviews opinion! wah wah wah wah *cries*. SHUT THE FUCK UP this is a well written review, get over yourself.

mightymax
January 17th 2011



26 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I never said it was not a well-written review. I just say that I just found it not "relevant" wich is really different. And yes I dont agree with it that is why I posted a comment like that (If they allow you to comment, I guess you can disagree with the review opinion right?). Your translation is useless and somehow childish. If you disagree with me it is your problem but stop spamming, people doesnt need to know that you are narrow minded.

Motiv3
January 17th 2011



8921 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Lol my problem that your crying over the opinion of a reviewer? Get over yourself, i couldnt care what you think of this album, if you like it, great, good for you, enjoy the album. But saying that another review (which btw is from a Trivium member who are friends with Killswitch Engage which Adam D. haoppens to be a member of, maybe a little bit of bias?) is more relevant because it fits to your opinion of the album is more childish than the comment i posted (didn't you notice that it was meant to be childish to represent how you come across?).

Its people like you that make it a pain for reviewers here everytime they review an album and some idiot cries because it doesnt fit their opinion.

mightymax
January 17th 2011



26 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Your boyfriend is the reviewer or what ? When I read a review, I only care about arguments. In that review, I don't find arguments solids enough. To me, it is more an average diss. The author is important too, on that point you are obviously right (I am not dumb, I notice when I read a review which maybe promotionnal). But I really felt that Trivium's review do have serious musical arguments. Plus, they have a real musical background & experience. Friends or not, their opinion may be better than the one of "another" reviewer.Anyway, I hope your relationship with him is going well though...

wagimus
January 17th 2011



6 Comments


This album is structured almost identically to any album by The Sorrow, who are critically successful. I think it's a good listen, but with some awkwardness.

Willie
Moderator
January 17th 2011



15900 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

This really could be the follow-up to Alive or Just Breathing... and to that I say 'fuck yeah'.

beefshoes
January 17th 2011



3413 Comments


I am really enjoying this but then, I am a huge fan boy of Leach era KSE.




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy